We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to airport!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Airport Boulevard | next to Juan Santamaria International Airport, Alajuela 95-4003, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Temecula, ca
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very close to airport!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed here after trying to find another Holiday Inn in downtown San Jose on a Friday night. What a nightmare!! After fighting traffic and driving in circles we remembered seeing this Holiday Inn Express when we arrived in Costa Rica. We were able to get rooms without a reservation. They have a shuttle to the airport that promptly picked us up when we wanted. Only a 5 min drive to San Jose Airport. Very Clean and helpful staff. Definetly would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear lisalu32, thank you for your review, we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay here, at the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport. Our goal is that every single guest leaves happy and satisfied of our service and accommodations.
Indee we have shuttles to and from the airport every 15 minutes, 24 hrs. a day. And since the airport is so nearby (less than 1 mile away), the guests can have much more rest due to the small amount of time it takes to get there.
Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope that you come back soon.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    208
    45
    18
    13
See reviews for
130
206
45
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I always use this hotel when on my way to/from the States from my home here in Costa Rica as it is conveniently located close the airport and the casino is a short walk across the parking lot. However, three times now this hotel has made me wait until the 2:00 pm check in time to check in, even though I arrive around 11:30 from my in-country flight. It is very frustrating to have to wait around for almost three hours to check in... I write this review sitting at the Dennys nearby, awaiting my room. If it was just one time, that is one thing, but as mentioned, this is the third time now and so I will NOT be staying here again. I am a regular customer and a Holiday Inn Honors member at that. I will switch over to the Hampton Inn Suites here in the same parking lot next time. Adios Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Antonio H, Gerente at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear DivineDolphin44,

Thank you for your valuable comments regarding our Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, Costa Rica. We greatly appreciate you are taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. We are very sorry for the inconvenience regarding to your Check In Time.

It is our hotel´s goal to consistently provide superior services and accommodations, the feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve our service. We appreciate these candid comments we receive and welcome any opportunity to provide memorable experiences to our guests. Your comments about your guest services experience are taken seriously in order to analize and take actions about it.

About your experience with the time of registration, We are very sorry not having been able to deliver your room at the time you arrived at our hotel, between 9:00 to 10:00 a.m. Traditionally our hotel has been characterized by being flexible with the check in hours before 2:00pm, without any extra charge, as most other hotels do, is part of our commitment to guest satisfaction.

However, since our hotel regularly shows high occupations, sometimes we find it impossible to meet all the requests at all times. Before any exception, our brand and service promises should be fulfilled; our official check in time is at 02:00 pm and check out time is at 12:00 noon, it is very important for us to respect the right of our guests to keep their room until the check out time, resulting sometimes that we have no available rooms before 02:00 pm to offer.

It is also important to us that all our guests receive a high-quality product as our standards state, so we must be sure to do the entire process of cleaning in all rooms and it is necessary to perform this process safely and satisfactory for our guests.

We understand that you have many lodging options, but it will be a pleasure to have you with us again in the future, to demonstrate our commitment, and as I mentioned earlier, if We have the opportunity, We will be glad to check you In before 2: 00pm, at no extra cost.

Dear DivineDolphin44, we also see that you rated us 1 of 5 in Service, we would like to ask you if there was some other incoveniences of service during your stay that you can feed back in addition to your disagreement over the check in time?

We hope that this explanation is satisfactory, and yet, we are at your disposal for any further requests or feedback you have. My email is jpaniagua@gmhiex.net, Jorge Paniagua.

Thank you very much again for your feedback to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Like many we stayed here for one night after a late flight arrival. After the usual taxi hassle we were advised by a very helpful guy that the Holiday Inn shuttle would be arriving shortly. On booking I hadn't noticed this service so it was a very welcome surprise.
On arrival at the hotel the reception staff were very helpful and friendly. They got us onto the free wi-fi and told us that we could make free international calls from the room as well. Very handy for us to make a call back to the UK to tell everyone that all was going well. The room itself was clean, spacious and had a very comfortable bed.
In the morning we had a really nice buffet breakfast, which I probably over did, but there were so many things I wanted to try! Again the reception staff were really helpful in contacting our car hire company and arranging a pick up for us. We even managed an hour by their pool before we moved on.
All in we found this an excellent place for a stop over before or after a flight. Its never going to be a place to spend any serious time but its an superb hotel for what it is.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear TomT81, Thanks you for your comments regarding your experience with us. We are very pleased that you found our staff so helpful and our rooms so clean, spacious and comfortable.
It makes us very happy that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast so much and that you got to try most of our options, including some typical Costa Rican dishes and coffes.
We take pride in providing our guests with the best service possible, so be sure that every time you visit us, you will always receive the best service experience.
Thank you again and we hope that you come back soon.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

