We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Los Mangos, Radial Francisco J. Orlich, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Rate Discount
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
1 review
“Excelent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We have a cycling team, we have stayed in the hotel many times, the service is excellent, the rooms are great, confortable, the food is incredible. Every time we have to race near this hotel we don’t have any doubts we will be staying there again.
Thanks to all the nice people that work there, they made us feel like family.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana M, Director de Recepción at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear guest Thank you so much for your comments. Reading your comment made my day full of energy and encourages continuing doing our best for every visitor to Costa Rica. I will share with all our staff your comments to motivate them generating great experiences, we really appreciate your feedback.
We try to makes our guest almost feel like a home.
Best regards, Diana.
Pura Vida!! \^.^/
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    133
    24
    9
    6
See reviews for
84
126
27
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartsville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel has a fancy lobby and the cleaning staff were very helpful and polite. It's right next to Wal-Mart and some restaurants, so you can walk without having to take a taxi. The rooms were large, but the mattresses are so stiff you could feel the springs in them. The water pressure was fine in the evenings, but if you try to shower during the peak hours of the morning, it's very low. They want $5 for a bottle of water in the room! The parking attendant was on his cellphone all the time, and I had to honk every time I entered or exited for him to look up long enough to open the gate. Parking security there is lax during the day. If you're coming with kids, the swimming pool is maybe 15 feet by 10 feet and 4 feet deep. It's so tiny that my kids didn't even want to swim. They do offer free washing and drying (self-service) of your laundry, if you have laundry soap. The gym was very well equipped and offers free ice-cold bottled water (as opposed to $5 per bottle, warm, in your room) and has a set of scales for weighing your luggage. They don't have a regular luggage cart for taking your bags to your room. They have little ones like those smartcarte things at airports, and the botones can go get a large wire-rack one for you, but it's certainly not what I expected from a Marriott.

What angered me was the incidentals pre-charge required in order to stay there. I'm used to having a credit card on file for incidentals, but having to sign a credit card slip beforehand for $30 per day more than the room price doesn't sit well with me. It means that they don't trust me as a customer, which is odd since I'm a registered Marriott Rewards member and made my reservation through my account on their website. I refused at first, but they told me if I cancelled my reservation I would be charged for two nights. This policy is not listed anywhere on the reservations page under rate rules, neither is it posted anywhere in the hotel. Had I known, I would've stayed at the nearby Hampton Inn to avoid nonsense like this mickeymouse stunt. I thought Marriott was above such things. I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest thank you so much for your detail review about your experience in our property, certainly our hotel has been recognized by most of our customers for the proximity to the Juan Santamaria Airport, Poas Volcano and the road to the main National parks and natural attractions in Costa Rica; in addition to the conveniences within walking distance as Mango Plaza with 10 restaurants options in addition to the stores as pharmacy, rental car and others.
Our check in procedures were made to reduce hassles during check out, we are also offering the departure tax but as other services we provide they are offered for your convenience and it is not mandatory to get them, same as water, as a matter of fact water from the faucet in Costa Rica is in compliance with purification processes.
Hope your visit in Costa Rica has been doing well and also hope you are coming back to our property we will be more than glad to assist in any request you may have.
Pura Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

It was so nice to check in to the Courtyard Marriott when we first arrived in Costa Rica. It was our first time in Costa Rica and the Courtyard Marriott gave us a safe, secure, and familiar launching point for our family adventure. The staff was great, the rooms were modern and clean, and the location (close to the Airport, but also right next door to a Walmart) was perfect. I highly recommend this property for anyone who is arriving late and needs a place to stay before they embark on their "travels" or for someone who has an early flight the next morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana M, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Guest, we are very happy that you had a great time we us. And the most important was that we gave you a good welcome to our country.
I hope you had a wonderful vacations.
Pura Vida! Diana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel is about 5 minutes from the San Jose Airport, and they have a free shuttle. Make sure you tell them the Courtyard Marriott, as there is one for the Marriott Hotel as well.

