We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel, great location but....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Los Mangos, Radial Francisco J. Orlich, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Managua, Managua, Nicaragua
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“New hotel, great location but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Rode Transnica up from Managua the day before catching an early a.m. flight from San Jose, Costa Rica. Had to look for someone at the airport after waiting 40 min. for the shuttle. He was helpful. Check-in was quick.
Great Internet signal throughout the hotel and complimentary!
Wal-Mart is literally next door if that is helpfully will be if you don't want to overspend on fairly basic dining in the lobby "restaurant". I actually had some good soup and bakery items from Wal-Mart (and a Dr. pepper!)
Everything is new and clean.
Beds were good but not great.
They put a $30 refundable deposit on a credit card...and with $5 bottles of water in the room, I wonder how easy it would be to get stuck with charges for extras once long gone from the hotel (or simply not being refunded the $30 charge). We will see....
Going to use the 4 a.m. complimentary shuttle tomorrow. Hope that works out well.
I'd stay again if I got another good deal on the room (paid $70 which seems like a very special rate as I check around). Otherwise I would be just as willing to try some of the other airport hotels in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your experience at Courtyard San Jose Airport. I would like to take the advantage of your review to share with readers the following details that could enhance their experience in our recently SILVER LEED certified hotel and the only one in Central America.
Our shuttle provide service from 4:00 am every 30 min from the hotel to the Airport; since the Airport doesn’t offer a designated pick up zone for hotel shuttles, our internet site offers the option to contact our front desk in advance to arrange transportation and receive instructions about where to meet with driver, in addition our front desk staff is at the Airport not only to arrange transportation but also to expedite the check in process and hand your room key, when all the information is available on a timely manner. As you mention everything is clean and new same as beds and mattresses, since mattresses are new without much use it might feel hard for some customers some others liked it. Regarding our check in procedures as most of the hotels, we required a valid method of payment you can either pay in advance with cash or credit card; in this case we will authorize your credit card with the amount of money to cover room, taxes and additional money to cover incidentals. Thank you very much for recognizing our room rate deals; of course this is not the price for a 4 star hotel; but certainly it might help to get a great deal as the one you mentioned.
Pura vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    133
    24
    9
    7
See reviews for
84
127
27
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We did not have time to tour around San Jose so we chose a hotel for convenience to the airport. This hotel was perfect for that. Clean, big rooms, breakfast buffet and the added bonus of being next door to Walmart. We were able to get waters and drinks to pack with us (although it turned out we could drink the tap water at all the places we stayed without getting sick).

The free shuttle was waiting for us with a sign right outside of baggage check and the drive was less than 10 minutes. We also took advantage of buying the departure tax at the hotel and saving us an hour or so in line at the airport.

If you want to tour San Jose, this is not a close hotel. The cost of a taxi into the University District was $35/one way and there didn't seem to be much in Alajuela.

TIP: bring sun screen with you. We had expected to buy this at Walmart, but the cost of sun screen in Costa Rica is over $20 for average sized bottle and the mosquito repellant selection was very limited. Overall the prices at Walmart were similar in the states (no great bargains).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela C, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear guest

I am delighted to know that your stay in our hotel met all your needs. All the services that we provide are just to show you how much we appreciate your visit. Besides the services offered by our hotel, we invite you to return to our country to visit thousands of places and discover the magnificent Costa Rica, to mention one: the Poás Volcano, one of our most visit attractions just 45 min away from our location.

Other than that I hope you had a comfortable stay, appreciate your feedback and Hope you visit us soon; we are going to be so pleased to have you here with us again.

Pura vida ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is the nicest Courtyard I've ever stayed in. It feels (and smells) brand new. Next door to Walmart and very close to airport (with free shuttle). Rooms were typical Courtyard but large and clean. Had a nice glass of wine in the bar. Seemed to be the hotel of choice for backpackers and surfers from the US flying in and out of San Jose.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela C, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Jennifer,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel during your visit to Costa Rica, appreciate you are taking the time to share your experience in our Courtyard. I am really glad to know that our services helped you accomplished the purpose of your stay in our Hotel. Would like to comment that Plaza Mango Park will be fully operating by end of November offering a great variety of restaurants and retail options for your convenience.

