We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the most convenient hotel by the airport...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Airport Boulevard | next to Juan Santamaria International Airport, Alajuela 95-4003, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 30 hotels in Alajuela
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“the most convenient hotel by the airport...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This holiday Inn property is the perfect spot to start your trip in CR, 800 yards from the airport, free shuttle (24 hours), and reasonable rates. the rooms are spotless, spotless and well furnished. they provide many amenities (money exchange, tours, rental cars nearby, etc, etc...). to start your trip, there is not a better location nearby the Airport. The staff is courteous, efficient and very professional. There is a casino nearby, it's ok, fun for drink and nightly entertainment (do not gamble, unless, you enjoy losing!). Again, to rest on your first night or last night in Cr, this place is perfect !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear irrawady, thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review.

There is nothing more rewarding for us than to see how ourn guests enjoyed their stay with us by leaving with a big smile of satisfaction on their faces. We strive to provide them the most convenient services and the most comfortable accommodations while at the same time makng them feel right at home by surrounding them with a cozy and friendly atmosphere.

Thank you for choosing us, it was a pleasure having you with us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    162
    37
    12
    10
See reviews for
92
160
30
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here February 14th after a afternoon landing.
Front desk service was very good, friendly and fast. I request a room on the first floor and they made the change without any hassle. The Fiesta Casino is next door which we had dinner and cocktails which were very good. The gambling is like any other casino you would go to. If you were lucky that day you may win a few colones. I wasn't!
They will exchange dollars to colones at the hotel and casino. The rate on the 14th was 517 to $1.
The hotel is also a short walk to many rental car agencies. That makes it nice for early morning departures to our Costa Rica destination.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Brianindianapolis, thank you so much for taking the time to write this review.

It makes us very happy to learn how much you enjoyed staying with us and how friendly and compliant you found our staff. Our mission is to make each and every guest feel totally satisfied and comfortable with our services ans accommodations and to provide them the best attention possible so they will always be willing to trust us when it comes to their comfort and well being. Also, it is very nice to hear how convenient our location was for you, not only because we are so close to the airport (we are less than a mile away) but also because we have so many car rentals just across the parking lot.

Once again, thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure having you.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed at this hotel just before we boarded a flight early the next morning. They have a very convenient free shuttle to the airport every 10 min 24 h a day. The room was about $130 (US) including taxes, and I considered it a good value. The room was clean, comfortable, and the staff were very friendly. We would stay there again under the same circumstances. We had to leave the hotel at 4 am, but they kindly provided a free boxed breakfast as we left.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Jim B, thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. We are very glad that your brief stay with us was nothing more than perfect. It makes us very happy to learn that you were more than satisfied with the value and service you got from the price paid.
As you could see, our daily goal is make each and everyone of our guests have the best hotel experience possible by providing them with the most comfortable accommodations and the highest quality of service and the highest hotel standards.
Thank you for staying with us, it was a great pleasure to learn how much you liked the provided service.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

The location is a couple of minutes from the airport with 24 hour shuttle service. The concierge will help arrange local transportation and other services if needed. Because it is close the the airport it can get a little loud when planes take off.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear colorado_adventure_1, thank for sharing your review. We are delighted to find out how convenient and comfortable you found our hotel and its services. We always try to make our guests´ stay as comfortable as posible, that is why we are always doing everything we can to comply with all their requests and needs.
We thrive on our guests´ happiness and complete satisfaction, there is nothing that makes us happier than to know that their experience with us was a complete success. Since the hotel was built so near the airport, special materials were used that isolates any incoming sound no matter how loud it might be so our guests can have all the rest they deserve.
It was a pleasure having you with us, we hope that you visit us again very soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Good location close airport, some minor plane noise, clean, good bed, breakfast your usual with great Costa Rica coffee, free wifi. Good place to book tours. Staff was very friendly. We would stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Albertageorge, thank you for writing this review.
We are thrilled to find out how much you liked staying with us and the services the hotel offers. We always try to make our guests feel totally satisfied by providing them with all they might need in order to make their stay with us a great experience.

We make it our duty to take extremely good care of our guests, that way, they can be certain that everytime they stay with us they are never going to be disappointed.

Thank you for choosing us, it was a pleasure to have you with us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here the first and last night of our week-long trip to Costa Rica. It was absolutely PERFECT for what we needed. We wanted a hotel that was close to the airport but not directly in San Jose. The location is great and there is an airport shuttle that runs every 5 minutes, all day and night. The staff was polite and very friendly, and they were eager to help and answer our questions. They even did "rapid checkout" both nights, which means they run your card the night before you check out, so we didn't have to pay in the morning on the way out (this was especially nice on our last day since our flight was early). The rooms were clean and spacious. There is a nice pool and a small gym. Breakfast was much better than expected. By the end of my trip around Costa Rica I was actually looking forward to getting back here for our last night to take a "real" shower and sleep in a nice bed. Plenty of parking (if you have a rental car) and there are 3 restaurants within walking distance to the hotel. We will be back if we are ever in Costa Rica again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Caitlin R, thank you for sharing your review. We are thrilled to learn how great you found our hotel, not only for the super comfortable rooms, the high quality of services and its very convenient location but also because of the great warmth and friendliness of our entire staff.
We thrive on our guests´ total satisfaction and well being, so reading a review such as yours makes us see that we did indeed achieve our main goal with you and your boyfriend. It makes us really proud to know that the next time you visit this country, we are going to be your hotel of choice. Thank you for staying with us, it was a plleasure being of your service and we hope to see you back very soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This hotel is under 5 minutes from the airport. Just walk outside, cross the street and look for the free shuttle with Holiday Inn logo. It has another hotel logo too, so look closely. The rooms are clean and have everything you expect at Holiday Inn, plus there is a beautiful outdoor pool, gym and free breakfast. The staff was excellent with all kinds of help and direction. Going to the bank to change money requires a long line. They will exchange $100 per day for you, plus they accept credit cards for the room and any extras. Local calls are free too. This is a great choice if you are arriving late at SJO airport. Denny's is across the street if you arrive hungry.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear micarooni, thanks for posting such a nice review.
It makes us extremely happy and proud that you enjoyed so much your stay with us and that you found our staff so helpful and accommodating. As you were able to see, there is nothing we want more than to provide our guests the most comfortable and hassle free hotel experience, that way, they can always be sure that we keep our promises and that their satisfaction is always guaranteed.
It was a pleasure having you with us, thank you for choosing us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
Free Parking, M...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
Free Parking, R...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#6 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 389 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#1 of 30 in Alajuela
5.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
Free Parking, M...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Airport Hotel Berlor
Airport Hotel Berlor
#15 of 30 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Address: 1000 Airport Boulevard | next to Juan Santamaria International Airport, Alajuela 95-4003, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Holiday Inn Express Alajuela
Alajuela Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.