We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll try the Holiday Inn next time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Los Mangos, Radial Francisco J. Orlich, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Iron Mountain, MI
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“I'll try the Holiday Inn next time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Pros: close to airport with shuttle service that runs every 30 minutes starting at 4:30 a.m.
Next to wal mart and within walking distances to a few restaurants including a mexican and a Hooters.
You can pay departure tax at hotel
Decent price for the room
Nice bathroom and shower.
Guarded/gated parking area.
Newer hotel.
Clean

Cons: they provided shampoo and soap but no lotion
Bed was very firm (a pro if you like it that way)
Single cup coffee brewer provided but only one ceramic cup provided...we both drink coffee.
Lobby, registration, business center and cafe are all slammed together - too noisy and not very comfortable.
No free water. Have to pay $3 for the small bottle and $5 for the larger bottle in the room.
No free phone calls (Holiday inn has free international calls)
small market area didn't have much to offer...didn't even have Tylenol.
Lots of road noise, even from the top floor where our room was.

All in all, for a one nights stay it was fine. This was my first stay at a Courtyard Marriott. I'm usually an IHG girl so next time I think I'll try the Holiday Inn as they have a few more perks for about the same price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear guest thank you very much for such a great and detail review about our property, we appreciate your honest feedback and comments.
Taking advantage of your review, would like to share additional considerations: if you need anything our front desk staff has been very well recognized by the service they provide, once you checked in, please share your needs with our staff, they will be more than happy to assist you by delivering: lotion, additional cups of coffee, tea, decaf, extra towels etc to your room.
Our hotel and reviews highlights the service delivered by all our staff, from the front desk to housekeeping.
Regarding phone calls charges, as stated in our site we apply the rates established by the local company, we don’t use VOIP, it is a matter of quality.
Our hotel is located within a complex with Walmart, and Plaza Mango Park, where you can find everything from Tylenol to local drinks and groceries and if you like our staff could go to the Walmart for you to get your Tylenol, and this is also the reason why our Market offers additional merchandise that you might not find in Walmart or Mango Plaza. I would love to have a second chance to live up to your expectations because it is certain that Courtyard would meet and exceed your expectations; if you would like to try our hotel again I will be more than glad to assist in anything you would need, please contact me at marco.quinteros@courtyard.com
Hope you are enjoying your trip in Costa Rica, Pura Vida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    166
    27
    10
    8
See reviews for
105
153
36
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montezuma, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

We took a taxi from the bus station to the Marriott and the taxi driver told us it would cost us $20US. When we arrived to the Marriott - the taxi driver insisted we owed him $34US. We walked away from the driver and had the police called. Jose at the front desk came to our rescue and asking the taxi driver to wait outside while he called the police. After the police came Jose was able to translate what happened to us from English to Spanish to the police officers which time the taxi driver decided to take the $20us from us then the $34us he insisted what we owed him. This situation could not have come to a resolution with the help from Jose. This is the hotel to stay if you are staying at the San Jose airport. Once again thank you very much Mr.Jose and I will be back just cause of the great service I got from Jose.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, North Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Hotel is ok. Pretty nice by CR standards. Pool area is weak: basically not a pool. Gym is good size. Beds are not quite as luxurious as US Courtyards. Breakfast us ok. Not as extensive as it should be for the money. Convenient to highway and airport. It's really a 3.5 stars.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest:
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Trip Advisor readers, certainly your feedback contribute to our team to increase and acknowledge the opportunities we need to address.
I will make certain to review our menu items for breakfast and adjust as appropriate. Regarding your comment about our pool we will definitely need to add more furniture to make if more enjoyable and hope to see you soon in our hotel so you can experience that your comments were considered and hopefully implemented.
Pura vida,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46703
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stayed one night as our flights arrived at 1 am. The room was very nice as was the shower. The breakfast is not included and I would suggest eating at the walmart next door. It sounds strange but near the bakery is a restaurant with dining area! Also walmart has an atm. The hotel shuttle doesn't run at 1 am so I took a $3 taxi from the airport.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed one night in advance of a cruise and really enjoyed the convenience of this hotel. The location allowed us to avoid the long commute into the downtown area.

