We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable beds and clean rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maleku Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Maleku Hostel to your Saves list
Maleku Hostel
50mts west of Nuevo Hospital | SJO Airport area, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable beds and clean rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

This was the perfect end to our trip. We didn't spend a lot if time here, but my bed was really comfy and the employees were friendly. The place was clean and secure. As advertised, they arranged a free taxi ride to the airport at 5 am. We missed the breakfast, but oh well. I would recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    33
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
5
29
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clemson, SC
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Nice, clean hostel that serves its purpose - getting you into or out of Costa Rica. My friend and I stayed here one night at the end of our trip. The free shuttle to the airport was nice - we definitely took advantage of that. Breakfast was pretty crappy - bananas, orange juice and crackers - but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Sky, Montana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a family occupied house with rooms to let. Not a practical or functional hostel or backpackers accommodation.

While it is not the worst, or most misrepresented accommodation I have ever booked...it is not a place I would stay more than a night or recommend to other travelers.

I don't mind kids, but dirty diapers in the shared bathrooms are a bit much. Leaving the common area at 11pm so the live in relatives can go to sleep may fly in Moldova, but this is Costa Rica, the most developed country in Central America. For nearly 40 bucks, I expect more.

We stayed here for the proximity to the airport. Locked in our room at the 11pm curfew...this is the first time I wish I had a predawn flight.

Choose a different option....

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you're flying in to San Jose late this is your place. $5 will get you a taxi to the door. Early flight out? There is a free taxi to the airport.
The only reason I did not award 5 stars is because it can be cramped when it's full. On the good side, it's clean with great beds and decent sheets plus a towel. You get a small breakfast of banana, cookies, orange juice and coffee or tea. There are also private rooms.
Walking distance to restaurants and food shops plus buses to San Jose or other destinations.
The staff is usually friendly and you can watch t.v. if you like or use the one computer and surf the web.
Not a destination but a great place for your first or last night in the country.

Room Tip: try to stay away from dorms and rooms on the front street side. lot's of traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, WI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Alajuela and San Jose aren't great places to stay, but for airport convenience I highly recommend this hostel. Even with dorm rooms, the place has a "B&B" feel. The front desk worker was very friendly -- very social. Ordered pizza and sat down with us and had a great conversation -- it was a very genuine experience.

Rooms and bathrooms are among the cleanest I encountered in Costa Rica, and the mattresses were definitely the most comfortable around. Taxi shuttle to airport was nice, and even though the dorm was a little expensive, it was a good experience to end my trip in CR.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

This place is a great Tico owned family business. The beds were so comfortable, I think it was 6 people. They made sure to wait up for me when I came in late from the airport to let me in. It was so nice. Free coffee in the morning and free internet. Nice people, comfortable and safe place to land afer a long flight here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Absolutely top of the league when it comes to service and cleanliness, a cozy little hostel with friendly English-speaking local staff, and a supermarket open till midnight just around the corner. One of the best things about its location is the proximity to the airport and the free of charge shuttles to get to the terminal. (Prices are fair too, by the way). Looking back on some of the not so great hostel experiences over the last few weeks, though, I can say it's great to have Maleku near the airport before leaving, but they'd really deserve the prime spot in your favourite beachside town! Thanks.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maleku Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maleku Hostel

Address: 50mts west of Nuevo Hospital | SJO Airport area, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maleku Hostel is run by a Costa Rican Family. It is located really close to the International Airport Juan Santamaria, San Jose. that actually is in Alajuela Town. Our location is really convenient for all those traveler arriving or Departing Costa Rica. 3-5 minutes Taxi ride from the airport SJO.Next to big Super Market with ATM, walk distance to restaurants, stores, movies & public transportation.Our Facilities:•Free shuttle to the airport (from Hostel TO Airport, starting 5am to 5pm)•Free internet &WiFi•Breakfast 7am to 10am (coffee, tea or orange juice, Cookies and fruit)•Lockers•Towels•Full Kitchen•Hot Shower in Sharing Bathroom, all rooms in our hostel have share bathroom.• Great location •Free travel information •Public transportation and cabs a cross the street•Parking: On the street(Please Note we don't offer Airport pick up)We have:2 Dorm Rooms with 6 beds3 Private rooms available All with Share Bath. We offer the best recommendations in Local transportation, tours, rentals, other great hostel around Costa Rica and more.We are open 24 hrs. But our Information staff usually is available to help you with questions from 8am to 8pm. Hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Maleku Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maleku Hotel Alajuela
Maleku Hostel Alajuela
Maleku Hostel Hotel Alajuela
Maleku Hostel Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maleku Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.