We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pura Vida” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Robledal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Robledal to your Saves list
Hotel Robledal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Oeste de la Iglesia de El Roble, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Madison, CT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pura Vida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My daughter and I arrived from New York later than expected in San Jose and Emmanuel was there to greet us. The ride to the hotel was easy and quick in a lovely air conditioned van. We had previously scheduled 3 days in Alajuela visiting the sites with Emmanuel as our guide. We had a wonderful and interesting time. We traveled to the Zoo, Poas Volcano, Butterfly Farm, and the Doka Coffee Plantation. Each day with Emmanuel was a great learning experience with the three of us speaking Spanish as much as possible and English when necessary. My daughter and I were delighted to practice our Spanish and Emmanuel taught us about the country side, the history, and many details about the plants and animals.

Hotel Robledal was clean, spacious, and lovely. The breakfasts were a terrific way start to the day and we took advantage of the pool in the late afternoon.

Thank you Emmanuel and all the people at Hotel Robledal for a great visit in Alajuela.
Susan Sadowski - Madison, Connecticut

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robledal_Manager, Propietario at Hotel Robledal, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you Mrs. Sadowski...!

We hope to have you in our hotel very soon!

Pura Vida,

Emmanuel Guzman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    50
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
65
76
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Champaign, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed in the hotel on the first and last day of our trip. Hotel picked us up at the airport upon arrival. Breakfast is good. Hotel is pretty and quiet. People work in the hotel are all very nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Robledal for the night before our flight from SJO the next morning. The owners/staff there were very nice. The rooms were okay, but the beds extremely hard (I love hard beds, but they had no give). The American Airlines flight from San Jose is at 8 am, so we couldn't take advantage of the breakfast which was included in the room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robledal_Manager, Propietario at Hotel Robledal, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
We always appreciate when our customers leave their reviews on Tripadvisor or other sites on the Internet. Good reviews are always motivating and it keep us enthusiastic to work... negative reviews always make us wonder what happened and we look at them as a growing opportunity.
On this review particularly, it is not very clear to us why this guests would qualify our hotel as very mediocre.... It is very clear that our property is not a luxury resort or an all-included chain hotel, if that is what he was looking for, he came to a different place. Some of our services are limited and yet wide enough to provide solutions on every need. Just to name some examples: therapeutic, medical or spa services from professionals that would come to the hotel just a phone call away... restaurants that would delivery if our own restaurant is out of schedule, tours and transfers services are available too.
Regarding to hard mattress: they are orthopedic mattresses maybe not as soft as what some people are used to, but we are considering to replace them anyway.
Regarding to our complimentary breakfast: Breakfast is served between 7 am to 9 am. Breakfast to go is also available when our guests need to check out before 7 a.m.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We chose Hotel Robledal because of the free shuttle back and forth to the airport. We stayed there our last night in Costa Rica. The day before we left, we checked in, put our stuff in our room, and then drove our rental car to the service to turn it back in. The Hotel Robledal staff picked us up and took us back to the hotel, and then they took us back to the airport the next morning before we flew out at 7 AM.

The room was clean, and appeared to either be new or recently upgraded. We didn't get the prepared breakfast because we had to be at the airport before serving began at 7 AM, but the staff sent along a light breakfast we could eat in the shuttle on the way.

The staff were courteous, helpful and friendly. Other perks: WiFi, hot showers, A/C, clean swimming pool.

Additional locks on the door would have helped us to feel more secure, as we were all females traveling together. In spite of that, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robledal_Manager, Propietario at Hotel Robledal, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Tracy,

Thank you very much for your good comments!

Kind Regards!

Hotel Robledal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Very helpful and friendly staff. Rooms were large, however quite a few ants in our room. Nicely decorated. If you have your own rental car, make sure you call for directions or look it up carefully and thoroughly beforehand. We were given a police escort from Alajuela downtown as we were so lost! After that, the staff drew us several maps, which were very helpful. Small town within walking distance. Cuba Pizza GREAT!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Great place to relax before a flight or after a flight. The food is very good and the service is even better. They even printed our boarding passes. Worth a stay and I recommend it. Enjoy an amazing country!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRAVERSE CITY
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I stayed in Hotel Robedal on my last night in Costa Rica. We were picked up by a hotel driver who was pleasant and helpful. In fact, the best thing about this Hotel was its staff. The room was musty and smelly. I requested a room change, but it smellet the same. The rooms are in great need of a make over. They were not apparently dirty, but the smell made it seem so.
The menu was four choices and over priced and over cooked. The breakfast that came with the room was very ordinary. I would not recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Choose one ethat overlooks the pool. Maybe the water smell is stronger than the mustiness of the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propietario at Hotel Robledal, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Lynn,

Thank you for your comments... We realized what it felt like musty smell it is a couple of wicker stools we have in our bedrooms. It was not related to dirt or humidity inside the room, specially because the manager personally inspected the room before the room change was suggested by our staff.

Our rooms were recently built (2008) we just put new curtains and comforters, we do not understand how they can be in great need of makeover, but we would like to know about any suggestions either trough Tripadvisor or Facebook.

Our dinner options include grilled beef cuts, chicken breast, pork chops or sea bass with vegetables, rice, salad and garlic bread. Our meals prices are $12-$15 plus taxes. There are other choices in the area for $5 or $6 most of them are fast food.

Our breakfast include fresh fruits, natural juice, cereal, coffee or tea, bread, jams, "Gallo Pinto" eggs and either fresh cheese or ham. When there are kids we also offer pancakes.
We are sorry if your experience in our hotel did not fulfilled your expectations, but we try to do our best in everything we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Robledal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Robledal

Address: 400 Oeste de la Iglesia de El Roble, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Robledal 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our well-situated 15-room hotel is located only three and a half miles away from Costa Rica's main airport, with free shuttle service to accommodate to all flight patterns. Our transportation service reach most of the rental car return offices, and the easy access to the Inter-American Highway makes the Hotel Robledal the perfect stop for travelers exploring Costa Rica’s beaches and national parks or doing business at the nearby free trade areas. Our complimentary breakfast includes the best selection of fresh fruit and costarican coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Robledal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Robledal Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Robledal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.