We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really nice, inexpensive hotel, we very friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pacande

Save Saved
You added Hotel Pacande to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Pacande
200 mts North 50 West from Central Park, Alajuela, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free taxi from airport
Ranked #8 of 53 Alajuela B&B and Inns
San Francisco, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A really nice, inexpensive hotel, we very friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Our family stayed here twice, before flying out of San José international airport (SJO). It's a very short (5-10 min) cab ride from the airport, and is located in a central Alujuela. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We particularly enjoyed room 8, with it's little loft area (mind your head!), that worked we for us as we have two teen children and it was good to have the extra space. Breakfast is basic, but does include fresh fruit and coffee (is anything more needed?). Very friendly staff -- some have excellent english, some almost none. Wi-fi is there, but doesn't reach all rooms. It's great to be in the center of town, as there are several restaurants and many local shops right outside. Definitely 99% non-tourists in this area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    35
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
46
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
natanya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We arrived to the hotel, they booked for us the best tours, they kept our luggage safe while we were on tours, even for days, an exelent point as basis, 10 minutes away from the airport and the main road, just 10 minutes from San jose. We called them when we had a problem in Arenal, just as if they were our family and they solved our problems. If you are their guest you know that you are safe in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage ask for first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This is my second stay at this hotel. This time around I travelled with my husband and our 2 years old son. I can say only good things about Pacande - simple, but very clean rooms (we stayed at room by the kitchen, with shared bathroom), very clean bathroom (which was all to ourselves, since there were no other people staying in the next room). Nice and ample breakfast (cereal, milk, juice, bread/butter/jam, fresh fruits).
Great staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Hotel Pacande is clean and quiet and pretty good value for the money. But what really made it stand out for me was how nice and accomodating the staff were. I had a frantic morning dashing to and from the airport when I thought I'd left my wallet in the hotel and the staff was incredibly nice and responsive in helping me look for it (and planning out strategies for how to pay the $28 departure fee without that much cash on me). Also, it's location being 10 minutes away from the airport was a total lifesaver for me!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Hotel Pacande in Alajuela is a ten minute, $6 (3,000 colones) taxi ride from the Juan Santamaria Airport in San Jose, Costa Rica. Take one of the official taxis at the airport, they know where it is and they will charge you correctly. In general, I prefer official taxis with "marias" in Costa Rica. Asking for a guaranteed rate in advance of your trip usually means a higher fare, not a deal. Ask them to use the maria.

Hotel Pacande serves a lot of in and out travellers who stay primarily for their first and/or last night in San Jose. Alajuela is also a good gateway to the La Fortuna/Arenal area.

Everything you need is nearby -- restaurants in different price ranges, groceries, bank, drug store, hardware store, and the police station is just around the corner. Lots of taxis going by.

Management is friendly and helpful. You have a choice of rooms from private, private with shared bathroom, or dorms -- all in the lower price range. I had a private with shared bathroom (although no one was sharing the bathroom) and it included cable tv in my room.

The hotel is clean and your room includes a continental breakfast with coffee, bread and butter, and fruit in their enclosed back garden.

It is not fancy with simple basic accommodations, and it may not be that quiet because people need to come and go at different hours to meet their flight schedule. But it is a good value and a good location. It is difficult to find safe and clean hotels at low prices near the airport.

The rating is for what it is, if you are looking for fancy accommodations, you can find those closer to the airport at a much higher room rate.

Tried to return on another trip to Hotel Pacande but it was full and stayed instead next door at Hotel Cortez Azul. They are very similar in layout, service, and value. I recommend them both.

The rating is for what it is, if you are looking for fancy accommodations, you can find those closer to the airport at a much higher room rate.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

The hotel itself seem very nice. The rooms were clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and it felt safe in an area that didn't seem safe at all. I especially liked how they were a sustainable hotel and very mindful about conservation and being "green." The garden in the back also had a nice atmosphere to it. The area in general though was not worth visiting. If possible, avoid staying in Alajuela at all. The city was very dirty and did not seem safe with every building behind bars and razor wire and policemen roaming the streets in groups of three. The hotel even had their front doors locked in the middle of the afternoon when we arrived. At least you can be sure no unwanted people will be strolling about the place and breaking into your room. But, if you have to stay in Alajuela I would recommend Hotel Pacande.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We are staying here on our last night in CR, heading to the airport tomorrow. We think we have the best room in the house. Room number 8. Off the back patio, up a very skinny spiral staircase. A private balcony overlooks the back garden. The room is completely paneled in wood, has two beds downstairs and then a loft with a double bed. Very roomy, it would be a good room to stay in if you had kids with you. But perhaps not little kids because of the skinny spiral staircase.

Room Tip: Rooms 8 and 9 are upstairs and are bigger than the rooms off the downstairs hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pacande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pacande

Address: 200 mts North 50 West from Central Park, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Pacande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pacande Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pacande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.