We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and awesome customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Airport Boulevard | next to Juan Santamaria International Airport, Alajuela 95-4003, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very clean and awesome customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My husband and I just stayed here last night after flying into Costa Rica. I am giving it an excellent rating not because it is the most luxurious hotel, but because the customer service here is wonderful. The room was very clean and comfortable. Beds were firmer than I am used to, but were in good shape with lots of pillows and clean linens. The free breakfast was very tasty and had quite a few options including eggs, sausage, potatoes, fruit and many bagel, bread pastry choices. The attendant was very friendly and helpful. The real star of this hotel, though, is the front desk attendant, Fabian. Muchas gracias to him for being a phenomenal help to us! We bombarded the poor man with so many questions about restaurants, shuttles, money,etc and he was consistently helpful with a wonderful attitude and big smile. He was so friendly and we truly enjoyed talking with him. He even changed out a very large colones bill with smaller ones for us and explained where to use larger bills and smaller ones (restaurants versus roadside stands, etc.). I wish our hotel workers in the U.S. were half as helpful and friendly as Fabian! Another lovely surprise was that the Denny's next to the hotel turned out to be a great choice to grab a late night snack. Ordinarily, I avoid Denny's at all costs, but this one was cleaner than anything you'll find in the States. Our server was incredible, so helpful, friendly, prompt, everything you hope for in a server. And the food was definitely better than any Denny's I've been in. We were so thankful to have found such a great hotel to stay at after an extremely LONG day of traveling. I most definitely would recommend this hotel to anyone flying into or out of Costa Rica. And I hope you get the chance to meet Fabian!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Kazmo77, we appreciate you taking your time to write these comments. When guests leave our hotel feeling the way you expressed in your review, it makes us feel that we have accomplished our ultimate goal which is to give you our best service.
We are very happy that you enjoyed our hotel and that you were satisfied with our Express Start breakfast which offers such a variety of options.
As you could see, Denny´s is open 24 hours a day and if you wish to stay in your room, they will gladly deliver your order without any extra charge.
Thank you very much for choosing us and we hope that you visit us again soon.
Yours Truly, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    171
    38
    13
    12
See reviews for
102
172
33
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kensington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed here one night...well if you can call it that since we left at 3:15am. We stayed at the Holiday Inn due to its proximity to the airport, I don't think you can get much closer. We knew that we weren't going to do anything but sleep that so this was an excellent option.
The Holiday Inn is very clean and seems fairly new. The rooms are tight on space but not too bad. The night we were there they were full but it was still pretty quiet.
In the morning when we were leaving they had a table full of "to go" bags for breakfast. It was just a muffin, fruit, and juice but certainly a nice touch. The staff were friendly and helpful...perhaps not as much as we had experienced in other areas but still nice.
They offer a service for paying departure tax at the hotel to avoid lines at the airport. It was an additional $4 per person so I took advantage of it. At 4am the airport was pretty quiet so it probably wasn't necessary.
Good hotel if you just need to be close to the airport for a night (or part of one).

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Mike_D90, thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. We are very happy that your brief stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport was of your liking.
As you could see, eventhough we are less than 1 mile from the airport, our rooms are able to provide our guests with a peaceful and comfortable stay. We are also very glad that you liked our "to go" breakfast bags since we know that sometimes our guests have to leave the hotel very early and need something to eat before their airplane departs.
Once again thank you and we hope to have you stay with us again in the future.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here the night before we flew out and it was very nice. Hotel is clean and nice, the little pool is much nicer then I expected for a hotel pool - the kids enjoyed it. There are a couple of restaurants basically in the same parking lot so you don't need to have a car or overspend on dinner. Breakfast was included and was very generous. Gallo pinto - yum! And the shuttle to the airport was clean and timely. Would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear kateandevesmom, thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Here, at the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, we strive each day to make each and every guest happy by providing everything they need to make their experience as comfortable as possible. When guests leave our hotel with a smile on their faces, we know that our efforts to provide a great service have been accomplished.
