We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hostel, Great Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maleku Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Maleku Hostel to your Saves list
Maleku Hostel
50mts west of Nuevo Hospital | SJO Airport area, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average Hostel, Great Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Very friendly staff who made my overnight totally enjoyable. Rooms were sufficient for sleeping and the free shuttle service to the airport was awesome! Comfortable accommodation if you need a night in Alajuela before a flight.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    33
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
5
29
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medellin, Colombia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

A no frills hostel but does the basics very well.
First off great location, 5 minute taxi from the airport and close to a mall if you have time to kill before a flight.
Fresh sheets and decent bunks gives you a decent nights sleep if you have an early flight.
The breakfast is basic but there are some biscuits and fruit to stock up with for the day.
Rooms and the bathroom were both spotless and kitchen area is clean.
Decent wi-fi.
One negative being that the common area is very small with only a couch and a chair and a small table to eat meals from which means only one person cooking at a time.. Finally the hostel doesn´t have a character and everything is a little robotic but overall was satisfied

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I made a reservation two weeks before my flight. I recommend you make a reservation, they were full the night that I stayed.

Clean and convenient. They provide breakfast (coffee, juice, and food, but I only had coffee and juice) and transportation to the airport.

I had a private room that I used for my San Jose overnight for my flight the next day.

There is a supermarket in a short walking distance with an ATM.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed at Maleku Hostel overnight the first night we arrived in Costa Rica & the last night before we left the country.

Location is perfect. Literally 5 minutes from the airport. We arrived late and were happy to be so close to our accommodations. Also very close to a grocery store and some fast food joints.

The rooms are clean w/ clean linens. It has a nice little kitchen area. Breakfast is included: juice, coffee, bananas, and some cookies.

Service was very friendly! They also offer free shuttle to the airport (not from) which is a plus.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed her twice just to grab some sleep before a flight the next morning, and this place is pretty much fine for just that. It's cheap and has a free shuttle to the airport (don't be lured by "breakfast," its coffee/bananas/crackers which is great, but not breakfast for me). The big Mas por Menos supermarket 1 block away has a good food court and is probably your best bet for a quick meal without having to venture into Alajuela on your own at night. The main problem with this place is the street noise--it is seriously unbearable at night. If you stay here, request a room that doesn't face the street and/or bring earplugs, and you'd probably be fine. The common space is cramped but pleasant and for a quick overnight, that's probably more than you'd need.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Somehow this is lonely planets top pick in town? So many tourists are now deciding to stay in alajuela (near the airport) instead of at San Jose, that there is simply not enough accommodation in town. I spent 90 minutes walking around town one morning looking for a budget private room but every single one was booked so I ended up at the dorm here at Makelu. The hostel is just a converted residential house with about 4 private rooms and one dorm with 6 beds. When all full up to 14 people could be in the house so that the very small kitchen, lounge and single shower become very cramped. Unlike many other options, there is no outside courtyard so you are stuck inside the small lounge room with 3 grimy padded chairs and the small kitchen table in an area without much natural lght. Many other hotels have 4 bed dorms but the 6 bedder here means you are 50% more likely to get a snorer! Since its the airport stop over there iis high turnover and someone is always coming in late or leaving very early so that your sleep can be disrupted. Since there is no courtyard the smokers step out the front and the stink of this disgusting habit wafts up into the dorm. Whilst the lodge is indeed on a quiet street, the corner 10 metres away is a busy route to San Jose with buses and truck also causing lots of noise especially into the dorm room that gets quit stuffy and sort of needs the windows open. On the benefits side the staff gave good independent advice, you get breakfast included and there is also a free airport shuttle to the airport but overall found my time couped up in the cramped hostel as something to be endured rather than enjoyed. You can see from my other reviews that very nice private rooms can be had around Costa Rica for approx $30 and if is sounds better then it looks like you need to book in advance given the excessive demand for rooms in alajuela.

Room Tip: Private would be better than the poor dorm room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed here both on our first and last night in Costa Rica. It was extremely close to the Airport, Cab should cost you less than $5 US. Clean comfortable rooms, never used the kitchen or common area much as it was just a place to stay after we flew in and before we flew home.

Staff were friendly and helpful (especially in helping me when we first stayed and my baggage was lost - in connecting with my insurance company to file a claim via skype).

Breakfast was very basic - but exactly as advertised: bananas, cookies, juice and coffee - expect no more or less. just across the road from a mini supermarket and walking distance to the bus station. Stay here if you are looking for convenience!

Room Tip: Road out front is very loud from rooms right by front desk - but might be unavoidable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maleku Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maleku Hostel

Address: 50mts west of Nuevo Hospital | SJO Airport area, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maleku Hostel is run by a Costa Rican Family. It is located really close to the International Airport Juan Santamaria, San Jose. that actually is in Alajuela Town. Our location is really convenient for all those traveler arriving or Departing Costa Rica. 3-5 minutes Taxi ride from the airport SJO.Next to big Super Market with ATM, walk distance to restaurants, stores, movies & public transportation.Our Facilities:•Free shuttle to the airport (from Hostel TO Airport, starting 5am to 5pm)•Free internet &WiFi•Breakfast 7am to 10am (coffee, tea or orange juice, Cookies and fruit)•Lockers•Towels•Full Kitchen•Hot Shower in Sharing Bathroom, all rooms in our hostel have share bathroom.• Great location •Free travel information •Public transportation and cabs a cross the street•Parking: On the street(Please Note we don't offer Airport pick up)We have:2 Dorm Rooms with 6 beds3 Private rooms available All with Share Bath. We offer the best recommendations in Local transportation, tours, rentals, other great hostel around Costa Rica and more.We are open 24 hrs. But our Information staff usually is available to help you with questions from 8am to 8pm. Hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Maleku Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maleku Hotel Alajuela
Maleku Hostel Alajuela
Maleku Hostel Hotel Alajuela
Maleku Hostel Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maleku Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.