We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent airport hotel at a fair price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Airport Boulevard | next to Juan Santamaria International Airport, Alajuela 95-4003, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent airport hotel at a fair price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Fair price for an airport hotel.
Everything works, wi-fi is awesome.
Free shuttle to/from airport works just great.
Complimentary breakfast is good. If you leave very early there's a grab n' go option.
Two restaurants and a cassino in the same parking lot.
You can pay the travel tax at the hotel and avoid long lines in the airport.

Room Tip: Apartments NOT facing the airport are a lot less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Magrisso, thank you for taking the time to write your comments. It makes us very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and found that our services, accommodations and location were of your total satisfaction.
We are always striving to provide ouur guests with the best things we can offer as a hotel, so we appreciate when guests like yourself leave feeling so satisfied. Two of the services we offer which our guests like the most are; that you can pay the travel tax at the hotel instead of making long lines at the airport and the free international phone calls which you can make as many as you want to any place in the world.
Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back again soon.
Your truly, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    208
    45
    18
    13
See reviews for
130
206
45
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Artesia, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

for those leaving on an early flight out of SJO, this hotel can't be beat.

very close to the airport, there's a denny's and a rosti pollo in the same complex (if you need food and can't drive), and it's a short drive to the international mall and walmart (cheap local snacks, chocolate and coffee).

tips for those renting cars: drop off your rental car the night before your flight out of sjo, ask the rental car company to drop you off at this hotel instead of the airport, and use the free shuttle to the airport the next day to get to sjo. super convenient! they will also provide a to-go breakfast bag for you if you're leaving before 6am. :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Larapanget, thank you for your great comments. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you could see, our location is very convenient because besides from being very close to the airport (less than 1 mile away) we are just a parking lot away from great restaurants and several car rentals. There is also a mall nearby to which we provide free transportation and a supermarket less than 5 minutes away.
It is our duty to provide our guests with the highest quality of services and accommodations so we are always making sure that during their stay, our guests are provided with everything they might need. All of the services we offer are design for the total benefit of our guests´ well being such as the free unlimited international phone calls and the complimentary breakfast ( both, the Express Start and the Grab and Go for guests leaving before 6 a.m.).
Once again, thank you for staying with us and we will look forward to your next stay with us.
Yours truly, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

As an ICH Platinum Ambassador, I found the hotel a great bargain and excellent location being across the street from SJO airport, close to several restaurants and breakfast is free. I had an early morning flight and this option was most suitable. The staff was phenomenal, the rooms were clean the location was a plus. The only area of opportunity is there are only standard rooms at the hotel, which is beyond the staff's control, however something to consider.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear 4lizz2, thank you for sharing your review. We are very pleased to learn that you found our hotel´s services and accommodations were up to your expectations and that also you found that our location is a great asset. It is a great source of motivation for the entire team to know how satisfied you were with our staff´s way of treating our guests, since they are always striving to provide them with the most friendly and helpful environment. That way our guests will know that they can count on our staff for anything they might need.
Our most sincere thanks for staying with us and we all hope to see you again soon.
Yours truly, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Rock hard beds, horrible for sleeping. What IDIOT decided on these beds? REALLY REALLY BAD. I used points to stay here and think I should have them put back in my account! They want to write 200 characters minimum but I have nothing more to say except that I'll never stay here again. You can't sleep on what is board. I lost a night's sleep in this crap hole!