Our complimentary Express Start Breakfast is very satisfying since it offers a variety of options, including some typical dishes from the region. Also, some of the restaurants near the hotel such as Denny´s and The Pirate Bar&Restaurant in the Casino Fiesta can deliver your orders to your room is you don´t want to go out.
Once again, thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you soon.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Cordial welcome by the front desk team! Clean room! Coffee in the room! Excellent high speed access to the internet. Variety and great quality of breakfast food alternatives. Variety of TV channels, including English-speaking. Frequent and responsive shuttle service to and from the airport! Clean and well-maintained pool if you have time for relaxation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Randy J, we appreciate your feedback on your stay with us and are very happy that our accommodations were of your liking.
Our 24 hour airport shuttle to and from the airport is every 15 minutes so there is no chance for our guests to miss their flights. As you could see, we offer a variety of Costa Rican coffees and teas not only in each room but also at the lobby, which guests have access the 24 hours of the day. Besides our high speed Internet access, we provide our guests with free unlimited national and international phonecalls, so we can cater to every different need.
Thank you for your visit and and we hope to see you soon.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here on our last night in Costa Rica as it was conveniently located near the airport and because they offer a free shuttle, allowing us to turn in our car the day prior to leaving. It is a Holiday Inn, so as such lacks the charm of some of the smaller, more personal B&Bs, but I must say we were pleasantly surprised. After a very long and tiring drive from Montezuma, we managed to arrive before check-in time. We were happy to find that the room was ready for us and were able to check in early! The staff was very friendly and helpful and the premises very clean. The rooms were large and spacious, bathrooms very clean. We didn't use the pool, but it looked nice and although in quite a commercial area, was somewhat private. They were also helpful in arranging a taxi to take us to and from a restaurant in Alajuela that evening. A few other perks - they offered free international phone service, free wi-fi, the chance to pay the "airport exit fee" there - avoiding lines at the airport and a free breakfast (although nothing fancy, it was tasty and more than adequate). All in all a very good stopover when arriving or leaving the country.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear kailuamom50, we are very happy to hear of how pleased you were of your stay in our hotel. we provide our guests with every commodity in order to make each stay with us memorable.
As you pointed out, one of the things that our guests love about the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport is our own Airport Kiosk which enables our guests to pay the airport exit tax fee in our premises so our guests can avoid the lines at the airport.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Yours Truly, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

our flight landed at 9pm so my wife and i checked in late. There were no issues getting the room since we had our reservations. it is very close to the airport so it was conveiniant. It is nothing super fancy, but it was nicer than i expected. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear justinh82, thank you for sharing your comments. We are very happy that we were able to surprise you since we feel very proud of the way we take care of our guests, always striving to achieve an excellence of service and quality of product.
As you mentioned before, our hotel is less than 1 mile away from the airport so it is very convenient for when you are coming or leaving the country. We provide our guests with free shuttles to and from the airport every 15 minutes. We also offer free high speed Internet and unlimited national and international phonecalls so our guests can have easy communication access to their families and friends around the world.
Thank you again for choosing us and we hope that you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, ca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed here after trying to find another Holiday Inn in downtown San Jose on a Friday night. What a nightmare!! After fighting traffic and driving in circles we remembered seeing this Holiday Inn Express when we arrived in Costa Rica. We were able to get rooms without a reservation. They have a shuttle to the airport that promptly picked us up when we wanted. Only a 5 min drive to San Jose Airport. Very Clean and helpful staff. Definetly would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear lisalu32, thank you for your review, we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay here, at the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport. Our goal is that every single guest leaves happy and satisfied of our service and accommodations.
Indee we have shuttles to and from the airport every 15 minutes, 24 hrs. a day. And since the airport is so nearby (less than 1 mile away), the guests can have much more rest due to the small amount of time it takes to get there.
Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope that you come back soon.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Address: 1000 Airport Boulevard | next to Juan Santamaria International Airport, Alajuela 95-4003, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Holiday Inn Express Alajuela
Alajuela Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.