We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Airport Boulevard | next to Juan Santamaria International Airport, Alajuela 95-4003, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great location for airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel could not be any closer to the airport unless it was in the airport. It is a perfect place to begin and end your trip, which is what we did. The free shuttle is efficient, the front desk staff are very helpful and nice and the hotel itself is very clean. The breakfast is very good and even has gallo pinto, so you get your typical Tico breakfast here. On our arrival night we had two nice rooms right across the hall from each other. On our departure night we were several rooms down, which I didn't like and the mattresses were SO much harder. The beds on our second stay actually hurt my husband's back. We were in room 213. Rosti Pollo isn't a bad dinner option. I wanted to walk farther to try something else but with three kids in tow I didn't want to on the busy road. My kids also enjoyed the pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear lenzy484, we appreciate you taking your time to post your comments since they are extremely valuable to us because they help us improve our service.
We are very happy that you liked our complimentary Express Start Breakfast,( specially our ¨Gallo Pinto¨ ) since it enables you to try some of our regional culinary delights; and that your kids enjoyed the pool so much. Your happiness is a great source of motivation for us.
We are sorry that your husband hurt his back on your second stay and we apologize for the inconvenience. We appreciate that you specified the room number so we can take the necessary action to target that problem.
Thank you for choosing us and we hope that you stay with us the next time you come to Costa Rica.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    192
    42
    14
    12
See reviews for
112
195
37
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Overall the hotel was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was good. Staff was friendly and helpul. The free airport shuttle was greatly appreciated. Perfect for late night flights into SJO since it was a quick shuttle ride from airport exit to hotel entrance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear j082aj, thank you for your comments. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport. Such candid reviews make us feel extremely proud since we strive for our guests to have total comfort and satisfaction.
Our shuttles to and from the airport take about 5 minutes since the hotel is less than 1 mile away from the airport. The shuttles leave the hotel every 15 minutes the 24 hours of the day, making it easier for our guests to get a little more sleep and rest before leaving.
Once again, thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure having you and we hope that you come back soon.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were just looking for a decent room near the airport for a night before we flew out at the end of our vacation. Holiday Inn Express had everything we needed and a pool. The rental car place was close and easy to return our car to. The shuttle to the airport was timely and efficient. The bagged breakfast in the morning was helpful since we had to leave so early the continental breakfast wasn't out yet. Overall, a great way to end our trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear timandmal, thank you for your comments. There is nothing we like more here at the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport than to fulfill our guest´s expectations and provide an excellent service.
One of our best features is the hotel´s location, less than 1 mile from the airport and surrounded but great restaurants (Denny´s, Rostipollos and The Pirate Bar& Restaurant) and major car rentals.
We are also very glad that our complimentary Grab and Go Breakfast was of your liking since we know that on early flight departures our guests sometimes do not have enough time to eat or that the flights are so early that our Express Start Breakfast has not been served and you have to eat something before the airplane takes off.
Once again, thank you for choosing us and we expect you back soon.
Yours Truly, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Used points to stay for a night at the end of a 10 day trip. Room was clean, comfortable and had air conditioning (very welcome). Free shuttle to airport takes 5 minutes and breakfast to-go is set out for early morning departures. We had pizza and beer at the Pirates Bar in the Fiesta Casino (half price on Sunday!) for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Pbc315, we appreciate you feedback and are very happy about being able to fulfill your expectations of your stay here with us at the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport. To provide our guests with total satisfaction is our main goal and your comments assures us that we are doing our job properly.
As you mentioned before, our free shuttle service is every 15 min. 24 hrs. a day and the ride is only about 5 min. since the airport is less than 1 mile away, so our guests get to sleep more than if they stayed farther away.
The Pirate Bar& Restaurant in the Casino Fiesta is open every day of the week ( Denny´s Restaurant next door to the Casino Fiesta is open everyday too) and the guests can either go there, or if they don´t want to go out, the order can be deliver to the hotel room ( the same as Denny´s).
Once again, thank you very much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Got in after a long flight. I was told that someone will wait for me at the airport holding a sign with my name, but this didn't happen... So the people at the airport that try to "help" anyone who just arrived directed me to the very close shuttle and then said they are working for tips... Oh well. Just ignore them and cross the road to wait for the shuttle. The shuttle is free and it takes about 5 minutes at most to get to the hotel. It runs quite frequently.
The hotel is clean and the facilities are very good (by any standards). Staff is very friendly (although the concierge did not provide any useful advise that you would expect from an expert - but he was extremely nice). Breakfast was very good.
I would recommend getting a room that faces the pool and not the road.

