We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming host and clean room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pacande

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hotel Pacande to your Saves list
Hotel Pacande
200 mts North 50 West from Central Park, Alajuela 4050-1928, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free taxi from airport
Ranked #9 of 52 Alajuela B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Charming host and clean room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Well maintained rooms. Close to Alajuela airport. Nice family hotel with good breakfast and a nice garden. Helpful staff if you want to find a restaurant, call a cab or anything else. Close to the parque central.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    35
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
47
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

By far this place is miles above the backpacker hostel next door. We were so impressed to find clean comfortable rooms at a very reasonable price ($30 with shared bathroom), a great breakfast garden area and really friendly and kind staff. Everything you could wish for as a traveler...I highly recommend! Another bonus for anyone with a car is that they have a secure lot to park the car at no extra charge!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

My friend Evelyn and I stayed at Pacande for 4 nights in between travels to various parts of the country. Jose, Fabian and Luis welcomed us with open arms, warm smiles and were willing to help us with anything. It is such a friendly atmosphere and that's what made us keep coming back for one more night! we even cancelled a beautiful b&b in atenas because it just did not have that friendly and homelike atmosphere. WE LOVE PACANDE AND WILL BE BACK :) ps: if you can get it, room #1 is fantastic!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Our family stayed here twice, before flying out of San José international airport (SJO). It's a very short (5-10 min) cab ride from the airport, and is located in a central Alujuela. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We particularly enjoyed room 8, with it's little loft area (mind your head!), that worked we for us as we have two teen children and it was good to have the extra space. Breakfast is basic, but does include fresh fruit and coffee (is anything more needed?). Very friendly staff -- some have excellent english, some almost none. Wi-fi is there, but doesn't reach all rooms. It's great to be in the center of town, as there are several restaurants and many local shops right outside. Definitely 99% non-tourists in this area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natanya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We arrived to the hotel, they booked for us the best tours, they kept our luggage safe while we were on tours, even for days, an exelent point as basis, 10 minutes away from the airport and the main road, just 10 minutes from San jose. We called them when we had a problem in Arenal, just as if they were our family and they solved our problems. If you are their guest you know that you are safe in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage ask for first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This is my second stay at this hotel. This time around I travelled with my husband and our 2 years old son. I can say only good things about Pacande - simple, but very clean rooms (we stayed at room by the kitchen, with shared bathroom), very clean bathroom (which was all to ourselves, since there were no other people staying in the next room). Nice and ample breakfast (cereal, milk, juice, bread/butter/jam, fresh fruits).
Great staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Hotel Pacande is clean and quiet and pretty good value for the money. But what really made it stand out for me was how nice and accomodating the staff were. I had a frantic morning dashing to and from the airport when I thought I'd left my wallet in the hotel and the staff was incredibly nice and responsive in helping me look for it (and planning out strategies for how to pay the $28 departure fee without that much cash on me). Also, it's location being 10 minutes away from the airport was a total lifesaver for me!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pacande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pacande

Address: 200 mts North 50 West from Central Park, Alajuela 4050-1928, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Pacande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacande Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pacande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.