We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel stay close to airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Brilla Sol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Brilla Sol to your Saves list
Hotel Brilla Sol
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   El Roble de Alajuela, Alajuela 17274050, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Alajuela
wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Hotel stay close to airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

recommended by taxi driver as close to hotel with 5 minute shuttle included..wonderful optional meal at night... chicken lasagna with salad and homemade bread am for $9 US.. kind wonderful managers who will give you lots of tips for your trip but speak minimal english

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    86
    25
    16
    12
See reviews for
44
71
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Owned and operated by Costa Ricans, this hotel epitomizes the best of small businesses. Staff are very friendly and helpful, rooms are simple but clean and breakfast is "typical" foods.
We live here most of the year and have looked for a long time for a hotel like this close to the airport. It is reasonably priced and our favorite place to stay overnight when leaving or returning to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We've stayed here several times and have not been dissapointed yet. Nothing fancy, but clean,secure, friendly, free shuttle to/from airport and full breakfast is included. Little office area with computors and internet access at NC.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is a great place to stay if you a morning departure, or night arrival from or to the airport. The shuttle is free and quick. A good breakfast is included. Meals are available for a reasonable price in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

My husband and I spent two great nights at the Brillasol. The staff is friendly, the property is safe and the food is fantastic! Great value for the price.

Rooms & property:
- Rooms are basic and clean; no issues (and no bugs that we could see, which is rare in Costa Rica). The rooms aren't fancy but they do the trick. Our second night was on an upper floor (we stayed at the beginning and end of our trip), and was a bit nicer than our room on the main floor. No air conditioning in our rooms, but we didn't notice the heat.
- The outside of the building is quite lovely and surrounded by trees; feels like an oasis.
- If you're not used to the sounds of Costa Rica, you are going to hear the roosters and birds pretty early in the morning, but that's just the way it is.

Service:
- We really enjoyed talking with the owner Luis, and the service was excellent throughout. We were encouraged to eat as much as we wanted at breakfast. Luis' brother served us at breakfast and dinner and it felt like we were visiting with friends rather than eating at a restaurant.
- The free shuttle service is invaluable, especially in this part of San Jose. We were always picked up promptly and didn't have any issues getting to and from our destinations.

Food:
- The breakfast (included in room rate) is excellent. Fruit, cereal, fresh juice and coffee (oh, that coffee...so good) are available, and you also get a hot meal. We had eggs, toast and rice & beans -- I'm still thinking about how great the food was.
- For dinner (not included in room rate), we ordered fried rice (my husband and I are vegetarians) and the portion was huge and delicious. My house salad was fresh and yummy as well. My husband ordered a side of french fries; they must have been cooked in coconut oil because they were amazing!

We loved the Brillasol and look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This is a family own inn by San Jose Airport. The family who operates this place were friendly, accommodating and helpful- the provided map of CR and made sure we had the right shuttle service to get to our destinations. There is delicious home cooking available for lunch and dinner. The price includes traditional breakfast.

With that said, the accommodation is better suited for singles traveling on a budget andinternational students who are looking for a nice place to stay. The walls and windows were not very insulated from the outside/airport noise. While all right after midnight, light sleepers might not find it very tolerable.

In short, good buget inn for the first/last night in CR.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed here the first night of our honeymoon, just for a place close to the airport because they had lost my bags, and we had to go back the next day. The staff is amazing and most of them have been here for years. Free transportation to or from the airport, so it is a great place for your first or last night in Costa Rica. Complimentary breakfast which includes tropical fruit juices, eggs, and typical tico rice beans etc.....Computers if you didn't bring your own or WiFi by the restaurant. The room is basic but clean and the tropical plants inside the premises are the beginning beauties you will see throughout Costa Rica. It is very secure with cameras and a gate they only allow their guests to pass. It is between 70-50 dollars and the service alone is worth it to me. also if it is your last day of your trip and your close smell like mildew, as did mine....they will do your laundry for you. also a pool, lime tree, and other beautiful plants. They did not charge me a pet fee and I have a chocolate lab that is 80 lbs. Thank you Brillasol...Julie and Joe
P.S. we have now stayed here 3 different times and it is always the same. A great experience!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#8 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 476 reviews
3.8 mi away
Airport Hotel Berlor
Airport Hotel Berlor
#16 of 31 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
16.9 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#14 of 31 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#6 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brilla Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brilla Sol

Address: El Roble de Alajuela, Alajuela 17274050, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Brilla Sol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Brilla Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brilla Sol Hotel
Hotel Brilla Sol Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Brilla Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.