We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hostel Near the Juan Santamaria Airport, Costa Rica” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maleku Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Maleku Hostel to your Saves list
Maleku Hostel
50mts west of Nuevo Hospital | SJO Airport area, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Belize City, Belize
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Hostel Near the Juan Santamaria Airport, Costa Rica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Staying at Maleku hostel will save you a ton of time and money by sleeping less than 5 minutes from the airport. They have really clean rooms and facilities. The kitchen is small, but fully equipped. They have 24 hour reception staffing. Free breakfast includes coffee, juice, bananas and some packaged cookies. The common area has a T.V. and computer with free Wi-Fi. The beds were above average for hostel comfort and I slept great. The hostel and neighborhood is quiet, although I always recommend traveling with earplugs. Overall, I had a great experience staying here and I would recommend it as the best place to stay if you have a layover in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    31
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
5
28
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montezuma, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

I stopped there as i wanted to say good bye to a friend who was leaving the next morning.

First i arrived and the receptionist told me the price for the nigth in colones with a rate of 560 colones for a dollar. I told him that the rate was wrong and i showed him the rate of the bank that day which was 540 collones for a dollar. He rectified and gave me the righ rate. But if they take 20colones per every dollars they receive that is quite dishonest.

Second: i arrived there at 9pm and the kitchen was closed as cooking time is only until 8.30pm.

Third: My friend and i were discussing in the commun area have a discussion at very low voice level. We went outside for a smoke at 11pm and for that i had to wake up the security guard (in which hostel/hotel in the world the nigth guar is sleeping???!!!!). There for as he was probably a bit upset by that as i walking back in he told me that me and my friend had to go yo our dorm rooms and that we couldnt talk anymore. I explained him that it was our last nigth of conversation and that we were very quite he got uptset said that a lot of negative things and aggrzssively. When 15 minutes later we went for an other smoke the guy also told us that it was the last one and after that we had to go to bed. I tried calming him down and saying that i didnt wanr to bother him. I gave him my hand to shake as a peace sign he refused to take it and became mute.
I have been 6 times to costa rica and over all i spent in total 18 months here. It is the first time i have felt so uncomfortable and unwanted in a hostel.

I have been traveling for the past 10 years on and off and this is probably one of my top 3 worse hostel i have been.

Avoid it avoid it avoid it

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed here on 2 different occasions, has a great location, not in San Jose itself, great location if you need to get to the airport for an early flight. Hostel has a homely feel & thankfully is not a party hostel, use of kitchen was great & breakfast was fine, would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Maleku Hostel is not a typical hostel, in that it's more of a small house converted into one. The feeling is cozy and chill. There's a small living room to sit back, watch tv, and/or peruse their collection of Costa Rica guidebooks.

It's on the outskirts of the city center, next to the hospital, with nothing much around it except for a large supermarket that also has a small cafeteria.

Given the free airport drop offs, it's an ideal location when starting or ending your trip.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Great hostel if you plan on flying out the next day! They won't pick you up from the airport but taxis only cost around 2000 colones!! That's around $4, its not a party hostel and within walking distance to a few sodas so its nice, although I would reccomend getting out of the larger cities as soon as you can

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Very friendly staff who made my overnight totally enjoyable. Rooms were sufficient for sleeping and the free shuttle service to the airport was awesome! Comfortable accommodation if you need a night in Alajuela before a flight.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

A no frills hostel but does the basics very well.
First off great location, 5 minute taxi from the airport and close to a mall if you have time to kill before a flight.
Fresh sheets and decent bunks gives you a decent nights sleep if you have an early flight.
The breakfast is basic but there are some biscuits and fruit to stock up with for the day.
Rooms and the bathroom were both spotless and kitchen area is clean.
Decent wi-fi.
One negative being that the common area is very small with only a couch and a chair and a small table to eat meals from which means only one person cooking at a time.. Finally the hostel doesn´t have a character and everything is a little robotic but overall was satisfied

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maleku Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maleku Hostel

Address: 50mts west of Nuevo Hospital | SJO Airport area, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maleku Hostel is run by a Costa Rican Family. It is located really close to the International Airport Juan Santamaria, San Jose. that actually is in Alajuela Town. Our location is really convenient for all those traveler arriving or Departing Costa Rica. 3-5 minutes Taxi ride from the airport SJO.Next to big Super Market with ATM, walk distance to restaurants, stores, movies & public transportation.Our Facilities:•Free shuttle to the airport (from Hostel TO Airport, starting 5am to 5pm)•Free internet &WiFi•Breakfast 7am to 10am (coffee, tea or orange juice, Cookies and fruit)•Lockers•Towels•Full Kitchen•Hot Shower in Sharing Bathroom, all rooms in our hostel have share bathroom.• Great location •Free travel information •Public transportation and cabs a cross the street•Parking: On the street(Please Note we don't offer Airport pick up)We have:2 Dorm Rooms with 6 beds3 Private rooms available All with Share Bath. We offer the best recommendations in Local transportation, tours, rentals, other great hostel around Costa Rica and more.We are open 24 hrs. But our Information staff usually is available to help you with questions from 8am to 8pm. Hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Maleku Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maleku Hotel Alajuela
Maleku Hostel Alajuela
Maleku Hostel Hotel Alajuela
Maleku Hostel Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maleku Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.