After a week in CR, we were pleasantly greeted to this hotel with a shuttle to airport. There were several computer terminals where we check emails and printed our boarding passes. It was modern and clean with a good wel organized staff that attended our needs. Although planes flew over, we did not hear the noise. Many tours departed from here as well as the Greyline bus service and the Interbus that connects to Guanacaste and Monteverde.
I must say turning on the TV to see an American baseball game was a nice surprise.....Denny's next door or Rostipollo were a walk away and the casino next door is Smokefree!
Would definitely stay again when traveling to or from Costa Rica in the future

Room Tip: second floor rooms have been upgraded(we asked upon check in)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Phyllis T, thank you very much, we appreciate your great review. When guests leave our hotel as satisfied as you did, it makes us feel that we are doing our job as it is expected; making our clients feel that they received the best quality in service and accommodations.
As you could see, one of our best features is that eventhough the hotel is less than 1 mile from the airport, there is no noise from the airplanes, making your rest more peaceful and comfortable.
Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope that we can serve you again when you return to Costa Rica.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is a really great place to stay after a long flight .... The hotel is close to the airport and very handy. We were greeted and welcomed at the front desk all the information was correct and it took us no time at all to be checked in and enjoying our selves. The room was very clean and well set up we would stay here again.
Thanks Holiday Inn for making our first night in Costa Rica comfortable and Pleasant.
Petra Kay - den Otter

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear eyesgreen, thank you for your comments. we are very glad that you were so pleased with our service, accommodations and other facilities because we strive in delivering our clients with the best we can offer.
So many clients like yourself like our Express Check In so much because it helps you check in as soon as possible so you can avoid all the hassles of standing in line waiting, and get the rest that you deserve.
Once again, thank you for choosing us and please come back soon.
Sincerely, Ana Jacques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

With a quick 2 minute ride to the airport (they provide 24 hour free shuttle service), this was an ideal location for our 6 am flight. Prior to our departure the hotel had a brown bag breakfast waiting for us at 3:30 am.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Pam B, we appreciate your comments and are very happy that you liked our accommodations and the benefits that we offer.
Since our hotel is less than 1 mile from the airport, the time it takes the shuttle to come and go from the hotel is extremely short (the shuttle leaves every 15 minutes). Also, for those guests like yourself, whom their flights depart so early, we offer our complimentary Grab and Go Breakfast so you can eat before your plane leaves.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you come back soon.
Yours Truly, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here overnight before our early morning departure from Costa Rica. The rooms were clean and spacious with free wireless internet. We did sit out by the pool for some late afternoon sun, and the quiet was disturbed periodically by very loud departing planes, but we did not hear any planes while we were in the rooms, possibly due to having the fan on in the room. The early morning free shuttle was on time and convenient. The hotel provided bagged breakfasts which was very convenient. Nearby restaurant choices were limited though. One of the places on the in-room list was out of business. Another was inside a casino which didn't allow kids under 18. So, if we didn't want to take a cab, it came down to eating at Denny's (which we weren't going to do in Costa Rica) or a fast-food chicken place across the parking lot which was fine but uneventful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana_Jacques, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear ABCWorldVacations, thank you for your review, it is a pleasure to know that all our guests feel pleased of their stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport.
As you mentioned before, the hotel provides our Grab and Go Breakfast for all those guests whose flights depart earlier than 6:00 a.m., so they can have something to eat before boarding the airplane.
Our hotel was built with special materials to isolate any sounds coming from the outside (specially the sound of airplanes taking off and landing) to insure our guests of a pleasant and peaceful stay.
Thank you for choosing us and we hope that you come back soon.
Sincerely, Ana J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Airport Hotel Berlor
Airport Hotel Berlor
#16 of 31 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Costa Rica
3.5 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 1,813 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#8 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport

Address: 1000 Airport Boulevard | next to Juan Santamaria International Airport, Alajuela 95-4003, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Hotel Alajuela
Holiday Inn Express Alajuela
Alajuela Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.