We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice! Impressed.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Airport Boulevard | next to Juan Santamaria International Airport, Alajuela 95-4003, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 30 hotels in Alajuela
Leipzig, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent choice! Impressed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We booked this hotel to be as close as possible to the airport for our early morning flight at 7am, since it took us about 6 hrs by Pulmitan from the West coast and there was simply no other option than to spend the night in a hotel.

As IHG Gold member, I booked on points, otherwise this brand would certainly have not been my first choice, considering the experienced low comfort, quality and service in other HI Express in Europe in the past.

This one, however, ticked all points and we were very much surprised about the friendly and very helpful service throughout the short stay, the great choice of amenities in the bathroom and living room like tea/ coffee/ water, the big extremely comfy and cosy bed, which we indeed did not want to leave at 3.30am. We even got a complimentary breakfast bag with banana/ juice/ musli bar/ muffin for takeaway.

The hotel is designed to meet all your needs if you want to feel comfy, welcome and appreciated despite the hurry you might be in.

The airport shuttle operates 24 hrs at any time you are ready to go. It is free and takes you to the airport within 5 minutes. It's almost next door!

The complimentary Wifi might not work well in some hotel rooms further away, however, we could use the PCs in the lobby as we still had to print our tickets.

There is also a pool available, which we only had a swift look at.

Shopping and dining options are also just around the hotel.

This hotel is an excellent choice and we can highly recommend it!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear ComfyBabe, thank you so much for such an awesome review. It makes us very proud to read reviews such as yours and at the same time, we feel very satisfied that we were able to delivered everything we offer and promised as a hotel. We offer the highest quality of services and accommodations and we promise that all your needs are going to be satisfied and that you´ll be surrounded by the most friendly and hospitable atmosphere.
We are extremely happy that from now on your opinion of the Holiday Inns Express in general will have change, because you were able to experience first hand how we strive to make every single guest happy and comfortable during their stay. Another big asset we do have, as you were able to see, is how close we are from the airport, so close that is even less than 1 mile away so it is very convenient for our guests so they can have more time to sleep and rest instead of spending it inside of a car.
We are very glad that your hotel experience with us was much more than what you expected and you can rest assure that every time you come back, you are always going to receive the best accommodations and services we have to offer.
Thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to see you back soon.
Sincerely. Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    163
    37
    12
    11
See reviews for
100
162
32
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is my 2nd trip to Costa Rica and both times I stayed here before my early morning flight. This is probably the cleanest hotel I ever stayed at. Lobby has pc's with printing capabilities, lounge area, coffee and tons of teas. Cute little shop, super clean bathrooms and friendly staff who is willing to go out of their way to make sure you are happy and comfortable. Rooms are big, clean snd cozy. Wifi works great, they do the departure fee at the desk ... stay here, you won't regret it

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Shanna178, thank you for posting your review. It is very rewarding for the entire hotel staff whenever we learn that our guests stay with us everytime they visit the country.
We feel very happy that you enjoyed your stay so much, that you found the rooms super comfortable and clean, that the services that we provide are of your complete satisfaction, and that you found our staff friendly and always willing to do everything to make your stay a total success.
We are always striving to provide our guests with the best hotel experience possible and it makes us feel extremely proud every time our guests leave feeling the way you did.
It has been a pleasure having you and the entire hotel family looks forward to your next visit.
Yours truly, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I picked this airport as we had a red eye flight at 4.00 am and this seemed to be the only hotel that offered a 24 hour shuttle. We arrived very early from La Fortuna and the staff let us check in at 11.00 am which was wonderful. We had a spacious and spotless room with excellent coffee facilities, a massive bed, cable and free international calls.. The bathroom was very big with loads of hot water and toiletries. There was no problem with the shuttle, it took us to the airport as soon as we came to reception and the ride took a matter of minutes. There was a take out breakfast and we also payed our departure fee at reception.
The only downside which is not a fault of the hotel is the lack of decent dining options. We ate in the nearby casino and also Dennys, two truly awful experiences and one of which gave me stomach cramps all the way back to Ireland! It would be worth getting a taxi to somewhere decent to eat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear CatEire, we appreciate you sharing your review. We are very happy that you found our hotel so comfortable, clean and with great services such as the free international phone calls, the payment of the travel tax in the hotel, our complimentary breakfast, ect.
We strive to make our guests feel the way you do whenever they leave because that is what this hotel is all about. It is about providing our guests with everything they need and fancy in order to make their stay with us a wonderful hotel experience.
Eventhough there are not many restaurant options at a walking distance from the hotel, we do offer a free shuttle service that will take you to nearby mall (less than 5 minutes away) which has many different choices of restaurants such as argentinian, japanese, italian, ect. And afterwards the shuttle will pick you up and take you back to the hotel.
Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you again soon.
Best regards, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Fair price for an airport hotel.
Everything works, wi-fi is awesome.
Free shuttle to/from airport works just great.
Complimentary breakfast is good. If you leave very early there's a grab n' go option.
Two restaurants and a cassino in the same parking lot.
You can pay the travel tax at the hotel and avoid long lines in the airport.

