We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay close to airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Los Mangos, Radial Francisco J. Orlich, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #8 of 30 hotels in Alajuela
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect stay close to airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We finished our fabulous stay in Costa Rica, by staying here in order to be close to the airport for a mid-morning flight home. Not only is the location 5 minutes from the airport, but they can also get you signed up and paid for your "departure tax" for leaving Costa Rica. This certainly saves time at the airport and the handling fee was insignificant when compared to the time savings.

The hotel itself is very clean. I would recommend the morning breakfast buffet which offers more than something for everyone.

Shuttle service to airport was fast and very convenient.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kdepa635, GM Assistant at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Mr.Pete,
It was a pleasure to have you spend your last day of your vacation in our Hotel. We are constantly working on offering a excellent service,we are so glad you were able to experience such thing.
Please come and visit us again soon!!

Best Regards,
Karla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    101
    19
    8
    4
See reviews for
67
100
24
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed for 1 night at beginning of holiday and 1 night at the end. When arriving from airport they found us and had a check list with our names on, so we new we were off to the right location! Most impressed, as airport can be quite insane as soon as you walk out main doors. We liked this hotel and found the staff very friendly and helpful....totally professional. Rooms were large, with great big shower-no tub. All the comforts required were provided with our stay. We did eat at the restaurant which was good,especially the breakfast. People have said its expensive but I found it no more than the other places we ate at during our 2 weeks vacation. There is an excellent café across the street, if looking for good cup of coffee. There are plenty of security-guards at night outside hotel. Shuttle was fast every 10-15 min. Absolutely recommend this hotel for a short stay, as there is not much around besides Walmart. We did purchase our exiting cards from hotel, took only a couple of minutes with a $4 service charge. Airport can be extremely busy and long security line ups...so prepare ahead

Room Tip: We stayed on top floor, which is the 6th floor...no one above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kdepa635, GM Assistant at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience, details and services that our hotel offers. We work on a daily basis training our staff and looking for ways to make your stay the most comfortable and pleasing of all. It was a pleasure to have you visiting our hotel and our beautiful Costa Rica. Hope to have again in the future.
Regards,
Karla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This hotel is perfectly located for early or late flights into San Jose. It is very close to the aopiort with a free shuttle. It is clean, comfortable and safe. There is food early and late. The staff is bilingual and eager to be helpful. It provides a great transition for your entry to Costa Rica!

Because we were in transit we did ot use the pool or gym, but the internet comnection was very fast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Room was clean and comfortable. Nice pool although small. Few restaurants nearby. We stayed two times,each before and after a flight and the free shuttle was much appreciated. Staff was friendly. We enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

It's location is convenient if you have an early morning flight the next day. Other than that there's no reason to stay at a bland hotel like this. Their walk in rates are high but they will allow you to use their computers to look online, book a cheaper rate and then come back to the front desk to check in with your reservation. The staff is friendly. Food at the cafe is okay but expensive. Beds were good. Room is nice and a pretty good size. It's a run of the mill sterile, personality-less Marriott/Courtyard but it does the job..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We recently stayed one night at this Courtyard before flying out of SJO in the morning. The hotel itself seems fairly new and everything is clean and well-kept. There are a few restaurants steps from the hotel as well as a Wal-Mart. The free parking behind the hotel is also a bonus

What drags this review down is the hotel staff. The front-desk staff is below-average and does not seem to interested in doing anything else besides checking people in and out. They were little help in answering questions. Moreover, they were not interested in our Marriott Gold status.

Altogether, as far as airport hotels go, this property really is not a bad option at all. We would recommend it to anyone with an early flight out of SJO, or to anyone who flies in late. Otherwise, there is no real reason to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest: thank you for sharing your experience with us, it certainly contributes to modify and improve quality of service or product details that needs to be taking care of.
I have shared your comment with our front desk associates to make certain how important is to assist to every guest's request, questions and interactions to avoid perception that we don’t assist to our guest; appreciate your contribution with our commitment to service. Hope you can come back to verify that we are taking every comment seriously to improve service.
Pura vida ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Because our flight home was so early in the morning, we decided to stay near the airport for our last night in Costa Rica. We were very happy with this hotel. The lobby was clean, modern, and had all the ammenities a traveler needs. The reception had snacks and basic ammenities for purchase, and the lobby had a business center with computers and a copier/printer (which I used to check in online and print our tickets), a coffee bar, and a simple but nice restaurant. Our room was as expected for a Marriott room (which is a compliment!). The pool there isn't much, but that's not why you stay here. You stay here to have a hotel that supports your flying schedule, and this hotel does a great job with that. The shuttles to the airport start at 4am, with no reservations needed. We came down at 4:55, and the 5am shuttle left right on time. By 5:05, we were at the airport. (TIP: This hotel can process your per-person departure tax fee at the reception desk. If you are flying out the next day, DEFINITELY do this at the hotel. It only takes a couple of minutes and it saves you from having to stand in a long line to pay this tax at the airport. You won't be able to get past the security checkstand without showing you've paid this fee. Very much worth the extra $4 per person to get it done while you're at the hotel). We were very happy with our one night stay here, it was everything we needed it to be to prepare for our flight home the following morning.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela

Address: Plaza Los Mangos, Radial Francisco J. Orlich, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela is the closest hotel to the International Juan Santamaria Airport in Costa Rica. From the International Arrival Gate, the hotel is just 5 minutes away towards downtown Alajuela. Our location provides the easiest and most convenient access to all the main tourist attractions in the Central Pacific: Puntarenas and Guanacaste, also National Parks such as Manuel Antonio, Carara, Poas, Braulio Carrillo, Volcan Rincon de la Vieja and much more. Some ideas to plan your Costa Rican Vacation are visiting Arenal Volcano, La Paz Waterfalls and other tourist activities and attractions, all starting at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, don't forget to take advantage of our free Airport Shuttle every 30 minutes. Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela offers all the essential services and amenities you will need to make your trip as successful as can be. Our new Refreshing Service will provide you a new lobby concept, casual food options and variety of beverage selection. We want to please you and make your stay a very special one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.