We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Airport Boulevard | next to Juan Santamaria International Airport, Alajuela 95-4003, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Green Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We arrived at the hotel without reservations and the staff was most kind, accommodating and helpful during our short stay in San Jose Costa Rica. Having only a few hours to spend, we inquired about tours, visit to the downtown area, etc., and the concierge quickly came up with a plan to call a taxi who charged us by the hour and took us for a drive to the downtown area, the arts and crafts market, a wonderful typical restaurant and to local parks, shopping mall and residential area. All together we spent 3 delightful hours enjoying the city.
We had an early flight and the to-go breakfast bag was most welcome! I do recommend this hotel for anyone who is taking an early flight and/or like us, is on a short stop over.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Laura L, thank you for writing such wonderful comments about our hotel and staff. We are very glad that you found our staff so helpful during your short stay. We always go above and beyond to ensure that our guests are treated as they deserve because one of our main goals is to provide great costumer service.
It is also nice to learn that you liked our Grab and Go Breakfast, because sometimes, between the time you get to the airport and the time the airplane departs, there is not enough time to get something to eat and it takes too long to wait until the plane serves their breakfast so this Grab and Go Breakfastt is a favorite of all our guests.
Once again, thank you for the amazing things you have said about our staff members and we all hope that you come back soon.
Yours Truly, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    166
    37
    13
    12
See reviews for
101
166
33
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express near the San Jose Airport does an excellent job catering to travelers with early flights. We stayed just the one night and had a 6am flight the next morning, so we were told to be at the airport by around 3am. The hotel has a free airport shuttle that runs 24 hours a day every 10 minutes or so. When we went out front with our bags at 3am, the driver was there with the van. It is a very short trip to the airport, only a few minutes. Even though the free breakfast doesn't start until 6am, they leave out brown bags with a banana, muffin, bar and juice box so you can have a snack at the airport. Very thoughtful and the banana and muffin were both very good. You can make FREE international calls from your room (a nice little perk) and they actually have a very nice outdoor pool (it was raining, so we didn't have a chance to use it). They have computers in the lobby you can use for free, including to print boarding passes. The room itself was simple, but clean and comfortable. No complaints at all and I highly recommend staying there is you want a place close to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear MB1969Traveler, thank you very much for sharing such a nice review. It makes us feel very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and was so pleased with the services and accommodations that we offer.
It was a shame that you were not able to use the swimming pool because it was raining, but perhaps the weather will be much better the next time you visit us. We are also glad the Grab and Go Breakfast we offer to those guests departing very early in the morning, because as you you wrote before, it is nice to have a snack while waiting at the airport.
Here, at the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, we do our best to provide our guests with great comfort and the best service, so it makes us feel very proud when our guests appreciate them. Thank you for staying with us, we will love to see you back again soon.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here on our last night in Costa Rica. We did not spend any time at all in San Jose. This hotel is really nice, and clean. Friendly staff. The rooms were nice and clean, beds comfortable. The décor of the hotel is beautiful and inviting. They offered free shuttle service to the airport, which was really convenient, especially since we had to be at the airport really early in the morning. Also, we paid our exiting tax here at the hotel. I hear it's more expensive to do that at the hotel versus the airport, but definitely more convenient to get it done. They had a business center if you want to use their computers and printers to print out your airline passes. Also, free international phone calls...who does that? That was a definite plus, as I had not spoken to my family in 10 days. There are a few restaurants across the street from the hotel, such as a Dennys and some others, which was nice. The hotel told us NOT to walk on the streets at night, as it was too dangerous. They said if we wanted to go anywhere in the city, they would take us and drop us off, and then pick us back up. We didn't go anywhere that night, so we didn't use that service. We would definitely stay here again if we needed to, but I'm not sure I'd stay here to visit San Jose. BTW, the driver's are crazy in this town. They drive on the wrong side of the two lane streets to pass you up, they don't stop at stop signs, and watch out for the buses, they are just as bad. One thing was that the night receptionist told us we would get a breakfast to go early in the AM, because we wouldn't be there for the free breakfast, and when I inquired about it in the AM, they said it was not available.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear rvrratjill, thank you for posting such a nice review, and sharing your experience with us. Here, at the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, our duty is to provide our guests with the most comfortable accommodations and to fulfill all of their needs and requests.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the services the hotel offers, it is our job to make our guests feel right at home.
We apologize for the Grab and Go Breakfast, we are going to contact you privately so you can tell us exactly the date and time this happened so we can take the necessary actions to ensure that it never happens again. As you can see in our advertisings, the Grab and Go Breakfast is a very important part of the services this hotel provides and we never want to leave our guests down with one of our services. Thank you for choosing us and we will be waiting for your next visit. Yours Truly, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The service was very good. Airconditioning worked well. Rooms were somewhat small but cozy and comfortable. The queen bed I slept on was more firm actually hard than I like and it affected good sleep. Otherwise all was OK including the bag breakfast they had ready for an early morning flight.