It was modern, very clean and accessible via their complementary shuttle service. Just a note to those who think they can walk to this hotel; even though it is quite close to the terminal, it is separated by a busy highway making that prospect very dangerous. Take a taxi or the hotel's shuttle.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Costa Rica special! 2 families / 3 generations stayed at the hotel at the end of our trip because we had an early flight the next morning from San Jose Airport. We've stayed at many Courtyards everywhere before and we liked this one too!! The front desk was very friendly! try their free chocolate! and we got two co-joint rooms: clean and fresh! what we like.
Oh! The mattress!!! King size mattress!! The best!! And great pillows! And sheets! clean and crisp!! I did not want to wake up! Please... 5 more minutes! ...2 more minutes!! One more second!!
It is close to Wal-Mart - walking distance, a fun excursion to see costa-rican Wal-Mart!! had dinner at new Mexican bar/restaurant across the street. The shuttle to and from the airport (every 30 min) was very simple and nice.
Don't set your hopes high for the pool. It's just a little something on the back side. Guys, really! decorate that area with plants and flowers, tables and umbrellas! You are in Costa Rica!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela C, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Good Morning dear Regina,

Wow! Dear Regina your comment made my day and sharing it with our team will significantly impact their commitment and daily contribution to exceed customer expectations, this is the best way to start the morning, I am confident that our team will be capable to maintain this level of details and services with our customers and guests; in addition to find out how the plaza Mango Park has contributed to accomplished the purpose of your trip. I am going to make sure that all our associates know about your comment, to our team is a joy and pride to know that you and your family left Costa Rica with an amazing and memorable experience.

Thank you so much for your suggestion, we will take care of the pool area for your next visit to Costa Rica, which we hope will be soon,

Have a wonderful day Mrs. Regina,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We got a very good room rate on a special online deal, so took a chance on this new(ish) airport hotel. It's pleasant, & fairly upscale. Only open a couple of years, according to our driver, so everything is modern & clean. It's obvious their core business is servicing travelers to & from the international airport, which is nearby. They have an efficient breakfast buffet & free airport shuttle, which we much appreciated. Charm or ambience? Not so much. It's in a shopping plaza between a Walmart & a Hooters (!). But the room was very comfortable & quiet -- so no complaints from us for only a night, especially at that discounted price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela C, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Annie,

Hello from Costa Rica, we are pleased to find out that our services contribute to experience a comfortable stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with trip advisor users, as mentioned, our hotel fits all type of customers and needs from business to leisure travelers considering the proximity to the airport, but also there a several places like the most beautiful and visited National Parks in Costa Rica with white sand just a couple of hours from our hotel, or Poas Volcano which is the largest crater in the world and 45 min away from our hotel.

Hope to see you soon, and hope you’ll have the opportunity to see the wonders of Costa Rica again, and of course! Visit us here; we’ll welcome you with open arms. Sincerely, Daniela C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela

Address: Plaza Los Mangos, Radial Francisco J. Orlich, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela is the closest hotel to the International Juan Santamaria Airport in Costa Rica. From the International Arrival Gate, the hotel is just 5 minutes away towards downtown Alajuela. Our location provides the easiest and most convenient access to all the main tourist attractions in the Central Pacific: Puntarenas and Guanacaste, also National Parks such as Manuel Antonio, Carara, Poas, Braulio Carrillo, Volcan Rincon de la Vieja and much more. Some ideas to plan your Costa Rican Vacation are visiting Arenal Volcano, La Paz Waterfalls and other tourist activities and attractions, all starting at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, don't forget to take advantage of our free Airport Shuttle every 30 minutes. Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela offers all the essential services and amenities you will need to make your trip as successful as can be. Our new Refreshing Service will provide you a new lobby concept, casual food options and variety of beverage selection. We want to please you and make your stay a very special one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.