Room Tip: I would recommend getting a room that faces the pool and not the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Antonio H, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear WhiteSlope,

First, thank you for the two important situations that you are reporting.

Your reports are very important to us in order to verify our procedures and correct what we need to, to reach our most important goal: Your satisfaction! by delivering our promises all the time.

We apologize for the inconvenience that you had at the airport. Being an Airport Hotel, having an executive waiting for you when we arrange it before and our shuttle service, is one of our most important benefits that our guests that are arriving to a different country expect. For sure we´ll verify our procedures in order to improve, same as your comment about our concierge: as you say our guest should have an expert who can help them get information, find places, offer suggestions, etc. We will also work harder on this issue.

I would like to contact you directly in order to get more information about these two situations, if you agree please send me an email with your contact at: jpaniagua@gmhiex.net



Best regards,

Jorge Paniagua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
playa tamarindo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Great hotel near the airport with free shuttle. It is also located next to Denny's, the pick up location for Interbus and Grayline shuttles to destinations throughout Costa Rica. Rooms are nice and comforatble, free breakfast is great with typical Costa Rican dishes. Staff is very friendly and helpfull. Just be carefull when you book online via the HI Express website, the advertised price is based on single occupancy even if you searched for 2 people in the room. There is a surcharge for the 2nd person in the room. Apart from that, would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Antonio H, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Mr./Mrs. K_K_TNO,

We appreciate your comments about your experience in our facilities.

We understand that when you travel, our guests look for a brand that delivers memorable experiences, excellent quality in service and product and of course consistency according at their expectations.

About the reservation issue, We would like to recommend that when you reserve trough our Web Site, if you have more than one person in the same room, at the bottom of the Single Rate, a text will appear with the rate for extra persons in the same room, same as the rest of the Intercontinental hotels. Hope this helps our customers to have accurate information about rates.

Thank you again for your important feedback, it helps us to improve our service everyday!



Jorge Paniagua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Normally a Holiday Inn in the US would not be at the top of my list, but this location definitely changed my perception of the chain. My husband and I had a one night stay in the hotel after a long day of travel from Peru. My husband thought it would be best to just stay near the airport instead of going to a hotel directly in the city since we were leaving early to drive to Limon the next day, he was right. We were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff at the front desk. Our room was clean and comfortable, just what we needed after an exhausting day of travel. One of the best amenities at this particular Holiday Inn was the fact that they offered free calls to the States. That was HUGE for us because we had been traveling for a week through South America and hadn't really been able to check in with our family in the US. I loved the bed, we had a great night's sleep. The complimentary breakfast was very satisfying and just what we needed before we hit the road. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Antonio H, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear kdl19,

Thank you very much for your valuable comments.

It Is nice to hear that our guests get a nice rest and enjoy their stay in our facilities! Some people might think that the noise of the airplaines will affect their night sleep, for being right in front of the aiport, your comments confirm that this do not happen.

One of the most important benefits are the Unlimited International and Local Calls, to keep in touch with family, work and friends.

We´ll be glad to have you soon as our guest and happy you now have a different and positive opinion about our brand.


Regards,

Jorge Paniagua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Address: 1000 Airport Boulevard | next to Juan Santamaria International Airport, Alajuela 95-4003, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Holiday Inn Express Alajuela
Alajuela Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.