We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY good people, good accomidations, great breakfast, easy in and out , bus stop close by, shops right around the corne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villas Colibri

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Villas Colibri to your Saves list
Hotel Villas Colibri
Barrio San Jose, Alajuela 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Alajuela
Wauchula
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“VERY good people, good accomidations, great breakfast, easy in and out , bus stop close by, shops right around the corne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

Stayed three different times and totally enjoyed the experience. If you wat true Costa Rican hospitality...here is where you want to be! Close enough to all emmenities yet far enough secluded to be restful and secure. Friendly atmosphere. You want anything? JUST ask! Trips, restaurants, novelity shops, casinos, everything close by yet not in your face! Try them....you'll enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirlWauchula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
southern california
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

I would not recommend staying here if you have a late arrival or an early departure.

We were told that a late arrival would not be a problem and that we would be reimbursed for our taxi. When we arrived, there was no one awaiting our arrival at the compound. The huge gate was closed for the night. We were able to get the taxi driver to call the phone numbers we had for Villas Colibri on his cell phone several times before anyone answered. Someone eventually opened the gate, showed us our room, unlocked the door and disappeared as we moved our luggage into the room. We didn’t even have a chance to ask the few questions that we had.

There were bugs throughout the room, old food in the refrigerator, the electric shower was not functioning correctly, and the beds were uncomfortable. We were not comfortable in our room and we were happy we were only staying there for hours, not days.

We had an early flight to catch, so we were leaving early. In trying to check out, we were able to find someone at the compound who called the owner. The owner wanted us to wait until someone could arrive to check us out. We just left the keys and money with the guy. We didn’t bother trying to get reimbursed for our taxi—we were just happy to leave.

The hotel was not too far from the airport, but much further than expected. You will be better off staying at somewhere more reliable, especially if you have a late arrival or early departure.

Also, everyone I spoke to only spoke Spanish. I am able to speak and understand enough Spanish to get by. If you don’t speak Spanish (and are arriving late or leaving early), it might be a difficult stay for you.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave_man2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alajuela hotels

Sto Domingo
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

This is a tipical Costa Rican hotel, run by very friendly tico family. We stayed there for a week and we had a great time It was quiet, it has a pool and tennis court for the kids. The rooms are very comfortable. They pick you up and/or drop you off at the airport free of charge.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karla_0221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

After a long day of travel, we arrived late-night via taxi to a compound where no one was expecting us even though we had a reservation. The taxi driver used his own cell phone to call the number on the sign and eventually the night guard showed up to open the gate (it was locked). He was not expecting us either since he too had to call the manager to ask for a key. He showed us to a room, the taxi driver dropped off our stuff and we entered to the worst night of our trip.

The room was dirty with a lot of bugs crawling throughout -- we thought they were fireants, so we never got comfortable watching where they were crawling. We had some water and food from traveling, but the refrigerator wasn't even plugged in. There was not one piece of paper products in the place. No toilet paper nor paper towels. I had to knock on another person's door to borrow some of their toilet paper. After a long day of travel and preparing for the early morning flight to the beach, we couldn't even take showers since there weren't any towels in the bathroom!

We decided to suck it up and get what sleep we could, but the bed was completely warped. I constantly had to roll to the other side of the bed to feel like I wouldn't roll out of my side.

I talked with the Manager the next day and she only wanted to take $5 off the cost of the room.

We had to stay there since we didn't have a cell phone nor phone service in the room to call a taxi to take us somewhere else. The taxi had already left and the security guard was nowhere to be found to get some toilet paper. The compund gate was already secured and the area didn't seem too safe to walk around at night to look for another place.

As mentioned, we didn't get a good night's rest since we were worried about the fireants, the bed was completely uncomfortable, and we were just unsettled since we couldn't use the toilet nor take a shower.

I would never stay here again and I would recommend that no one patronize this business since despite the conditions, the manager only wanted to credit $5 USD off the total.

There was no pride in the management of this facility.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingPhool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights last October.Booked an appartment for 4 people for €40,- a night.For this price it's a perfect place to stay near the airport.Appartment which is like a bungalow is very spacey and the garden is well kept.Furniture is a bit old but no problem.Nice owner who speaks English.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — bathroom;wiring of the shower was dangerous!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tantepoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

Perfect place to stay close to the airport. Famliy run by very friendly tico family. We needed a place to stay before a very early departure from the airport. We very pleased with our stay there. It was quiet, convenient to the airport, very comfortable. They pick you up and/or drop you off at the airport free of charge, or in our case, at the rental car agency even further from the airport. The only issue we had is finding the hotel the first time the little village because the roads in Alajuela are not particularly well-marked. Look for a map on their website.

  • Liked — convenient to the airport
  • Disliked — finding the hotel
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mape068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

Hi, we stayed at this Hotel for 2 weeks this July. If you are looking for a nnice place, with great rates, you should consider Villas Colibri. This is a beautiful family operated hotel located 5 minutes from Juan Santamaria International Airport.

Rooms are separated bungalows surrounded by beatutiful tropical gardens. All rooms are equipped with cable TV and fans and have private bathrooms. They offered me a great weekly rate, and I enjoyed Costa Rica so much !!!

Owners speak English and tried to make our stay as nice as possible.

  • Liked — Excelent Rates
  • Disliked — Restaurant its closed after 9 pm
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alajuela hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eskalima
Hotel Eskalima
#14 of 31 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#17 of 31 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#4 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#8 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berlor Airport Inn
Berlor Airport Inn
#16 of 31 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Brilla Sol
Hotel Brilla Sol
#15 of 31 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villas Colibri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Colibri

Address: Barrio San Jose, Alajuela 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villas Colibri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colibri Hotel Alajuela
Hotel Villas Colibri Costa Rica/Alajuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing