We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Brilla Sol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Brilla Sol to your Saves list
Hotel Brilla Sol
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   El Roble de Alajuela, Alajuela 17274050, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
US
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Close to airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I must say that the area around the property had me a bit worried as we approached but my misgivings were unfounded. The property was nice (some grounds keeping could have been beneficial) and the staff was friendly and helpful. They even returned our rental car for us since we had an early morning flight. The free shuttle was a definite plus. The only negative was that our room had no AC, luckily it wasn't too hot.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    61
    16
    13
    10
See reviews for
27
53
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Largo, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Where do I start?? We stayed here our last night in Costa Rica before our flight the next day. No AC and it was hot! There is so much noise it is almost impossible to sleep. Lots of feral cats wander the property making noise all night, dogs barking, roosters crowing, planes overhead. I find it hard to believe tripadvisor ever rated this one, and a 4 star at that! Must have been when it was brand new! I ended up with what I am assuming were flea bites on my ankles that I had an allergic reaction to. Probably from all the cats wandering around. Still contending with the bites almost a week later.
Bathroom was gross, mold growing all over, and when you flushed the toilet it sounded like an air raid siren. Beds, linens and pillows were terrible!!
The only bright spot at this hotel was the restaurant and its staff. Food was decent and hot and not overpriced. The breakfast that is included had a lot to offer. Waiter, Guillermo, was excellent considering how busy they were and he was the only one working.
Tripadvisor needs to revisit this hotel. The hotel needs to make some changes for sure, starting with flea bombs.
Would NOT stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on the recommendation of aquaintances, mostly because it was so close to the airport and the hotel arranged for us to be picked up from the airport at no extra cost. Also, the next morning, they brought us to a nearby hotel, where we met our shuttle bus to go to the south Caribbean coast. Our room was pleasant, but it smelled musty. We arrived in the early evening and didn´t feel safe walking around the neighbourhood, so there wasn´t much to do. We had dinner at the hotel, and it was okay and reasonably priced. The breakfast was included with the cost of the hotel and was tasty. We recommend this hotel as basic accommodation, if you´re looking for a place to sleep and won´t be staying long.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, North Carolina
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I loved this place. The rooms are not especially fancy with tiled floors and basic furnishings. The landscaping is wonderful, with lush jungle greenery. The staff here were great, very helpful and friendly. There is a shuttle to the airport, which was very convenient and quick. We enjoyed walking around the area, there is a little mini-mart right outside the gate, and several good restaurants about a 5 minute walk if you turn right out of the gate. Rooms were about $70 for a double.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

This is not the first time I have had the pleasure of staying at Brillasol, but this time I stayed longer than usual--about eight nights because I was having medical procedures, including gall bladder operation, in nearby San Jose. The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, and although I usually do not like watching TV while traveling, this time I appreciated the Spanish and English cable channels. Breakfasts are delicious (and free). Suppers are excellent and reasonably priced. But what makes Brillasol extra special is the extended family/staff, friendly and happy to help in any way they can. I feel like I have come home to family every time I stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

the Brillasol has a really kind and mostly bilingual staff that can cook a mean costa rican typical breakfast included in the cost. The rooms are comfortable and include nice outside seating to enjoy a first or last day cocktail. we also appreciated the tv in our room with HBO and Cinemax. they have internet access and free computer usage. like i said though, the free pickup and dropoff at the airport is worth every penny as ive heard horror stories of people being robbed at or near the airport. also, it seems like there is a sea of people waiting for a small number of cabs. the one negative is that their 5 minute proximity to the airport yields some noise from airplanes close by. i would... no, i will stay here again.

Room Tip: theyre all about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Conveniently located to the airport, a Brillasol shuttle will pick you up if you give them the flight number, and take you back; they'll also provide transportation to tour pickup points or interbus. Very clean rooms, attractively landscaped grounds behind a wall in a residential area. Great breakfast included and the prices are cheap; dinner from a reasonably priced menu. WiFi plus one internet terminal available. My sisters and I made it our central point in the Highlands from which to venture on day trips. You can catch a city bus to town for transfers, or they'll call you a cab. One sister returned for gallbladder surgery (retired before 65 so no health insurance in the US) and they brought her tea and toast for lunch, even though lunch isn't something they regularly offer. Thank you, Brillasol family, for making our stays so comfortable and worry-free!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Brilla Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brilla Sol

Address: El Roble de Alajuela, Alajuela 17274050, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Brilla Sol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Brilla Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brilla Sol Hotel
Hotel Brilla Sol Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Brilla Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.