We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Airport Boulevard | next to Juan Santamaria International Airport, Alajuela 95-4003, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 30 hotels in Alajuela
Kensington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Convenient and nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed here one night...well if you can call it that since we left at 3:15am. We stayed at the Holiday Inn due to its proximity to the airport, I don't think you can get much closer. We knew that we weren't going to do anything but sleep that so this was an excellent option.
The Holiday Inn is very clean and seems fairly new. The rooms are tight on space but not too bad. The night we were there they were full but it was still pretty quiet.
In the morning when we were leaving they had a table full of "to go" bags for breakfast. It was just a muffin, fruit, and juice but certainly a nice touch. The staff were friendly and helpful...perhaps not as much as we had experienced in other areas but still nice.
They offer a service for paying departure tax at the hotel to avoid lines at the airport. It was an additional $4 per person so I took advantage of it. At 4am the airport was pretty quiet so it probably wasn't necessary.
Good hotel if you just need to be close to the airport for a night (or part of one).

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Mike_D90, thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. We are very happy that your brief stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport was of your liking.
As you could see, eventhough we are less than 1 mile from the airport, our rooms are able to provide our guests with a peaceful and comfortable stay. We are also very glad that you liked our "to go" breakfast bags since we know that sometimes our guests have to leave the hotel very early and need something to eat before their airplane departs.
Once again thank you and we hope to have you stay with us again in the future.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    162
    37
    12
    10
See reviews for
92
160
30
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here the night before we flew out and it was very nice. Hotel is clean and nice, the little pool is much nicer then I expected for a hotel pool - the kids enjoyed it. There are a couple of restaurants basically in the same parking lot so you don't need to have a car or overspend on dinner. Breakfast was included and was very generous. Gallo pinto - yum! And the shuttle to the airport was clean and timely. Would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear kateandevesmom, thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Here, at the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, we strive each day to make each and every guest happy by providing everything they need to make their experience as comfortable as possible. When guests leave our hotel with a smile on their faces, we know that our efforts to provide a great service have been accomplished.
Our complimentary Express Start Breakfast is very satisfying since it offers a variety of options, including some typical dishes from the region. Also, some of the restaurants near the hotel such as Denny´s and The Pirate Bar&Restaurant in the Casino Fiesta can deliver your orders to your room is you don´t want to go out.
Once again, thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you soon.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Cordial welcome by the front desk team! Clean room! Coffee in the room! Excellent high speed access to the internet. Variety and great quality of breakfast food alternatives. Variety of TV channels, including English-speaking. Frequent and responsive shuttle service to and from the airport! Clean and well-maintained pool if you have time for relaxation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Randy J, we appreciate your feedback on your stay with us and are very happy that our accommodations were of your liking.
Our 24 hour airport shuttle to and from the airport is every 15 minutes so there is no chance for our guests to miss their flights. As you could see, we offer a variety of Costa Rican coffees and teas not only in each room but also at the lobby, which guests have access the 24 hours of the day. Besides our high speed Internet access, we provide our guests with free unlimited national and international phonecalls, so we can cater to every different need.
Thank you for your visit and and we hope to see you soon.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here on our last night in Costa Rica as it was conveniently located near the airport and because they offer a free shuttle, allowing us to turn in our car the day prior to leaving. It is a Holiday Inn, so as such lacks the charm of some of the smaller, more personal B&Bs, but I must say we were pleasantly surprised. After a very long and tiring drive from Montezuma, we managed to arrive before check-in time. We were happy to find that the room was ready for us and were able to check in early! The staff was very friendly and helpful and the premises very clean. The rooms were large and spacious, bathrooms very clean. We didn't use the pool, but it looked nice and although in quite a commercial area, was somewhat private. They were also helpful in arranging a taxi to take us to and from a restaurant in Alajuela that evening. A few other perks - they offered free international phone service, free wi-fi, the chance to pay the "airport exit fee" there - avoiding lines at the airport and a free breakfast (although nothing fancy, it was tasty and more than adequate). All in all a very good stopover when arriving or leaving the country.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear kailuamom50, we are very happy to hear of how pleased you were of your stay in our hotel. we provide our guests with every commodity in order to make each stay with us memorable.
As you pointed out, one of the things that our guests love about the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport is our own Airport Kiosk which enables our guests to pay the airport exit tax fee in our premises so our guests can avoid the lines at the airport.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Yours Truly, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

