We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for an airport overnight” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Brilla Sol

Save Saved
You added Hotel Brilla Sol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Brilla Sol
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   El Roble de Alajuela, Alajuela 17274050, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Switzerland
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good for an airport overnight”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Inexpensive overnight stay. Got there late and left again early, so never got to see it in broad daylight.
Food we had was nice. And value for money is good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    58
    15
    13
    10
See reviews for
26
50
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

All reviews are pretty accurate in that this is a very basic cheap hotel/motel. However, the staff try their best to accommodate by providing delicious inexpensive meals and great service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

The first thing that went wrong was that the complimentary hotel shuttle service from the airport arrived 40 minutes late. Standing alone outside at the airport waiting and waiting and waiting for these people angered me as I saw person after person get picked up by their hotel. I later realized it was because they waited for another couple (whose flight arrived after mine) to pick us up all at once. Better to make me wait than to do two trips.

Once I arrived, the person at the desk said he wanted cash for my room; he didn't want my credit card. MUST PAY IN CASH?! This was not written anywhere and mind you, the couple that came in at the same time as me used their card, hence why I said I'd like to pay with my card, too. Taking advantage of my exhaustion and the fact that I am young and was traveling alone, he continued to demand cash until I reluctantly handed it over. It was literally all I had on me.

The pool was filthy. Every piece of furniture by the pool was mismatching and broken. The grounds needed some major manicuring.

The wireless did not work, and of the two computers in the "lobby" area one connected to the internet and the other did not.

The room was clean enough, but totally bare bones in terms of amenities.

You will not get sleep at this place unless you are ok with sleeping on a landing strip. Yes, this hotel may as well have been on the runway. Honestly, please imagine sleeping right where jets take off and land. I can sleep through everything except that. No sleep for me.

Two stars only because I had a good dinner there. And two of the numerous staff members were friendly.

If you don't heed my warning and stay there, at least demand to pay by credit card. Don't let them rip you off like they did me. Oh, and bring giant noise cancellation headphones so you can sleep.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, NH
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I was helping lead a group of 12 high school students, so it was very lucky to find such a gem as Brillasol- within 10 minutes of the airport, no less. We were welcomed by Willy, an extremely friendly Peruvian who now lives and works in San Jose. Quickly, we were all settled in our simple yet comfortable rooms and being served deliciously fresh fruit juice near the pool. The hotel grounds are surrounded tightly by luscious trees and bushes (and a strong-looking fence/wall on the outside), so it does not feel like you are in the city at all. However, there is still plenty of sun to bathe in poolside. There is a gift shop for any final small gifts that one may need, and the breakfast that they prepare (gallo pinto, fruit, eggs, coffee) is sufficient and very good. Even when we had to rush to the airport at 5:30am one day, they had to-go boxes of a variety of fruit and cups of coffee ready for us before we even got up. I know we will be returning with groups in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Fully enclosed, lush, colorful, affordable hotel just minutes from the San Jose airport. We paid $70 for two people, $60 for a single in March, 2012. A free shuttle, taking max. of 15 minutes and no downtown traffic, will deliver you to your plane on time. The hotel has helpful, friendly people; necessities, snacks, and a few souvenirs for purchase. Rooms are large, cool from the strong breezes, with ceiling fans. Doors and windows with screens. Free breakfast was delicious, dinner to order was inexpensive and good. We had trouble regulating the trickle of a shower, temperature oscillating between scalding and cold. The locality offers no shopping or attractions nearby, so is not a good choice for the tourist of San Jose. However, a group of 20 college students, mostly female, were staying here during a volunteer-work vacation, attesting to the safety of the hotel. They traveled daily to their work or sights in a hired van. We were relieved to have this affordable and comfortable option to avoid the San Jose traffic and danger, and arrive at the airport on time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I must say that the area around the property had me a bit worried as we approached but my misgivings were unfounded. The property was nice (some grounds keeping could have been beneficial) and the staff was friendly and helpful. They even returned our rental car for us since we had an early morning flight. The free shuttle was a definite plus. The only negative was that our room had no AC, luckily it wasn't too hot.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Where do I start?? We stayed here our last night in Costa Rica before our flight the next day. No AC and it was hot! There is so much noise it is almost impossible to sleep. Lots of feral cats wander the property making noise all night, dogs barking, roosters crowing, planes overhead. I find it hard to believe tripadvisor ever rated this one, and a 4 star at that! Must have been when it was brand new! I ended up with what I am assuming were flea bites on my ankles that I had an allergic reaction to. Probably from all the cats wandering around. Still contending with the bites almost a week later.
Bathroom was gross, mold growing all over, and when you flushed the toilet it sounded like an air raid siren. Beds, linens and pillows were terrible!!
The only bright spot at this hotel was the restaurant and its staff. Food was decent and hot and not overpriced. The breakfast that is included had a lot to offer. Waiter, Guillermo, was excellent considering how busy they were and he was the only one working.
Tripadvisor needs to revisit this hotel. The hotel needs to make some changes for sure, starting with flea bombs.
Would NOT stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Brilla Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brilla Sol

Address: El Roble de Alajuela, Alajuela 17274050, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Brilla Sol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Brilla Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brilla Sol Hotel
Hotel Brilla Sol Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Brilla Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.