We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly family business worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Robledal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Robledal to your Saves list
Hotel Robledal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Oeste de la Iglesia de El Roble, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A friendly family business worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We recently visited Hotel Robledal on a visit to Alajuela. This hotel is a family-run business, and the people could not be nicer. Graciela is a kind receptionist who handles reservations promptly and with nearly perfect English skills. Once at the hotel, her brothers are accommodating hosts – one assisting with the check-in process, another (a licensed tour guide, who we spent a lot of time chatting with about wildlife species and hidden hotspots worth a visit in the Alajuela area) offering personalized tours to hotel guests if desired, and a third serving a typical breakfast (included with the hotel stay) at the on-site restaurant each morning. The hotel property is small (although construction was in the process when we visited), but offers clean and basic rooms complete with amenities such as hot water, cable tv, and wireless internet. This hotel also offers a pool on-site. Although a bit tricky to find (only because the entrance to the property is somewhat hidden around a curve – be sure to keep a lookout for the Hotel Robledal sign if driving yourselves to/from the hotel), the hotel also includes complimentary shuttle transportation to/from the SJO airport for those who do not have their own vehicle.

This hotel is an approximate 10-15 drive from the airport – a great spot to stay for your first or last night in Costa Rica. Overall, outgoing and patient staff made our stay a great one.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    45
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
60
68
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

I truly cannot say enough great things about this hotel and the staff. My wife and I were greeted at the airport and brought back to the hotel around 9:00pm. Upon arrival, the restaurant was closed and we were unable to find anywhere close by that was open for food. The staff offered to open up the kitchen just for us and make a late dinner. Then in the a.m. opened early so we could have breakfast before they took us to meet our shuttle.

When we returned to stay for our last night in CR we were picked up at the car rental agency and brought back for a lovely dinner. Then, of course, dropped off at the airport the next morning. Every step of the way the staff treated us like we were part of their family. I felt looked after and well fed the entire time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George BC Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

It is not often I recommend anything to anyone because my view of the world is not necessarily seen the same by others....however, having stayed at the Hotel Robledal at least six times going and coming to Costa Rica...I can say this is truly my little home away from home. The folks are very accommodating and I feel quite safe on their grounds. And....the food is great too. Transport is available to and from the Airport and most car rental agencies will deliver / pick up at the hotel. Try it - you'll like it!!

Ross Gould

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robledal_Manager, Owner at Hotel Robledal, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
Thank you Ross, It is always our pleasure to have you here...!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

My family and I spent three nights here after getting stuck in Costa Rica due to Hurricane Irene at home. We were in another hotel (Adventure Inn) that we just didn't like and searched for a place to stay where we felt safe with our children (8 and 11). Hotel Robledal had a room and the family was so helpful. We arrived at the hotel and driving thru the gate were so happy with our choice the hotel was quaint and lovely. The kids could run from our room to the pool without us worrying about them at all. We felt so safe and like family in this hotel, we would go back again!

The room was small but it was clean and had a sitting area outside that we used and loved. The kids swam in the pool walked around and found cool spiders and such. The restaurant was wonderful and the kids loved the flood as did we.

The open air restaurant was beautiful and their dinner choices and food was excellent. They have a bar there, too, so you can have a glass of wine or a beer with dinner. . All of this was great, but what really made this a wonderful experience was the family-owned atmosphere of Hotel Robledal.Thank you to the Guzman Family
!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robledal_Manager, Owner at Hotel Robledal, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Thank you McTobey family....! We would love to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

My sister and I stayed here for two nights prior to leaving the country. The property has about 11 rooms in a beautiful setting. Although the rooms are small and quaint, it was very clean and comfortable. The price included transportation to/from the airport and free breakfast, which was excellent. The open air restaurant was beautiful and their dinner choices and food was excellent. They have a bar there, too, so you can have a glass of wine or a beer with dinner. Even got in a short swim in their lovely pool. All of this was great, but what really made this a wonderful experience was the family-owned atmosphere of Hotel Robledal. Josue, the youngest son, was our driver and wonderful communicator about his community and country. We contracted with him to drive us around one day and he charged us a reasonable fee. We look forward to a future visit and continued friendship. Thank you to the Guzman Family!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed here one night, our first night in Costa Rica. We found the hotel to be very pleasant. The room was smallish but clean, the beds were fine, and the grounds were a green oasis. The included breakfast was quite good and the pool was nice. And the staff was friendly, as well. We would stay here again if (when!) we get back to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Basic hotel, nice swimming pool. Room just okay for the price. Friendly and very helpful staff. Just thought it was a bit pricey for the room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Robledal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Robledal

Address: 400 Oeste de la Iglesia de El Roble, Alajuela 20104, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Robledal 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our well-situated 15-room hotel is located only three and a half miles away from Costa Rica's main airport, with free shuttle service to accommodate to all flight patterns. Our transportation service reach most of the rental car return offices, and the easy access to the Inter-American Highway makes the Hotel Robledal the perfect stop for travelers exploring Costa Rica’s beaches and national parks or doing business at the nearby free trade areas. Our complimentary breakfast includes the best selection of fresh fruit and costarican coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Robledal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Robledal Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Robledal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.