We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vida Tropical” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vida Tropical B and B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Vida Tropical B and B to your Saves list
Vida Tropical B and B
300 meters East and 300 N from the courthouse traffic light | in front of the Academia de Natación, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 54 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Vida Tropical”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

This is a small hotel very close to the San Jose airport. The hotel is extremely well run. The owners, Norman and Isabel, and staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome and are extremely helpful. A standard Tico breakfast is included with the rooms and is served in the kitchen area.

The rooms are basic with shared bathrooms. But the friendly staff makes you feel very welcome and will assist you in any way possible.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    77
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
53
95
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Opwijk, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

We stayed at the vida tropical at Alajuela for two nights. The location of the hotel is excellent, just outside the city center in a very quiet elegant neighbourhood but with all the amenities of the center only at walking distance. They have free internet and serve a decent breakfast. Their is a cozy common area where you can watch television. On the downside is the fact that the place is not clean. We had the Gecko room. The collection of long dead bugs we found under our bed must be a dream for any entomologist. The fact that at night we found some live cockroaches in our bed did enhance our enthousiasm ever to return to this place. In short, sweeping the floors and killing the bugs would be nice for a starter.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VidaTropical, Owner-Manager at Vida Tropical B and B, responded to this review, May 12, 2009
We want to thank one of our guest for reporting an invasion of creepy crawlies in our Hotel. Unfortunately, with change of seasons, all those critters which enjoy the great outdoors in the summer months try to seek refuge in the dryness and comfort of our home. This year was particularly worse than others and caught us off guard, but we assure our future guest that we have take action against our uninvited little creatures. Now, when a roach is seen, it is on its back fighting for its final breaths.

We would love to say we have eliminated all of our infiltrations, but the truth of the matter is Vida Tropical is open to the elements and inviting of visits from all of Mother Nature’s creatures. Among the frequent visits by Humming Birds and Butterflies, we unfortunately see the occasional rouge Cucaracha. We assure you that any and all uninvited insects, which escape the Geckos, are punished equally with a swift and painless exit from this world on the bottom of a size 10 Nike Air.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monteverde
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

My wife and I travel to CR a few times a year and after staying at several different hotels near the airport, we´ve made Vida Tropical our second home. Isabel and Norman, the folks that run the place, are great! They cook up an awesome breakfast and are there to help with your travels every step of the way. Honor system beers are a plus after a long day of travelling and i´t´s just a few blocks from the central plaza (Alejuela) where there are all kinds of great places to eat. Say hi to Bontico for us (the resident rabbit)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

We had reservations here for 3 nights but left after one. We requested a room with two beds and private bath but were told the one private bath room had one bed. However, we were told we would share a bathroom with two other rooms and would never have to wait. That was incorrect.

We had the Gecko room on the first floor near the office, computer, den, breakfast area . . . consequently, everyone used our bathroom. This would have been not so bad if we had had a mirror in our room. We hated to tie up the bathroom with our make-up but . . . no mirror . . . this is a very minor and cheap problem to fix.

We actually booked this hotel because they advertised banana pancakes and we're crazy about banana pancakes. Imagine our surprise when we ordered that for breakfast and were served a stack of pancakes and a banana. Had to laugh.

This could be an OK place to stay with a few cheap modifications . . . mirrors in the rooms, issue keys to the bathroom so it would not be accessible to everyone, teach the cook about banana pancakes!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Vida Tropical on 3 separate times over the past 2 months and enjoyed every visit. The owners, Isabel and Norman went out of their way being helpful and making us feel right at home. Isabel willingly arranged for Interbus and taxi services and helped us with our Spanish and any questions. We enjoyed their lovely little boy and the friendly rabbit in the garden. Each morning, smiling Silvia, made us an excellent breakfast. All of the different breakfasts start with a plate of delicious fresh fruit. We stayed in the separate garden room, which was worth the little extra money for the private bathroom and a quieter area. It was handy to have the free internet and the kitchen to prepare some of our meals. The walk to downtown was short and enjoyable because of the clean streets, pleasant parks and friendly people. For the price it was an excellent value. We would definetly return to this welcoming B&B!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

I've been coming back here for over 7 years now, and I love it - it's getting better all the time. To me, it's more than a place to stay; it's a place to call home.

Although it's simple enough, no one will feel deprived. There's a good, big breakfast cooked to order, Internet on tap, a homey, relaxed atmosphere and plenty of helpful tips and advice.

Vida Tropical is easy on the budget. It's a well-organized seven room B&B, located just outside the center of small town Alajuela, and walking distance to transportation. The airport is handy too, letting you get in, get settled fast, and plan the next steps of your vacation.

As I said, I've stayed there numerous times, and I have to say: great place, worth checking out, and a terrific place to meet new friends.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

A fine place for the price. My room was small but colorful, and I slept well. However, be aware that the walls are thin, and you will probably get woken up before you want to (or not be able to fall asleep when you want to). The shared bathroom was fine, and there was hot water. The owners/managers really go out of their way to help you and welcome you. There is internet and local phone calls are free. The breakfast was mediocre.

  • Liked — The service.
  • Disliked — Thin walls
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vida Tropical B and B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vida Tropical B and B

Address: 300 meters East and 300 N from the courthouse traffic light | in front of the Academia de Natación, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ADVANTAGES OF VIDA TROPICAL - 5 minutes from the airport, but not on the flight path; walking distance to the center of the city of Alajuela; on a nice, quiet, secure street, in a friendly residential area; transportation to and from the airport is available at any hour of the day or night with the official orange airport taxis or we can arrange pickup(fare is about $7.00); a base from which to do day trips in the Central Valley, or overnight trips to more distant points; a place to stay during your whole trip if you're here to check out business opportunities, real estate purchase or rental possibilities or if you want to experience daily life in the Central Valley to decide if you want to move here permanently or part of the year; s place to enjoy an extended stay at very reasonable prices. We´re in Lonely Planet, Let's Go, and other travel books, reviewed on TripAdvisor and airbnb,and recommended in Thorn Tree and other discussion boards. Established in the Last Millenium before Y2K (1999), and enjoyed by 1,000s of guests. We accept Visa and Mastercard but NOT with the new CHIP security system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Vida Tropical B and B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vida Tropical b And b Hotel Alajuela
Vida Tropical B And B Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vida Tropical B and B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.