We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Los Mangos, Radial Francisco J. Orlich, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very nice, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

My daughter stayed here one night after a homestay program in a more rural part of Costa Rica. Courtyard Marriott was like a piece of the USA. Shuttles were more frequent than announced and got us to the airport in plenty of time. Hotel staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Rachel and Emily:
thanks for your review and your kind definition about services and staff, it is highly appreciated when recognition is shared with trip advisor's community.
Pura Vida,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    133
    24
    9
    7
See reviews for
84
127
27
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Business trips are usually dreaded by most people. Long flights, smelly shuttle vans, and lots of bag-schlepping, only to arrive at your hotel to be totally disappointed.

Not the case in Alajuela. My first business trip to Costa Rica meant I was flying from San Francisco to San Jose', Costa Rica, and I would be staying for two weeks.

I found the Courtyard Marriott shuttle van at the airport easily, and a couple of minutes later, I was delivered to the Courtyard Marriott Alajuela and was pleasantly surprised. Ultra modern and clean, friendly staff, and an immaculate room.

The view from my room on the fourth floor offers a panorama view of the surrounding mountains (volcanos), and the airport is directly opposite the hotel, maybe 300 yards away. But the room is as quiet as a baby's nursery. Not a sound! Shower is huge, and my only complaint is that the water pressure is low, so it takes longer to rinse my hair. Boo hoo!
A Walmart store is next door, which can be a plus or minus, depending on your viewpoint.

Breakfast is great, and the nice guys behind the bar make me a yummy Americano espresso drink each morning. Made-to-order omelettes, plus waffles, cereal, a local Costa Rican rice dish each morning, fresh local fruits like watermelon, papaya, and pineapple, and lots of other goodies. There's an in-house restaurant, plus several great options for dinner just steps outside the door of the hotel, located in the charming Mango Plaza.
OMG! There's even a HOOTERS!.

I love the Courtyard Marriott, and if I am lucky, my employer will send me back, again and again. No reason to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Jan: couldn't find words to thank you for your detail review and recognition about our hotel and services you were so kind to define each of the services that we offer and normally not found in an airport hotel.
Reviews such as yours helps to clarify that our hotel is one of a kind and goes beyond comparison to other experiences in an Airport Hotel.
On behalf of the Courtyard staff and myself thank you so much for your recognition and sharing your experience with Trip advisor readers.
Pura Vida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pacific
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed here our last night of our 2 week family vacation. Convenient...rental car company picked up car at hotel, restaurants across street, walmart next door, pool workout room and free shuttle to airport. Antonio Lopez, front desk rep. Was very helpful with my many questions. Clean comfortable room and bed.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kdepa635, Gm Assistant at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest, so happy to hear all the good things during your stay! We hope you can visit our hotel Courtyard Airport again soon! Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de Puriscal, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The Courtyard is a new ( about a year or so old) hotel only about 1km from the SJO airport. It has all the qualities of any Courtyard , so that is nice to have the level of service and expected rooms, internet and amenities that you would get in any stay in the US. They have a free shuttle to and from the airport and the best part is while they have their own restaurant , it is across the street from a new Plaza - Plaza Mango, that has several nice restaurants, and there is a HUGE mall being built nearby also. There is also a Walmart within walking distance . So, if you are coming here, you can arrive and be able to buy all those things you forgot, if you are leaving , you have a restful last night with good food and only a 1 minute drive to the airport. If you book online with marriott, the rooms are only $99 a night, so a great deal. If you live here, they do offer short term parking in their guarded lot for free with a stay - nice if you are going to the US for a couple of days.

Room Tip: Use Marriott.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana M, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest, I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that the facilities and services experience were that expected and reserved. We appreciate in your time in sharing with us your experience.
We always share these words with all our team, make us feel motivated, because the most important thing for us is to provide an exceptional experience to each of our customers and make them feel at home, we really appreciate your comment and hope you had this feel.
Hope to see you soon. Pura Vida
Diana Mora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is a good hotel to start or end your Costa Rican vacation as it is very close to the airport. The only complaint is you need to use a cell phone to call for the airport shuttle, which is hard if you just arrived in the country and don't have a working cell phone yet...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana M, Director de Recepción at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest. Thanks for your feedback, we really appreciate you are taking the time to share your experience in our Courtyard. It is a pleasure to know that our guests have departed Costa Rica with a great experience and a memory.
Also, i just want let you know that we have a person in the airport waiting for our guest with a list of the names, unfortunately in the moment that you arrival this person was not there.
By the way, our shuttle run every 30 minutes from the hotel to the airport you need just to wait in arrivals.
Best Regards!
Diana Mora Miranda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is a solid, American-style hotel. The rooms are standard Marriott quality. The pool is little more than a large, outdoor bathtub, but you are unlikely to be visiting Costa Rica for pool at the airport hotel. The service at this hotel is excellent. Reserve early and look for deals on the Marriott website.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kdepa635, GM Assistant at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Guest, your comments are flattering, thank very much for sharing your experience at Courtyard Airport Alajuela.
Best Regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Marta de Hojancha
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

What makes this hotel is the staff. Friendliest staff in Costa Rica in 13 years of living here. The location is also a plus, although you are someone isolated from any local shops and/or restaurants. The only shopping is another fascist Walmart store, and the only restaurants are more expensive than anything you find in Paris. Diana and Jose at the front desk were the two people who I saw the most and their pura vida and assistance was superb.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kdepa635, GM Assistant at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Guest, it was a pleasure to have you and selecting our hotel Courtyard Airport Alajuela. Jose Pablo and Diana are really grateful for your words! We hoep to have you again visiting us soon!
Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela

Address: Plaza Los Mangos, Radial Francisco J. Orlich, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela is the closest hotel to the International Juan Santamaria Airport in Costa Rica. From the International Arrival Gate, the hotel is just 5 minutes away towards downtown Alajuela. Our location provides the easiest and most convenient access to all the main tourist attractions in the Central Pacific: Puntarenas and Guanacaste, also National Parks such as Manuel Antonio, Carara, Poas, Braulio Carrillo, Volcan Rincon de la Vieja and much more. Some ideas to plan your Costa Rican Vacation are visiting Arenal Volcano, La Paz Waterfalls and other tourist activities and attractions, all starting at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, don't forget to take advantage of our free Airport Shuttle every 30 minutes. Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela offers all the essential services and amenities you will need to make your trip as successful as can be. Our new Refreshing Service will provide you a new lobby concept, casual food options and variety of beverage selection. We want to please you and make your stay a very special one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.