We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient place to stay in Alajuela although lacking in atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vida Tropical B and B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Vida Tropical B and B to your Saves list
Vida Tropical B and B
300 meters East and 300 N from the courthouse traffic light | in front of the Academia de Natación, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 54 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Convenient place to stay in Alajuela although lacking in atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I stayed in Vida Tropical for one night while waiting for my flight out of Costa Rica. It is conveniently located next to the airport and the owners can organize a free transfer to the airport. The place itself is clean although I didn't like the rooms so much, it felt clattered and very old fashioned with a lot of fabrics. I couldn't work out the shower as well so had to take it cold, but that could have been me, I was leaving early so had no one to ask about it. To me it lacked the places to chill out as the garden is way too small and the rest of the places did not feel that comfortable. There are some restaurants nearby and the main attractions (which are not many considering it is Alajuela :).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosefromCostaRica, Owner at Vida Tropical B and B, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
I´m sorry you did not enjoy Vida Tropical, I always though we had lots of atmosphere, although if you arrive very late, our atmosphere is sleeping, and if you leave very early, it has not awakened yet. Our showers are simple, there are 2 faucets, one is hot, the other cold, can´t imagine how that can confuse you. We also have 4 common areas for chilling: the front area with bookshelf, a sofa, and a table and 4 chairs; a mezzanine with a futon and one chair; a balcony with a table, 4 chairs and 2 hammocks; and a TV room in the back with a sofa, 2 chairs and a hammock. Our back yard is small, and much of it is used for laundry drying, then there´s the worm compost bin and the herb garden, and all we have room left for is one chair and our bunny´s hopping area. In any case, I´m sorry you were disappointed, I really am. Unrealistically, we want everybody to be at 100% or more in the happiness scale, and we take it personally when we fail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    77
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
52
95
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

My boyfriend and I made Vida Tropical our first stop in a wonderful trip to Costa Rica!
We loved that they paid for our taxi ride from the airport and informed us just what taxis to take. We arrived late and didn't want to figure this kind of thing out after a long flight.
When we arrived at Vida we were greeted by a friendly man (whose name I unfortunately don't remember. sorry) who showed us our room and told us where to go out for a bite and drink.
The room was perfectly fine with a shared bathroom that was conveniently located. Comfortable bed, quiet, etc. A nice breakfast in a bright open room with a good view of the bunny running around in the yard. The best part was the relaxed atmosphere and Isabel and Norman's knowledge about where to go and how to get there. We had arranged a rent-a-car from home to be delivered to the B and B and it didn't arrive until hours after we had scheduled it. They had no problem letting us hang out and play games, read and come and go from the city center while we waited. We also had a chance to chat with other travelers to get their agendas and experiences as well.
We felt very comfortable and welcome.

All in all a great choice for a convenient stop in and out of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Isabel, Norman and their son Nicolas were very friendly and helpful as were other staff. Good place as a base or to and from the airport. The staff is so friendly and helpful and what they charge is very reasonable. The house itself is a bit dated and there is no outside sitting area, but the owners and staff are so helpful and friendly it makes up for it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

This is a good place to go if you need to catch a plane from the nearby airport. It is downtown, not far from at least one good restaurant. (We ate at a fine Tex-Mex place recommended by the operator.)

If you want to save cash (instead of taking a taxi), you can take the bus from San Jose:

Get on the bus which terminates in Alajuela; when you get into Alajuela watch the right side for a building titled "Tribunal de Justicia" (which means Courts of Law or Justice); get off the bus when you see this and backtrack a few blocks (300 meters or so) until you reach the sign for “Academia de Natacion” (Swimming School); take a left there and walk a few more blocks (300 meters) to the hostel--which is the 3rd house on the right after the street guard´s shack, across from the Academia de Natacion; open the gate at a 2 story house with a large Norfolk pine in front and enter.

It is an easy walk and following these instructions will save you $20 to $40 in taxi fares.

Have fun.

Room Tip: There is some street and neighborhood noise overnight. A night guard patrols on a bicycle and period...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I was in Alajuela for work for a couple of weeks
Plenty to eat for dinner nearby
Good transport nearby, buses and cabs
Very nice manager and housekeep - very helpful They even did laundry for me
Quite clean The breakfast is good, can't go wrong with the fruit and toast, they also do a cooked breakfast
Pleasant environment, quiet in evening
Far away enough from airport - no aircraft noise that I noticed (5 - 10 mins by cab)
Good after hours checkin
Excellent value if you just need a basic room and don't mind the share bathroom
I would feel comfortable taking my family to stay at this B&B

Room Tip: The Terrace room was very good, on western side, but cools off quickly in evening Top floor rooms f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

good location, good service, and a good breakfast. the people who wrote the bad reviews sound a little picky to me. the rooms and bathrooms were clean both times we stayed there. it was a pleasant experience for our first and last nights in costa rica

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Our stay at Vida Tropical couldn't have been better. Beginning with the quick turnaround in e-mail responses, to being picked at the airport, to our room being clean, charming and comfortable, to the full breakfast (a full menu of choices!), and just the overall treatment from the establishment. Isabel is very friendly and knowledgeable. She also arranged our transportation down to Golfito for a very reasonable price. Her husband also operates a restaurant nearby where we went for dinner. The food was delicious. This couple works hard and go out of their way for their guests. We are going to stay there when it's time to go back to the states.
Peggy Williams from Maine

Room Tip: Ask for the garden room if you are a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vida Tropical B and B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vida Tropical B and B

Address: 300 meters East and 300 N from the courthouse traffic light | in front of the Academia de Natación, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ADVANTAGES OF VIDA TROPICAL - 5 minutes from the airport, but not on the flight path; walking distance to the center of the city of Alajuela; on a nice, quiet, secure street, in a friendly residential area; transportation to and from the airport is available at any hour of the day or night with the official orange airport taxis or we can arrange pickup(fare is about $7.00); a base from which to do day trips in the Central Valley, or overnight trips to more distant points; a place to stay during your whole trip if you're here to check out business opportunities, real estate purchase or rental possibilities or if you want to experience daily life in the Central Valley to decide if you want to move here permanently or part of the year; s place to enjoy an extended stay at very reasonable prices. We´re in Lonely Planet, Let's Go, and other travel books, reviewed on TripAdvisor and airbnb,and recommended in Thorn Tree and other discussion boards. Established in the Last Millenium before Y2K (1999), and enjoyed by 1,000s of guests. We accept Visa and Mastercard but NOT with the new CHIP security system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Vida Tropical B and B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vida Tropical b And b Hotel Alajuela
Vida Tropical B And B Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vida Tropical B and B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.