Room Tip: Ask about the firmness of the beds before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Frtizt, thank you for posting your review. It is very important for us to know our clients´ point of views regarding the services and accommodations we provide and what they really expect.
We are very glad to hear that you found your room cozy and comfortable and that our services were of your liking, but we are also sorry that you found that the mattress of your bed affected your sleep. Next time you come, if you are not satisfied with the mattress in your room, please contact the front desk and our staff will be more than happy to change you to a room with a mattress of your liking. Remember that our goal is to provide our guests with the highest quality of comfort and service, so we will be more than happy to oblige to your every need.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you visit us again soon.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed in this hotel the first and the last night of our trip in Costa Rica.
We were worried about the noise of the planes, but the location of the hotel was exellent and we decided to go there. Finally, all was OK! I didn't hear the planes during the night.
The first night we slept in a king size bed, very comfortable and the last night, we had two queen size beds, so after the 15 days trip, we were wrap in cotton!
The breakfast is the worst thing... just some cereals, toasts, scrambled eggs and some tropical fruits.
I want to give a special mention of the receptionists. They are all very friendly and helpful. Just ask them... they will give you lots of tips about Costa Rica.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear AnnaPetita, we really appreciate that you took your time to write this review. Our guests´ comments are very important to us because they give us our clients´point of views regarding our service and what they expect to receive when they choose to stay with us.
We are sorry that our breakfast was not up to your expectations and we were astonished to learn about the small breakfast selection that you mentioned. Usually our breakfasts consist of at least 3 different kind of cereals, yogurt, scrambled eggs, different kinds of breakfast sausages and bacon, assorted pastry ( both salty and sweet), hard boiled eggs, french toasts, croissants, assorted seasonal fruit, hash browns, cream cheese and marmalade, and gallo pinto ( a typical Costa Rican dish consisting of rice and beans). You can be sure that your comments are going to be shared withour brand standard team.
Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward seeing you soon.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed in 6 hotels while touring Costa Rica and found this hotel to be the best value, best service and cleanest. The beds were a bit hard and the air conditioner made a bit of noise but besides that it was clean and staff was nice. Costa Rica is NOT cheap for those that think it may be. It is comparable to the US prices on food and lodging. You are not told this when buying your plane tickets but there is a $29 charge for each person when you leave Costa Rica and must be paid before you get your tickets so you need extra time at airport to pay.

Room Tip: If they have nicer beds you may want to choose softer option as they are hard as a brick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear TurtlePookie, thank you for your review; we really appreciate all of our guests´ comments. It makes us very proud when our guests find our services and accommodations as good or better than what they were expecting, specially when they compare us to the other hotels in which they stayed during their visit.
Just so you know, the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport has an airport kiosk inside the hotel where guests can pay the tax fee before they leave to the airport. That way, you don´t have to waste important time making long lines at the airport to pay that fee.
We take the comfort of our guests very seriously, so be sure that your comments about the mattresses will be taken into account.
Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you back soon.
Yours Truly, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

OK, so it's a Holiday Inn, so we know what to expect. Comfortable and friendly staff. Breakfast OK and they'll give you a packed breakfast for very early flights. Close to the terminal with a bus to pick you up.
Murdoch Ferguson

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Mur007, thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are very happy that you found our accommodations so comfortable and our staff so friendly. It is a great source of motivation for us whenever our guests appreciate the services we provide.
As part of the Holiday Inn Express family, it is our main goal to provide the highest quality of product for all of our guests so you can always be sure that when you stay with us you are always going to get the best experience possible.
Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you the next time you visit Costa Rica.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Address: 1000 Airport Boulevard | next to Juan Santamaria International Airport, Alajuela 95-4003, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Holiday Inn Express Alajuela
Alajuela Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.