We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villas Colibri

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alajuela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Villas Colibri
Barrio San Jose, Alajuela 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 30 hotels in Alajuela
Alajuela, Costa Rica
1 review
“Great experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Great experience!
Friendly service, the owners were very nice to me.
The rooms are spacious and very clean. The nature around is amazing. I thoroughly enjoyed spend a weekend at the Hotel Villas Colibri.

Room Tip: Talk confidently with owners. They are very friendly and willing to help and give good service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    0
    0
    4
See reviews for
6
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I have stayed in this Villa for a week and I just now have read the reviews.. the good and the bad. I will respond to the bad reviews first. This is a hotel thats ment to be a home. For the one night stays yes its hard to get settled and arranged with the staff but if you manage then the location is very much a treat for you. This hotel is surrounded by tropical trees in which, each night the wind tree rubbish flys into the pool. Durring my stay I noticed the pool was cleaned every two days so it did not mind me much. YES! Its cold water in the pool and I do not know alot of peoples opinions but in a tropical country with the heat factor... COLD IS GOOD!! Loved it. The rooms are typical costa rican rooms. The bugs you may see are small ants and mosquitos like the entire country has but again.. not to bad. I believe the people whom wrote the poor reviews may not have really experienced costa rica before... or central america.

Now The good. The location is close to the airport. Pricesmart. Walmart. This is a GREAT place to stay for a week or month at great rates. Even has a restruant for breakfest in the morning and tennis courts!

I have stayed in Boquete Panama, David Panama, Cuidad de Panama, San Jose CR , Cartago CR and San Carlos CR.. This is among one of the best places to spend some time.

Room Tip: This hotel has villas. Get a villa for a month or two if your going to do the long term stays. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont, USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Both parties (there were 10 of us that arrived in two different groups at different times) were greeted at the airport by Pablo. He was so nice. Our rooms were clean and affordable. Breakfast was nice too. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! We only stayed the night because we were all travelling down to the Osa Peninsula but would have enjoyed staying here longer.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela Costa Rica
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

If you want to stay at a place where you can spend your first day washing dishes that have old food caked on them and grime from the walls, then this is the place for you. The kitchens are very sparsely supplied, for example one glass and you cannot get more from the owner. We had to go out and buy more glasses and cups! The mattresses are lumpy with springs popping out! The unheated pool is filthy, just a step above from pond scum. My advise is keep looking, there are better places available.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauchula
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

Stayed three different times and totally enjoyed the experience. If you wat true Costa Rican hospitality...here is where you want to be! Close enough to all emmenities yet far enough secluded to be restful and secure. Friendly atmosphere. You want anything? JUST ask! Trips, restaurants, novelity shops, casinos, everything close by yet not in your face! Try them....you'll enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern california
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

I would not recommend staying here if you have a late arrival or an early departure.

We were told that a late arrival would not be a problem and that we would be reimbursed for our taxi. When we arrived, there was no one awaiting our arrival at the compound. The huge gate was closed for the night. We were able to get the taxi driver to call the phone numbers we had for Villas Colibri on his cell phone several times before anyone answered. Someone eventually opened the gate, showed us our room, unlocked the door and disappeared as we moved our luggage into the room. We didn’t even have a chance to ask the few questions that we had.

There were bugs throughout the room, old food in the refrigerator, the electric shower was not functioning correctly, and the beds were uncomfortable. We were not comfortable in our room and we were happy we were only staying there for hours, not days.

We had an early flight to catch, so we were leaving early. In trying to check out, we were able to find someone at the compound who called the owner. The owner wanted us to wait until someone could arrive to check us out. We just left the keys and money with the guy. We didn’t bother trying to get reimbursed for our taxi—we were just happy to leave.

The hotel was not too far from the airport, but much further than expected. You will be better off staying at somewhere more reliable, especially if you have a late arrival or early departure.

Also, everyone I spoke to only spoke Spanish. I am able to speak and understand enough Spanish to get by. If you don’t speak Spanish (and are arriving late or leaving early), it might be a difficult stay for you.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sto Domingo
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

This is a tipical Costa Rican hotel, run by very friendly tico family. We stayed there for a week and we had a great time It was quiet, it has a pool and tennis court for the kids. The rooms are very comfortable. They pick you up and/or drop you off at the airport free of charge.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villas Colibri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Colibri

Address: Barrio San Jose, Alajuela 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 hotels in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Colibri Hotel Alajuela
Hotel Villas Colibri Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villas Colibri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Villas Colibri to your Saves list