Room Tip: Apartments NOT facing the airport are a lot less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Magrisso, thank you for taking the time to write your comments. It makes us very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and found that our services, accommodations and location were of your total satisfaction.
We are always striving to provide ouur guests with the best things we can offer as a hotel, so we appreciate when guests like yourself leave feeling so satisfied. Two of the services we offer which our guests like the most are; that you can pay the travel tax at the hotel instead of making long lines at the airport and the free international phone calls which you can make as many as you want to any place in the world.
Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back again soon.
Your truly, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artesia, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

for those leaving on an early flight out of SJO, this hotel can't be beat.

very close to the airport, there's a denny's and a rosti pollo in the same complex (if you need food and can't drive), and it's a short drive to the international mall and walmart (cheap local snacks, chocolate and coffee).

tips for those renting cars: drop off your rental car the night before your flight out of sjo, ask the rental car company to drop you off at this hotel instead of the airport, and use the free shuttle to the airport the next day to get to sjo. super convenient! they will also provide a to-go breakfast bag for you if you're leaving before 6am. :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Larapanget, thank you for your great comments. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you could see, our location is very convenient because besides from being very close to the airport (less than 1 mile away) we are just a parking lot away from great restaurants and several car rentals. There is also a mall nearby to which we provide free transportation and a supermarket less than 5 minutes away.
It is our duty to provide our guests with the highest quality of services and accommodations so we are always making sure that during their stay, our guests are provided with everything they might need. All of the services we offer are design for the total benefit of our guests´ well being such as the free unlimited international phone calls and the complimentary breakfast ( both, the Express Start and the Grab and Go for guests leaving before 6 a.m.).
Once again, thank you for staying with us and we will look forward to your next stay with us.
Yours truly, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

As an ICH Platinum Ambassador, I found the hotel a great bargain and excellent location being across the street from SJO airport, close to several restaurants and breakfast is free. I had an early morning flight and this option was most suitable. The staff was phenomenal, the rooms were clean the location was a plus. The only area of opportunity is there are only standard rooms at the hotel, which is beyond the staff's control, however something to consider.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear 4lizz2, thank you for sharing your review. We are very pleased to learn that you found our hotel´s services and accommodations were up to your expectations and that also you found that our location is a great asset. It is a great source of motivation for the entire team to know how satisfied you were with our staff´s way of treating our guests, since they are always striving to provide them with the most friendly and helpful environment. That way our guests will know that they can count on our staff for anything they might need.
Our most sincere thanks for staying with us and we all hope to see you again soon.
Yours truly, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Rock hard beds, horrible for sleeping. What IDIOT decided on these beds? REALLY REALLY BAD. I used points to stay here and think I should have them put back in my account! They want to write 200 characters minimum but I have nothing more to say except that I'll never stay here again. You can't sleep on what is board. I lost a night's sleep in this crap hole!

Room Tip: My tip is don't stay here. You can't choose a good room because all the beds are too hard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Andrew4CR, we appreciate that you posted your review because these reviews are very useful sources of information for us since they makes us see how our guests view our services and accommodations.
We regret to learn that you experienced such a sleepless night because of the bed in the room you were given. Here, at the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, we are always doing our best to provide our guests with everything they need to make their stay with us as comfortable and peaceful as possible, that is why we have a Hospitality Promise which we take very seriously and always honor it. Whenever our guests are not satisfied with the acccommodations or services given, we are always willing to do our best to amend it and comply with what they really want so they can be completely satisfied.
We are going to get in touch with you privately so we can learn exactly what happened and get your personal information. Once again, we are very sorry about the uncomfortable situation you experienced because we strive to provide every single guest with the best quality of services and accommodations possible. Thank you for staying with us.
Best Regards, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Address: 1000 Airport Boulevard | next to Juan Santamaria International Airport, Alajuela 95-4003, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Holiday Inn Express Alajuela
Alajuela Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.