our flight landed at 9pm so my wife and i checked in late. There were no issues getting the room since we had our reservations. it is very close to the airport so it was conveiniant. It is nothing super fancy, but it was nicer than i expected. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear justinh82, thank you for sharing your comments. We are very happy that we were able to surprise you since we feel very proud of the way we take care of our guests, always striving to achieve an excellence of service and quality of product.
As you mentioned before, our hotel is less than 1 mile away from the airport so it is very convenient for when you are coming or leaving the country. We provide our guests with free shuttles to and from the airport every 15 minutes. We also offer free high speed Internet and unlimited national and international phonecalls so our guests can have easy communication access to their families and friends around the world.
Thank you again for choosing us and we hope that you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, ca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed here after trying to find another Holiday Inn in downtown San Jose on a Friday night. What a nightmare!! After fighting traffic and driving in circles we remembered seeing this Holiday Inn Express when we arrived in Costa Rica. We were able to get rooms without a reservation. They have a shuttle to the airport that promptly picked us up when we wanted. Only a 5 min drive to San Jose Airport. Very Clean and helpful staff. Definetly would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear lisalu32, thank you for your review, we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay here, at the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport. Our goal is that every single guest leaves happy and satisfied of our service and accommodations.
Indee we have shuttles to and from the airport every 15 minutes, 24 hrs. a day. And since the airport is so nearby (less than 1 mile away), the guests can have much more rest due to the small amount of time it takes to get there.
Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope that you come back soon.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I always use this hotel when on my way to/from the States from my home here in Costa Rica as it is conveniently located close the airport and the casino is a short walk across the parking lot. However, three times now this hotel has made me wait until the 2:00 pm check in time to check in, even though I arrive around 11:30 from my in-country flight. It is very frustrating to have to wait around for almost three hours to check in... I write this review sitting at the Dennys nearby, awaiting my room. If it was just one time, that is one thing, but as mentioned, this is the third time now and so I will NOT be staying here again. I am a regular customer and a Holiday Inn Honors member at that. I will switch over to the Hampton Inn Suites here in the same parking lot next time. Adios Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Antonio H, Gerente at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear DivineDolphin44,

Thank you for your valuable comments regarding our Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, Costa Rica. We greatly appreciate you are taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. We are very sorry for the inconvenience regarding to your Check In Time.

It is our hotel´s goal to consistently provide superior services and accommodations, the feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve our service. We appreciate these candid comments we receive and welcome any opportunity to provide memorable experiences to our guests. Your comments about your guest services experience are taken seriously in order to analize and take actions about it.

About your experience with the time of registration, We are very sorry not having been able to deliver your room at the time you arrived at our hotel, between 9:00 to 10:00 a.m. Traditionally our hotel has been characterized by being flexible with the check in hours before 2:00pm, without any extra charge, as most other hotels do, is part of our commitment to guest satisfaction.

However, since our hotel regularly shows high occupations, sometimes we find it impossible to meet all the requests at all times. Before any exception, our brand and service promises should be fulfilled; our official check in time is at 02:00 pm and check out time is at 12:00 noon, it is very important for us to respect the right of our guests to keep their room until the check out time, resulting sometimes that we have no available rooms before 02:00 pm to offer.

It is also important to us that all our guests receive a high-quality product as our standards state, so we must be sure to do the entire process of cleaning in all rooms and it is necessary to perform this process safely and satisfactory for our guests.

We understand that you have many lodging options, but it will be a pleasure to have you with us again in the future, to demonstrate our commitment, and as I mentioned earlier, if We have the opportunity, We will be glad to check you In before 2: 00pm, at no extra cost.

Dear DivineDolphin44, we also see that you rated us 1 of 5 in Service, we would like to ask you if there was some other incoveniences of service during your stay that you can feed back in addition to your disagreement over the check in time?

We hope that this explanation is satisfactory, and yet, we are at your disposal for any further requests or feedback you have. My email is jpaniagua@gmhiex.net, Jorge Paniagua.

Thank you very much again for your feedback to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Address: 1000 Airport Boulevard | next to Juan Santamaria International Airport, Alajuela 95-4003, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Holiday Inn Express Alajuela
Alajuela Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.