We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to the USA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Airport Boulevard | next to Juan Santamaria International Airport, Alajuela 95-4003, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Return to the USA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

As an ICH Platinum Ambassador, I found the hotel a great bargain and excellent location being across the street from SJO airport, close to several restaurants and breakfast is free. I had an early morning flight and this option was most suitable. The staff was phenomenal, the rooms were clean the location was a plus. The only area of opportunity is there are only standard rooms at the hotel, which is beyond the staff's control, however something to consider.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear 4lizz2, thank you for sharing your review. We are very pleased to learn that you found our hotel´s services and accommodations were up to your expectations and that also you found that our location is a great asset. It is a great source of motivation for the entire team to know how satisfied you were with our staff´s way of treating our guests, since they are always striving to provide them with the most friendly and helpful environment. That way our guests will know that they can count on our staff for anything they might need.
Our most sincere thanks for staying with us and we all hope to see you again soon.
Yours truly, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    166
    37
    13
    12
See reviews for
101
166
33
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Rock hard beds, horrible for sleeping. What IDIOT decided on these beds? REALLY REALLY BAD. I used points to stay here and think I should have them put back in my account! They want to write 200 characters minimum but I have nothing more to say except that I'll never stay here again. You can't sleep on what is board. I lost a night's sleep in this crap hole!