Room Tip: My tip is don't stay here. You can't choose a good room because all the beds are too hard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Andrew4CR, we appreciate that you posted your review because these reviews are very useful sources of information for us since they makes us see how our guests view our services and accommodations.
We regret to learn that you experienced such a sleepless night because of the bed in the room you were given. Here, at the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, we are always doing our best to provide our guests with everything they need to make their stay with us as comfortable and peaceful as possible, that is why we have a Hospitality Promise which we take very seriously and always honor it. Whenever our guests are not satisfied with the acccommodations or services given, we are always willing to do our best to amend it and comply with what they really want so they can be completely satisfied.
We are going to get in touch with you privately so we can learn exactly what happened and get your personal information. Once again, we are very sorry about the uncomfortable situation you experienced because we strive to provide every single guest with the best quality of services and accommodations possible. Thank you for staying with us.
Best Regards, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed here the last day of my fabulous Costa Rica trip August 11th. I had a 7am flight the next morning. I requested a early check in with my prepaid reservation. I arrived at 8 am from Playa Hermosa about 2.5 hours to San Jose. I was told by the front desk person, that I am the first on the list. I waited until 1:30 pm .I had to go to the front desk on many occasions to get updates. Bear in mind the hotel is very far away from anything but; the airport, casino, Denny's and other hotels. I took a cab to the mall for 2 hours,and had breakfast to no avail I waited for many hours in the lobby. I was provided a towel and told I could wait by the pool ,although it was raining. Not until I requested a refund, so I could get a reservation at another hotel. I was informed that my room was ready. Which was a double bed i reserved a king ,by the freeway and noisy. Not a good experience with Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear traciemacau, we appreciate that you took your time to write this review. We take our guests´ comments very seriously since they are the ones that provides us with the necessary feedback for us to see the areas that need improving.
First of all, we wil like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We understand that you had to wait many hours to get your room. Early check ins are given according to the hotel´s availability; the hotel´s check ins are at 2:00 p.m., and the check outs are at 12:00 p.m. If the hotel is full, we cannot do anything but wait until the guests check out and the maids finish cleaning up the room to have them ready for the other guests to check in . We are really sorry and we wish we could have given you the room as soon as you arrived, but sometimes some things are beyond our control. Our duty is to provide all of our guests with the highest quality of service and we do strive to achieve it, but as I wrote before, sometimes it is not up to us.
We gave you a double bed room when you had reserved a king because it was the only room available at the time, and we didnt want to make you wait any longer.
Since the hotel was built so close to the airport, special materials were used to isolate the building from any incoming sounds in order to provide our guests with the rest and comfort they expect and deserve. Once again, we are very sorry for your inconvenience. Thank you for staying with us.
Best Regards, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
153 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We arrived at the hotel without reservations and the staff was most kind, accommodating and helpful during our short stay in San Jose Costa Rica. Having only a few hours to spend, we inquired about tours, visit to the downtown area, etc., and the concierge quickly came up with a plan to call a taxi who charged us by the hour and took us for a drive to the downtown area, the arts and crafts market, a wonderful typical restaurant and to local parks, shopping mall and residential area. All together we spent 3 delightful hours enjoying the city.
We had an early flight and the to-go breakfast bag was most welcome! I do recommend this hotel for anyone who is taking an early flight and/or like us, is on a short stop over.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Laura L, thank you for writing such wonderful comments about our hotel and staff. We are very glad that you found our staff so helpful during your short stay. We always go above and beyond to ensure that our guests are treated as they deserve because one of our main goals is to provide great costumer service.
It is also nice to learn that you liked our Grab and Go Breakfast, because sometimes, between the time you get to the airport and the time the airplane departs, there is not enough time to get something to eat and it takes too long to wait until the plane serves their breakfast so this Grab and Go Breakfastt is a favorite of all our guests.
Once again, thank you for the amazing things you have said about our staff members and we all hope that you come back soon.
Yours Truly, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express near the San Jose Airport does an excellent job catering to travelers with early flights. We stayed just the one night and had a 6am flight the next morning, so we were told to be at the airport by around 3am. The hotel has a free airport shuttle that runs 24 hours a day every 10 minutes or so. When we went out front with our bags at 3am, the driver was there with the van. It is a very short trip to the airport, only a few minutes. Even though the free breakfast doesn't start until 6am, they leave out brown bags with a banana, muffin, bar and juice box so you can have a snack at the airport. Very thoughtful and the banana and muffin were both very good. You can make FREE international calls from your room (a nice little perk) and they actually have a very nice outdoor pool (it was raining, so we didn't have a chance to use it). They have computers in the lobby you can use for free, including to print boarding passes. The room itself was simple, but clean and comfortable. No complaints at all and I highly recommend staying there is you want a place close to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear MB1969Traveler, thank you very much for sharing such a nice review. It makes us feel very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and was so pleased with the services and accommodations that we offer.
It was a shame that you were not able to use the swimming pool because it was raining, but perhaps the weather will be much better the next time you visit us. We are also glad the Grab and Go Breakfast we offer to those guests departing very early in the morning, because as you you wrote before, it is nice to have a snack while waiting at the airport.
Here, at the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, we do our best to provide our guests with great comfort and the best service, so it makes us feel very proud when our guests appreciate them. Thank you for staying with us, we will love to see you back again soon.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Airport Hotel Berlor
Airport Hotel Berlor
#15 of 31 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
3.5 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,812 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#8 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Address: 1000 Airport Boulevard | next to Juan Santamaria International Airport, Alajuela 95-4003, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Holiday Inn Express Alajuela
Alajuela Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.