We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maleku Hostel

Save Saved
You added Maleku Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Maleku Hostel
50mts west of Nuevo Hospital | SJO Airport area, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
La Crosse, WI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, friendly staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Alajuela and San Jose aren't great places to stay, but for airport convenience I highly recommend this hostel. Even with dorm rooms, the place has a "B&B" feel. The front desk worker was very friendly -- very social. Ordered pizza and sat down with us and had a great conversation -- it was a very genuine experience.

Rooms and bathrooms are among the cleanest I encountered in Costa Rica, and the mattresses were definitely the most comfortable around. Taxi shuttle to airport was nice, and even though the dorm was a little expensive, it was a good experience to end my trip in CR.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    23
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
4
25
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

This place is a great Tico owned family business. The beds were so comfortable, I think it was 6 people. They made sure to wait up for me when I came in late from the airport to let me in. It was so nice. Free coffee in the morning and free internet. Nice people, comfortable and safe place to land afer a long flight here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Absolutely top of the league when it comes to service and cleanliness, a cozy little hostel with friendly English-speaking local staff, and a supermarket open till midnight just around the corner. One of the best things about its location is the proximity to the airport and the free of charge shuttles to get to the terminal. (Prices are fair too, by the way). Looking back on some of the not so great hostel experiences over the last few weeks, though, I can say it's great to have Maleku near the airport before leaving, but they'd really deserve the prime spot in your favourite beachside town! Thanks.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Ive stayed in most of the hostels in Alajuela and many across the country. The Maleku is clean, comfortable and the service is unbeatable. Its close to the airport and a market. If you are on the move, the Maleku is perfect. The best part - the service. Last week I realized that I screwed up my res - they were full but found room for me. There isnt a ton of room - but its worth the trade to stay in a family run place where they live as environmentally conscious as possible.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed here for one night the last night of our trip in Costa Rica. We got a private room with a shared bath, and the bunk beds were new and the sheets were new and clean as well. Pretty basic room but good for a hostel and great for the value. Overall, this is a good hostel to stay in on your way out of the city, and the best part about it is the FREE SHUTTLE to the airport! It took us right at 5am and was one less thing we had to worry about.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

I was stayin at Maleku Hostel on October 2011. its a good way to end the amazing trip in Costa Rica. The best thing there is the helpful and kind staff. Pamela is a great host :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012 via mobile

This is small hostel. The 6 bed dorm room left me literally climbing over people and their gear each time I came or went. The bunks are pretty high and no ladders, so you better be nimble if you don't check in early enough to score a lower one.
The staff was helpful. The taxi from the airport was only $4, and the free ride back at 6am was good. It's only a couple minutes walk to la radial bus stop, and there were bus helpers there, which made our connection to monteverde easy.
There are two bathrooms for at least a dozen ppl, and one is at the kitchen and everyone sitting around can hear/smell what is goin on inside, which was less than awesome. I wouldn't say it was bad, since it is cheap.... Just too compact for my comfort level.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maleku Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maleku Hostel

Also Known As:
Maleku Hotel Alajuela
Maleku Hotel
Maleku Hostel Alajuela
Maleku Hostel Hotel Alajuela
Maleku Hostel Costa Rica/Alajuela
Address: 50mts west of Nuevo Hospital | SJO Airport area, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Specialty lodging in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maleku Hostel is run by a Costa Rican Family. It is located really close to the International Airport Juan Santamaria, San Jose. that actually is in Alajuela Town. Our location is really convenient for all those traveler arriving or Departing Costa Rica. 3-5 minutes Taxi ride from the airport SJO.Next to big Super Market with ATM, walk distance to restaurants, stores, movies & public transportation.Our Facilities:•Free shuttle to the airport (from Hostel TO Airport, starting 5am to 5pm)•Free internet &WiFi•Breakfast 7am to 10am (coffee, tea or orange juice, Cookies and fruit)•Lockers•Towels•Full Kitchen•Hot Shower in Sharing Bathroom, all rooms in our hostel have share bathroom.• Great location •Free travel information •Public transportation and cabs a cross the street•Parking: On the street(Please Note we don't offer Airport pick up)We have:2 Dorm Rooms with 6 beds3 Private rooms available All with Share Bath. We offer the best recommendations in Local transportation, tours, rentals, other great hostel around Costa Rica and more.We are open 24 hrs. But our Information staff usually is available to help you with questions from 8am to 8pm. Hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Maleku Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maleku Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.