Room Tip: My tip is don't stay here. You can't choose a good room because all the beds are too hard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Andrew4CR, we appreciate that you posted your review because these reviews are very useful sources of information for us since they makes us see how our guests view our services and accommodations.
We regret to learn that you experienced such a sleepless night because of the bed in the room you were given. Here, at the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, we are always doing our best to provide our guests with everything they need to make their stay with us as comfortable and peaceful as possible, that is why we have a Hospitality Promise which we take very seriously and always honor it. Whenever our guests are not satisfied with the acccommodations or services given, we are always willing to do our best to amend it and comply with what they really want so they can be completely satisfied.
We are going to get in touch with you privately so we can learn exactly what happened and get your personal information. Once again, we are very sorry about the uncomfortable situation you experienced because we strive to provide every single guest with the best quality of services and accommodations possible. Thank you for staying with us.
Best Regards, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed here the last day of my fabulous Costa Rica trip August 11th. I had a 7am flight the next morning. I requested a early check in with my prepaid reservation. I arrived at 8 am from Playa Hermosa about 2.5 hours to San Jose. I was told by the front desk person, that I am the first on the list. I waited until 1:30 pm .I had to go to the front desk on many occasions to get updates. Bear in mind the hotel is very far away from anything but; the airport, casino, Denny's and other hotels. I took a cab to the mall for 2 hours,and had breakfast to no avail I waited for many hours in the lobby. I was provided a towel and told I could wait by the pool ,although it was raining. Not until I requested a refund, so I could get a reservation at another hotel. I was informed that my room was ready. Which was a double bed i reserved a king ,by the freeway and noisy. Not a good experience with Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear traciemacau, we appreciate that you took your time to write this review. We take our guests´ comments very seriously since they are the ones that provides us with the necessary feedback for us to see the areas that need improving.
First of all, we wil like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We understand that you had to wait many hours to get your room. Early check ins are given according to the hotel´s availability; the hotel´s check ins are at 2:00 p.m., and the check outs are at 12:00 p.m. If the hotel is full, we cannot do anything but wait until the guests check out and the maids finish cleaning up the room to have them ready for the other guests to check in . We are really sorry and we wish we could have given you the room as soon as you arrived, but sometimes some things are beyond our control. Our duty is to provide all of our guests with the highest quality of service and we do strive to achieve it, but as I wrote before, sometimes it is not up to us.
We gave you a double bed room when you had reserved a king because it was the only room available at the time, and we didnt want to make you wait any longer.
Since the hotel was built so close to the airport, special materials were used to isolate the building from any incoming sounds in order to provide our guests with the rest and comfort they expect and deserve. Once again, we are very sorry for your inconvenience. Thank you for staying with us.
Best Regards, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We arrived at the hotel without reservations and the staff was most kind, accommodating and helpful during our short stay in San Jose Costa Rica. Having only a few hours to spend, we inquired about tours, visit to the downtown area, etc., and the concierge quickly came up with a plan to call a taxi who charged us by the hour and took us for a drive to the downtown area, the arts and crafts market, a wonderful typical restaurant and to local parks, shopping mall and residential area. All together we spent 3 delightful hours enjoying the city.
We had an early flight and the to-go breakfast bag was most welcome! I do recommend this hotel for anyone who is taking an early flight and/or like us, is on a short stop over.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Laura L, thank you for writing such wonderful comments about our hotel and staff. We are very glad that you found our staff so helpful during your short stay. We always go above and beyond to ensure that our guests are treated as they deserve because one of our main goals is to provide great costumer service.
It is also nice to learn that you liked our Grab and Go Breakfast, because sometimes, between the time you get to the airport and the time the airplane departs, there is not enough time to get something to eat and it takes too long to wait until the plane serves their breakfast so this Grab and Go Breakfastt is a favorite of all our guests.
Once again, thank you for the amazing things you have said about our staff members and we all hope that you come back soon.
Yours Truly, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express near the San Jose Airport does an excellent job catering to travelers with early flights. We stayed just the one night and had a 6am flight the next morning, so we were told to be at the airport by around 3am. The hotel has a free airport shuttle that runs 24 hours a day every 10 minutes or so. When we went out front with our bags at 3am, the driver was there with the van. It is a very short trip to the airport, only a few minutes. Even though the free breakfast doesn't start until 6am, they leave out brown bags with a banana, muffin, bar and juice box so you can have a snack at the airport. Very thoughtful and the banana and muffin were both very good. You can make FREE international calls from your room (a nice little perk) and they actually have a very nice outdoor pool (it was raining, so we didn't have a chance to use it). They have computers in the lobby you can use for free, including to print boarding passes. The room itself was simple, but clean and comfortable. No complaints at all and I highly recommend staying there is you want a place close to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear MB1969Traveler, thank you very much for sharing such a nice review. It makes us feel very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and was so pleased with the services and accommodations that we offer.
It was a shame that you were not able to use the swimming pool because it was raining, but perhaps the weather will be much better the next time you visit us. We are also glad the Grab and Go Breakfast we offer to those guests departing very early in the morning, because as you you wrote before, it is nice to have a snack while waiting at the airport.
Here, at the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, we do our best to provide our guests with great comfort and the best service, so it makes us feel very proud when our guests appreciate them. Thank you for staying with us, we will love to see you back again soon.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here on our last night in Costa Rica. We did not spend any time at all in San Jose. This hotel is really nice, and clean. Friendly staff. The rooms were nice and clean, beds comfortable. The décor of the hotel is beautiful and inviting. They offered free shuttle service to the airport, which was really convenient, especially since we had to be at the airport really early in the morning. Also, we paid our exiting tax here at the hotel. I hear it's more expensive to do that at the hotel versus the airport, but definitely more convenient to get it done. They had a business center if you want to use their computers and printers to print out your airline passes. Also, free international phone calls...who does that? That was a definite plus, as I had not spoken to my family in 10 days. There are a few restaurants across the street from the hotel, such as a Dennys and some others, which was nice. The hotel told us NOT to walk on the streets at night, as it was too dangerous. They said if we wanted to go anywhere in the city, they would take us and drop us off, and then pick us back up. We didn't go anywhere that night, so we didn't use that service. We would definitely stay here again if we needed to, but I'm not sure I'd stay here to visit San Jose. BTW, the driver's are crazy in this town. They drive on the wrong side of the two lane streets to pass you up, they don't stop at stop signs, and watch out for the buses, they are just as bad. One thing was that the night receptionist told us we would get a breakfast to go early in the AM, because we wouldn't be there for the free breakfast, and when I inquired about it in the AM, they said it was not available.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear rvrratjill, thank you for posting such a nice review, and sharing your experience with us. Here, at the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, our duty is to provide our guests with the most comfortable accommodations and to fulfill all of their needs and requests.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the services the hotel offers, it is our job to make our guests feel right at home.
We apologize for the Grab and Go Breakfast, we are going to contact you privately so you can tell us exactly the date and time this happened so we can take the necessary actions to ensure that it never happens again. As you can see in our advertisings, the Grab and Go Breakfast is a very important part of the services this hotel provides and we never want to leave our guests down with one of our services. Thank you for choosing us and we will be waiting for your next visit. Yours Truly, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The service was very good. Airconditioning worked well. Rooms were somewhat small but cozy and comfortable. The queen bed I slept on was more firm actually hard than I like and it affected good sleep. Otherwise all was OK including the bag breakfast they had ready for an early morning flight.

Room Tip: Ask about the firmness of the beds before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Frtizt, thank you for posting your review. It is very important for us to know our clients´ point of views regarding the services and accommodations we provide and what they really expect.
We are very glad to hear that you found your room cozy and comfortable and that our services were of your liking, but we are also sorry that you found that the mattress of your bed affected your sleep. Next time you come, if you are not satisfied with the mattress in your room, please contact the front desk and our staff will be more than happy to change you to a room with a mattress of your liking. Remember that our goal is to provide our guests with the highest quality of comfort and service, so we will be more than happy to oblige to your every need.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you visit us again soon.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Address: 1000 Airport Boulevard | next to Juan Santamaria International Airport, Alajuela 95-4003, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Holiday Inn Express Alajuela
Alajuela Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.