We hope you’ll have the opportunity to visit us again and the opportunity to know a little bit more of Costa Rica and its nature.

Sincerely,
Daniela C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Two weeks before we flew to Costa Rica. I was looking for the last piece for our DIY itinerary - an economical and yet decent hotel to comfortably stay our last night at Costa Rica. In our itinerary, our Interbus shuttle was scheduled to arrive at the San Jose area in Friday evening and we had to get to the San Jose (Juan Santamaría) International Airport very early next morning. So, we knew we wouldn't need anything fancy but just an inexpensive yet safe place to sleep over the night. And we hit an unexpected home run by choosing this hotel !!

We had to be at the airport around 5:00 - 5:30 AM next morning, and that was all about our worries, but this hotel not only soaked away those worries but also went way beyond our expectation in every sense. When we checked in, we were delighted to hear that the restaurant opens at 4:00 AM, their complimentary airport shuttle service starts at 4:30 AM (it operates every 30 minutes and takes only 5 minutes to get to the airport), and the front desk opens 24 hours a day. At a corner of the 1st floor are 4 big-screen PCs and printers that are all free for use. High-speed free Wi-Fi goes without saying.

Our standard room (2 queen beds) was very clean, spacious, modern and good looking, practically beautiful, and comfortable every inch. We felt like as if had been staying at a high-grade room which would normally cost $200 or more. Actually the normal rate for the room was $199 but we booked it for only $66 at Expedia ! The hotel's security was impressive, too. Without a valid card key, you can't even use elevators - they don't move until you pass your card key over the card reader inside the elevator.

One big bonus was that this hotel is located very close (2-minute walk) to Walgreens. The Walgreens store is pretty different from those in the United States. It is a huge store that has everything from daily foods to appliances (looks like Safeway + Target + Best Buy). And better yet, the prices (not quality) are cheap for everything. Originally we wanted to buy just a few water bottles but we ended up buying a lot more for souvenirs as well as for ourselves, including "Cafe 1820", packed ground Costa Rica coffee, which our friends and ourselves got eventually hooked on !

I highly recommend this hotel for anyone who needs to stay a night near San Jose (Juan Santamaría) International Airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela C, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear guest,

What a magnificent way to start the morning reading this comment, I am surprised and really glad to know that all our services inside and outside the property helped you to have an amazing and memorable experience in Costa Rica. I am going to make sure that all our associates know about your comments, the quality of service is one of our principal’s reasons of being, and I know that they are going to be so pleased to hear that as I am. The new plaza Mango Park is going to be open soon, is the plaza in front of our Courtyard, just a few steps, with many culinary options and retail stores to visit for your convenience.

Costa Rica is a country full of amazing options, the hot white sand beaches, the incredible landscapes that can be seen from the top of the volcanoes, the beautiful waterfalls and hot springs near the Poas Volcano.

We hope you had the chance to meet all these beautiful places around our country, which also may be a special reason for your next trip to Costa Rica, we hope to see you soon, our house will be with open arms to receive you and your family.

