We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Offers the Best Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Airport Boulevard | next to Juan Santamaria International Airport, Alajuela 95-4003, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 30 hotels in Alajuela
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Offers the Best Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

We considered local B&Bs and downtown hotels, but opted for Holiday Inn. It was the best choice given the convenience to the airport and the excellent service offered at the hotel. Wireless Internet, with 2 workstations in the lobby; concierge services, nice gift/notions shop; exercise room and outdoor pool; wonderful breakfast; clean and comfortable rooms. The staff go above and beyond to make guests feel welcome.

Most importantly, at the end of our stay, the shuttle was prompt and we arrived at the airport in plenty of time--a good thing since it was total chaos at the airport!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    157
    37
    12
    11
See reviews for
92
160
31
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel on two occassions with my family of 6. Certainly this is not a destination hotel, but it is an ideal hotel for late arrival flights or early morning depatures. Several rental companies are within walking distance of the hotel allowing you to easliy drop off/pick up your rental car. You will find a couple of resturants within walking distance of the hotel too which you will need for any meals other than breakfast. The free breakfast was much nicer than expected, with eggs, rice and beans, plantains, pastries, juices, milk, coffee, tea, cereals, etc.

The staff was not overly friendly or rude. They are often busy at the front deask and the check in/check out process was at times much longer than I expected. The hotel was clean and in good condition. They have a pool. The free shuttle is easy to find at the airport and ran frequently.

My only complaints would be that they need to provide a quick check-out process for those people short on time and the price is a little higher than you might pay for the same thing in the US.

If you would like more info and photos about Costa Rica, please check out my family travel blog at www.AdventurousFamilyVacations.com . Happy traveling!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

My family and I stayed in this hotel our first night in Costa Rica. The shuttle service and the price ($99.) were the primary factors in selecting this hotel. Upon exiting the San Jose Airport the hotel shuttle was there waiting for us- this was great because there were many cab drivers asking to take us somewhere. The shuttle advertises both Holiday Inn Express and Marriott on the bus- these two hotels share the shuttle because they are beside one another. The shuttle runs 24hrs a day every 15 minutes. The morning breakfast was GREAT (and free). Also, the hotel offers free international calls.
For less money (and more character and charm) , try the Hotel Mango a block away from the Holiday Inn Express (you can walk on a sidewalk from the Holiday Inn to get to the Hotel Mango (a safe walk). When riding through the city, I did not see any reason to stay in a hotel in San Jose (unless you were going to spend time in the city- which is large with lots ramshackle homes).

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

I rarely take the time to thank a hotel but in this case it is in order. We were stuck in San Jose for 3 nights due to an airline mistake.(THX to the big airline out of ATL) The hotel staff went out of their way to make our life easy. From the smiling faces and friendly environment to the fact they served a different menu each morning during the free breakfast. What a pleasant experience to find an airport hotel with heart and soul! It is a 10 on my list and the big ATL airline is a -2! The casino next door provided the low cost night life and the pool provided the sun during the day.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

We stayed here the night before our flight out of San Jose. I think this hotel is perfect for the night before the airport. They have a free shuttle that takes you to the airport. There was also a free breakfast in the morning that had a lot of American food such as bagels and english muffins.

We were pleasantly surprised by the rooms. The beds were extremely comfortable and it looked as though the rooms had been redone recently. It's also convenient to some other attractions on the outskirts of San Jose if you have a little time before your flight.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

We were very tired after a long day - so ended up here to catch an early flight. While it's "nice" to have free shuttle to airport, breakfast to go (if you use your imagination and call banana and junk food muffin breakfast), Wi-Fi, and smiling, solicitous service - but $150 is too much-but in Washington DC or Honolulu.

Upshot - i won't fly into San Jose next time - will go straight to Nicaragua.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

Close to the casino, car rentals and restaurants. Perfect spot to begin and end your Costa Rican trip.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Address: 1000 Airport Boulevard | next to Juan Santamaria International Airport, Alajuela 95-4003, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Holiday Inn Express Alajuela
Alajuela Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.