The hotel is new, clean, and in a quiet Industrial area. There is an excellent little buffet style restaurant that serves local specialties that is open until late at night with good inexpensive wine and beer, and they have a small assortment of snack foods to microwave in your room, if you arrive really late.

Many travelers use this place to join up with tours, or stay the night, refresh, and then start their journeys into the beauty of Costa Rica. They also offer a great breakfast in the morning for around $8 or $10.00 and unlimited free coffee.

To relax after your long flight getting to Costa Rica, and if you really want nothing to do with San Jose, as you are hankering to see the howler monkeys and the Toucans in the jungle the next day, this is a great place to start from.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor. There are lots of people coming and going into the lobby to join up w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana M, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest, Thanks for your time giving us a feedback.
For your convenience we have a shuttle service to the airport starting at 4am to 12 am every 30 minutes.
And for the guest who has late flight, our restaurant open 4 am for the breakfast to 12md for dinner.
By the way, thanks for your stayed we us.
If you will come again to Costa Rica please do not hesitate to visit Courtyard By Marriott San Jose Airport again.
It would be a pleasure see you one more time.
Best Regard!
Diana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We were able to check in an hour early. Comfortable bed, nice size room, very clean. Pretty decent food across the parking lot. No hot water, it was lukewarm at best, leading to a fairly uncomfortable shower. Shuttle service was convenient as was being able to pay the airport tax since we had a very early flight. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. Very clean and comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana M, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest, Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in TripAdvisor. For your convenience and all of our guest we are available to check in at the time that our guest come if they do not have any problem with the type of room that we will have in that moment.
As you mentioned, we have a shuttle service every 30 minutes starting at 4am until 12am and it is complementary.
I am really glad to know that your stay with us was enjoyable and friendly.
Best Regards!
Diana...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

After spending a week traveling through Costa Rica it was a very welcome relieve to spend the night before taking the plane back home at this hotel.
Conveniently located close to the airport. Nice, clean room. Free airport shuttle I believe every half and hour. Safe parking and friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana M, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest thank for share your experience in our hotel. We really appreciate it.
As you mentioned we are very close to the airport and you are right our shuttle service to the airport is every 30 minutes. Also we have a free and safe parking space for our guest.
In addition we sell here the departure taxes that cost $33 for avoid the lines in the airport.
Best Regards!
Diana M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Relatively new hotel very close to the airport - although I really didn't hear any airport noise.

Free airport shuttle (about 5 minutes or so away) worked fine.

Comfortable beds and a great layout for the rooms.

Breakfast was good.

Only downsides: windows don't open in the rooms (probably city codes), and the shower pressure (I was on the 6th floor) was rather weak.

The front desk was particularly pleasant and helpful, especially Daniela, who was great.

Overall a fine stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana M, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel.
I have share with our Restaurant and Kitchen staff your comments regarding the great buffet breakfast experience; certainty motivates them to strive for more options to serve and maintain consistency in our menu options.
About the windows as you mention it did not open but it just for avoid the airport noise
Thanks for your feedback.
Pura Vida!
Diana M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela

Address: Plaza Los Mangos, Radial Francisco J. Orlich, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela is the closest hotel to the International Juan Santamaria Airport in Costa Rica. From the International Arrival Gate, the hotel is just 5 minutes away towards downtown Alajuela. Our location provides the easiest and most convenient access to all the main tourist attractions in the Central Pacific: Puntarenas and Guanacaste, also National Parks such as Manuel Antonio, Carara, Poas, Braulio Carrillo, Volcan Rincon de la Vieja and much more. Some ideas to plan your Costa Rican Vacation are visiting Arenal Volcano, La Paz Waterfalls and other tourist activities and attractions, all starting at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, don't forget to take advantage of our free Airport Shuttle every 30 minutes. Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela offers all the essential services and amenities you will need to make your trip as successful as can be. Our new Refreshing Service will provide you a new lobby concept, casual food options and variety of beverage selection. We want to please you and make your stay a very special one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.