We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Overnight Hotel close by Airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Brilla Sol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Brilla Sol to your Saves list
Hotel Brilla Sol
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   El Roble de Alajuela, Alajuela 17274050, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Alajuela
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Overnight Hotel close by Airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed at this Hotel twice now, and it is a perfect, simple overnight Hotel close by the airport if you don't feel like trekking all the way into the center of town. Very quaint, clean place . Staff is super friendly . You can't beat the price which includes airport transfer and breakfast . It will make your travel easy. The owner is wonderful . I had problems with my credit card, and she let me stay anyway, when I assured her I would pay the next morning . I thought that was very kind .

Room Tip: I liked room 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    86
    25
    16
    12
See reviews for
44
71
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sams_pa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Whether looking for a place to go that first night after you have arrived late at the airport or wanting a place close to the airport that will be convenient for your escape on the last day in country, the Hotel Brillasol is a great choice. The rates are NOT over the top, the complimentary breakfast in the morning is excellent and they have a shuttle service that can pick-up or deliver to the airport if you organize it ahead of time. That, alone saves quite a lot on the taxi ride. There is an internet cafe conveniently located a couple of blocks away on the main road and a nice suburban community where you can find anything from a pharmacy to a haircut at a reasonable price.

The Employees are always friendly and helpful. They will even advise you on travel and sightseeing plans. This is my preferred first and last stop when I visit Costa Rica.

Room Tip: You can ask to see the room before you select. I have never had a "Bad" room. The garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is a very nice place to stay the night before you fly. The rooms are clean. The staff is very nice. The garden and the vines growing on the porch are beautiful and create a relaxed atmosphere. Once inside the walled grounds, it is easy to forget you are in a city neighborhood behind the airport. There is a little shop for last day gift purchases. Meals are delicious, simple, and affordable. Sometimes it can be a little noisy but that is a trade-off with being so close to the airport. The free shuttle will get you there in 5 to 10 minutes!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

recommended by taxi driver as close to hotel with 5 minute shuttle included..wonderful optional meal at night... chicken lasagna with salad and homemade bread am for $9 US.. kind wonderful managers who will give you lots of tips for your trip but speak minimal english

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Owned and operated by Costa Ricans, this hotel epitomizes the best of small businesses. Staff are very friendly and helpful, rooms are simple but clean and breakfast is "typical" foods.
We live here most of the year and have looked for a long time for a hotel like this close to the airport. It is reasonably priced and our favorite place to stay overnight when leaving or returning to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We've stayed here several times and have not been dissapointed yet. Nothing fancy, but clean,secure, friendly, free shuttle to/from airport and full breakfast is included. Little office area with computors and internet access at NC.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is a great place to stay if you a morning departure, or night arrival from or to the airport. The shuttle is free and quick. A good breakfast is included. Meals are available for a reasonable price in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#8 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
3.8 mi away
Airport Hotel Berlor
Airport Hotel Berlor
#15 of 31 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
16.9 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#14 of 31 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#7 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brilla Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brilla Sol

Address: El Roble de Alajuela, Alajuela 17274050, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Brilla Sol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Brilla Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brilla Sol Hotel
Hotel Brilla Sol Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Brilla Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.