We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel near the San Jose airport” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Brilla Sol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Brilla Sol to your Saves list
Hotel Brilla Sol
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   El Roble de Alajuela, Alajuela 17274050, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Alajuela
Ottawa
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice hotel near the San Jose airport”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on the recommendation of aquaintances, mostly because it was so close to the airport and the hotel arranged for us to be picked up from the airport at no extra cost. Also, the next morning, they brought us to a nearby hotel, where we met our shuttle bus to go to the south Caribbean coast. Our room was pleasant, but it smelled musty. We arrived in the early evening and didn´t feel safe walking around the neighbourhood, so there wasn´t much to do. We had dinner at the hotel, and it was okay and reasonably priced. The breakfast was included with the cost of the hotel and was tasty. We recommend this hotel as basic accommodation, if you´re looking for a place to sleep and won´t be staying long.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    83
    22
    16
    12
See reviews for
39
71
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mebane, North Carolina
Level Contributor
154 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I loved this place. The rooms are not especially fancy with tiled floors and basic furnishings. The landscaping is wonderful, with lush jungle greenery. The staff here were great, very helpful and friendly. There is a shuttle to the airport, which was very convenient and quick. We enjoyed walking around the area, there is a little mini-mart right outside the gate, and several good restaurants about a 5 minute walk if you turn right out of the gate. Rooms were about $70 for a double.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

This is not the first time I have had the pleasure of staying at Brillasol, but this time I stayed longer than usual--about eight nights because I was having medical procedures, including gall bladder operation, in nearby San Jose. The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, and although I usually do not like watching TV while traveling, this time I appreciated the Spanish and English cable channels. Breakfasts are delicious (and free). Suppers are excellent and reasonably priced. But what makes Brillasol extra special is the extended family/staff, friendly and happy to help in any way they can. I feel like I have come home to family every time I stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

the Brillasol has a really kind and mostly bilingual staff that can cook a mean costa rican typical breakfast included in the cost. The rooms are comfortable and include nice outside seating to enjoy a first or last day cocktail. we also appreciated the tv in our room with HBO and Cinemax. they have internet access and free computer usage. like i said though, the free pickup and dropoff at the airport is worth every penny as ive heard horror stories of people being robbed at or near the airport. also, it seems like there is a sea of people waiting for a small number of cabs. the one negative is that their 5 minute proximity to the airport yields some noise from airplanes close by. i would... no, i will stay here again.

Room Tip: theyre all about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Conveniently located to the airport, a Brillasol shuttle will pick you up if you give them the flight number, and take you back; they'll also provide transportation to tour pickup points or interbus. Very clean rooms, attractively landscaped grounds behind a wall in a residential area. Great breakfast included and the prices are cheap; dinner from a reasonably priced menu. WiFi plus one internet terminal available. My sisters and I made it our central point in the Highlands from which to venture on day trips. You can catch a city bus to town for transfers, or they'll call you a cab. One sister returned for gallbladder surgery (retired before 65 so no health insurance in the US) and they brought her tea and toast for lunch, even though lunch isn't something they regularly offer. Thank you, Brillasol family, for making our stays so comfortable and worry-free!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

The people here are so friendly and willing to help you out. They not only picked me up at the airport, but also gave me a free shuttle to and from where I was supposed to pick up my bus to Limon. They have internet, an international phone, a pool, cable TV in my room, and I only paid $60 per night. Everyone was so considerate; I felt really safe traveling by myself, especially because they were so willing to drive me anywhere. Owners Flor and Luis really have a nice place here that's slightly under the radar.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Fine place to spend a night coming and going from the San Jose airport. Lovely and reliable people, tasty food, adequate rooms, tropical foliage abounds.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
3.8 mi away
Airport Hotel Berlor
Airport Hotel Berlor
#15 of 31 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
4.6 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 596 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Robledal
Hotel Robledal
#6 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brilla Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brilla Sol

Address: El Roble de Alajuela, Alajuela 17274050, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Brilla Sol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Brilla Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brilla Sol Hotel
Hotel Brilla Sol Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Brilla Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.