Sincerely,

Daniela C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our first and last nights in Costa Rica because of its proximity to the airport (and having Marriot points). It looked very new, and it was very clean and comfortable. The free wifi was nice to have. It has a gym and an outdoor pool (although it was a little chilly and rainy both times we were there so we did not use the pool). There is an onsite restaurant that we ate dinner at both nights we stayed there. Surprisingly, the food was pretty good. You can get anything from a casado to pizza to sandwiches and pasta. It was very convenient because, if you’ve ever been to the San Jose area, you know how crazy and busy it is. We chose to stay in the hotel, except for walking next door to the Walmart. Walmart is not something I wanted to see nor was it a nice view from our room, but in the end we were glad it was there. We bought bread and cream cheese and fruit for breakfast (breakfast is not included at the Marriot, although you can purchase it). They do have buffet style food at Walmart, but we didn’t eat there. Other than feeling guilty for staying in a nice hotel with a view of a very poor Alajuela neighborhood behind us, the hotel was quite nice. They also have secure parking with a security guard.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Sarah:
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property and share your experience with travelers to Costa Rica. As a Marriott Rewards Member I would like to thank you for your loyalty with Marriott hotels. Your comments are very much appreciated and will be shared with all our staff, they love to hear within morning meetings what customers think about their efforts, commitments and daily dedication to delight our guests. As mentioned in your review our property is the closest hotel to the International San Jose Airport. Several options are now available within walking distance not only Walmart but Mango Plaza is the new addition to our location and will offer a variety of restaurants and venues for your convenience.
I hope you are planning to come back to Costa Rica and if you do, please consider our hotel for your next visit.
Pura Vida ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here our last night in Costa Rica. It is in spitting distance to the airport, but you have to cross a bunch of highways to get there so you need to take the shuttle (we had a private transfer booked, which was a waste of time and money). Typical American style hotel, nicely appointed, small but good gym, outdoor pool. Although there were 4 of us when we arrived at breakfast we were informed that our room rate only included breakfast for two (hot buffet). About $15 - $18 a la cart for breakfast. They do not own roll away cots (we had requested one), which was a problem for us - my son had to sleep on the floor (two teens who won't share a bed)! Hotel was quiet and the staff was friendly and helpful. Free computers and internet in the "business center" off the lobby. Next door to a huge Walmart, which is a great place to buy coffee to take home for friends. Nothing else is walking distance from here but there is a lot of building going on in the area. We took a $5 cab ride to a small strip mall that had 4 or 5 choices of restaurants (Argentinian place was good). Not a good place to stay if you still want to do sightseeing - too far from downtown.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your experience at Courtyard San Jose Airport our hotel offers shuttle service for your convenience and you can schedule the service in our site at www.marriott.com/sjoap and coordinate the pickup time considering that runs every 30 min. Please accept my sincere apologies for not having roll away beds available for your trip, this is an opportunity and we need to buy some for the future. In the building in front of our hotel across the street we will have Plaza Mango Park with restaurants and stores, planning to open operations in November this plaza will complement the service of our hotel. I will share with my staff your recognition they appreciate your review and reinforce the reasons to deliver the best possible service.
Hope you consider our hotel for your next visit to Costa Rica.
PURA VIDA;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here our last night in Costa Rica, nice, clean and conviently located to the airport. Hotel has an airport shuttle so we were able to turn in our rental car the evening before and catch the early shuttle. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela C, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for tanking the time to give us your comments, I’m really glad to know that your stay with us was enjoyable. As you mentioned before our shuttle goes to the airport every 30 minutes starting at 04:00 am until midnight, also remember for your next visit to Costa Rica you can purchase the exit taxes here at the hotel and avoid the extra big line at the airport.

We hope you come back soon and you have the opportunity to meet thousands of beautiful landscapes in Costa Rica.

Pura Vida,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela

Address: Plaza Los Mangos, Radial Francisco J. Orlich, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela is the closest hotel to the International Juan Santamaria Airport in Costa Rica. From the International Arrival Gate, the hotel is just 5 minutes away towards downtown Alajuela. Our location provides the easiest and most convenient access to all the main tourist attractions in the Central Pacific: Puntarenas and Guanacaste, also National Parks such as Manuel Antonio, Carara, Poas, Braulio Carrillo, Volcan Rincon de la Vieja and much more. Some ideas to plan your Costa Rican Vacation are visiting Arenal Volcano, La Paz Waterfalls and other tourist activities and attractions, all starting at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, don't forget to take advantage of our free Airport Shuttle every 30 minutes. Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela offers all the essential services and amenities you will need to make your trip as successful as can be. Our new Refreshing Service will provide you a new lobby concept, casual food options and variety of beverage selection. We want to please you and make your stay a very special one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.