We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every Visit Everytime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Brilla Sol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Brilla Sol to your Saves list
Hotel Brilla Sol
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   El Roble de Alajuela, Alajuela 17274050, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
El Castillo, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Every Visit Everytime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We travel to San Jose about 3 times a year and we have stayed at this great little Hotel many times. There have been lots of Improvements over the years and yet the value can't be beat. The staff are always so helpful & accommodating . They are only 5 minutes from the airport and they have a free shuttle.
Keep in mind this place is a very simple Tico hotel, It is very clean but sometimes the rooms can smell a little musty. We bring earplugs because the planes are rather loud as they fly by. Overall, the best place we have stayed near the airport, for a budget accomodation.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    73
    18
    15
    11
See reviews for
34
61
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Hotel Brilla Sol is a great place to stopover on the way to and from San Jose airport.

The free hotel shuttle was there waiting for us, even after our flight had been delayed for about an hour. The rooms are fairly spacious and very clean (not an insect in sight which for Costa Rica is pretty amazing), but do not include any "extra" amenities (coffeemaker, shampoo, hair dryer, water, etc.) However, for around $25 per person per night, this is to be expected.

The rooms do get a bit noisy late at night and in the early AM as the hotel is situated very close to the SJO airport, so loud planes are constantly flying overhead.

The included breakfast is very good; Costa Rican casado (beans/rice) with fresh fruit (watermelon, pina, papaya) plus oatmeal, bread, jams, and cereal.

The staff is very welcoming and friendly with assisting in making reservations and bookings for just about anything; there is a very friendly cat on the property too :)

The property does have Wifi, however I could only access it when I was in the lounge/restaurant area, not in the room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

I stayed with my family for our first night in Costa Rica. The service is excellent and friendly. The food was delicious, they had vegetarian options for us :). Our stay was very cozy and comfortable. However, one member of our party (who is a bit on the pampered side) was a bit uncomfortable in the rooms, they were a bit small, but all the basic necessities were there. I, myself, was quite comfortable - but if you have any 'luxury-lovers' in your party, this might be the only drawback. Overall, it was a very enjoyable and highly reccomended stay.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunellen, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 3 days in April and I was impressed wonderful staff they will treat you like a guest. its quiet peaceful, comfortable and a plesant place to stay weather for a few days or a month you will defiently enjoy your stay there. I like the fact I has internet at the buisness center and your able to make phone calls it has resturant that serves good food at a fair price. and the hotel staff can set you up if you like to take avantage of the tour and do some sighseeing. the only thing the hotel doesnt have is laundry facilities onsite.And the pool defiently need to be cleaned up a bit overall this hotel is a good hotel at a good price. When I come back to costa Rica Ill defiently be comming back here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

I have stayed here three times now, and it still remains a good choice.

Pros -
Airport shuttle for free.
Free Breakfast.
Basic but clean rooms.
Friendly and helpful service.
Close to the airport.
Feels safe.

Cons -
Some rooms need some updating.
Beds are hit and miss as far as comfort.
Close to the airport comes with a price, some airplane noise.
Our second night here we encountered some stinkiness from the shower drain, but I don't think it was the hotels fault.

All in all, I'd certainly consider staying here again. If possible, I would score this place a 3.5 instead of 3, because it's a little above average in my eyes.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

What a great welcome and departure from my travels in Costa Rica. Efficient shuttle service from/to the airport as well.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

If you're looking for a quaint, inn-like quality place to rest easy and refuel on a leg of your journey through Central America, this is your place. The staff is friendly, easy going and efficient. The grounds are safely enclosed by a gate and filled with beautiful trees and plants with a little pool tucked away. The food was pretty good and the service from the food staff excellent. The room was clean with a great bathroom and warm shower. Brilla Sol is in a somewhat urban neighborhood for Alajuela with not many things to do other than explore the community homes and small grocery stores and business on the main street. Still, its a good walk and chance to get a feel for the culture. I would (will) return when traveling through Central America.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Brilla Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brilla Sol

Address: El Roble de Alajuela, Alajuela 17274050, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Brilla Sol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Brilla Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brilla Sol Hotel
Hotel Brilla Sol Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Brilla Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.