We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice courtyard right next to the airport.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Los Mangos, Radial Francisco J. Orlich, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice courtyard right next to the airport.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel is right next to the airport and seems brand new. The rooms are large and clean and they have free wifi. There is a Walmart next door where I bought a case of water and a mini cooler for $10 which should last me for a week of adventuring. It was the perfect place to rest up after a long day of flying

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear guest: On behalf of our staff I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your experience in our hotel. We are glad to know you have found our location convenient for the purpose of your trip. Hope you are planning a next trip to Costa Rica and we will be happy to receive yor visit again.
Pura Vida ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    139
    24
    9
    8
See reviews for
88
130
28
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tampa,florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is a newer hotel in San Jose, Costa Rica. It has been open for about 1 year and is very modernly decorated. The hotel is very close to the airport and Walmart is right next door. The hotel can assist you with paying your departure tax for $33 USD and also will shuttle you to the airport. It was very clean and quiet. After a long week in Hermosa, it was nice to have some R&R at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela C, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback of our hotel; now that you mentioned the Wal-Mart, I want to share with you that the Plaza Mango Park will be open soon, with a lot of different options including restaurants, and retail stores just a few steps from the main entrance of the hotel.

I am really glad to know that you had the opportunity to enjoy Playa Hermosa, is one of the best locations for surfing. Hope you also has the opportunity to visit Manuel Antonio, one of the most beautiful and visited National Park in Costa Rica with white sand just a couple of hours from our hotel, or Poas Volcano which is the largest crater in the world and 45 min away from our hotel, is a must, or this will be the perfect excuse to plan a new trip to Costa Rica.

Your kind feedback is very much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel was wonderful! It was clean and modern and rediculously inexpessive! We were staying just overnight prior to our flight out of the country and couldn't have been more satisfied with the place. If we need to stay in San Jose in the future, this would definitely be the place. Although breakfast wasn't included, the rate was so reasonable that it didn't matter. The shuttles were timely to the airport, the staff was professional, and the place was a releif after some less modern or "North American" facilities we stayed in elsewhere throughout the country. We had a very brief stay, checking in late and out early for a flight, and did not get to see much of the facility, but what we did see was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela C, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Is amazing what a comment like this one can do. I want to express you with all sincerity the joy that gives me to know that your stay at our hotel satisficed all your needs. It is a pleasure to know that our guests have departed Costa Rica with a great experience and a memory, hopefully this is also a good excuse to plan a new vacation in Costa Rica. Hope to see you soon, and hope you’ll have the opportunity to see the wonders of Costa Rica again, and of course! Visit us here; we’ll welcome you with open arms,

Sincerely,

Daniela C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce City, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is a beautiful new property right next door to the San Jose Airport. I was there on a Habitat for Humanity trip, which the Courtyard generously supports by the way, and I couldn't have been more thrilled. The hotel is quiet, clean, and the people are very friendly. Marcos the manager is the greatest. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Tom, thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel your comments are very much appreciated as you mentioned our hotel supports the Habitat for Humanity activities in Costa Rica and will continue to do so; this is one of the corner stones for Marriott through the Community Service in every country. Our Associates are delighted to host all Habitat for Humanity members and donors from all over the world as a matter of fact we thank you for all you do to assist those in need and improve their quality of live.
Hope you have had a great week in Costa Rica and don’t forget to take us in consideration for your next vacation in Costa Rica and if I can be of further assistance, please let me know at marco.quinteros@couryard.com.
Pura Vida :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We flew in late and decided to stay near the airport for a short night before driving off into the jungle. This hotel met our requirements for a nice, clean, and safe stay. Breakfast was good. The only problem I had was my misunderstanding about how the air conditioner worked. You have to insert your room key into the slot on the wall to engage the A/C. What I didn't understand was that you have to leave the card in the slot or the A/C powers back off in a minute. I'll chalk that up to being tired and not paying attention to what the person at the front desk told me. This hotel is basically what you would expect to find in the USA.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Tony:
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your experience at Courtyard San Jose Airport. We are pleased to find out that our hotel and service met your requirements for a nice clean and safe stay; our staff is committed to deliver the best possible experience in compliance with our Service Standards. Regarding the A/C is easy to operate: in fact you can turn it on by inserting the key in the slot once your remove the key the A/C will automatically turn off after 10 min or so. This building is SILVER LEED certified by the U.S. building Council and our investors did a great job adding new technologies to this property and reducing the impact in the environment and helping to preserve our planet for future generations. Hope you consider our hotel for your next stay in Costa Rica,
Pura Vida ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

If you are in the area of the San Jose airport for a short stay, this is an excellent choice. Really nice, large rooms. At this point the price was better than the nearby Holiday Inn Express and Hampton Inn, both of which are my normal choices. If it is the start of your trip, there is a WalMart next door, so you can stock up with snacks for the road or a chance to buy wine etc at a reasonable cost. Less than five minutes to the airport. I will be back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela C, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Team Courtyard San Jose Airport would like to thank you for sharing your comment on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your overall stay with us, and also hope you will have a future opportunity to return to our hotel, it would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

Daniela C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Maybe this sort of hotel just isn't for me. Here's what I liked about it: close to the airport, large rooms, restaurant on-site, and a free airport shuttle.

Here's what I didn't like: for the price Marriott charges their guests, I found it appalling that that they didn't even leave a complimentary bottle or two of water in the room, but you're welcome to allow them to charge you $3 for a medium-sized bottle or $5 for a larger one. You are also welcome to pay $5.50 for a bottle of beer. Let me repeat that: $5.50 for a single bottle of beer.

Now, it may be that although I live in an expensive city like New York, I'm more frugal than others. Fine. I'd rather spend my hard-earned money on an experience like zip-lining or visiting a monkey sanctuary than frivolous items like beer and overpriced water.

While the hotel was beautiful and the room was very comfortable, I have to rate this one very low because I don't like it when companies take advantage of their customers. It's shameful. This was my first and last time staying at a Marriott.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCYSJOAirport, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your experience at Courtyard San Jose Airport.
I am certainly disappointed that you have found our prices expensive for beers we are going to review them considering if they were local beers or imported which in most cases have an extra import fees.
Please do accept my apologies and I do hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future to demonstrate that we are working in a daily basis taking into consideration the voice of our customers and their feedback to increase satisfaction.
Pura Vida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela

Address: Plaza Los Mangos, Radial Francisco J. Orlich, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela is the closest hotel to the International Juan Santamaria Airport in Costa Rica. From the International Arrival Gate, the hotel is just 5 minutes away towards downtown Alajuela. Our location provides the easiest and most convenient access to all the main tourist attractions in the Central Pacific: Puntarenas and Guanacaste, also National Parks such as Manuel Antonio, Carara, Poas, Braulio Carrillo, Volcan Rincon de la Vieja and much more. Some ideas to plan your Costa Rican Vacation are visiting Arenal Volcano, La Paz Waterfalls and other tourist activities and attractions, all starting at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, don't forget to take advantage of our free Airport Shuttle every 30 minutes. Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela offers all the essential services and amenities you will need to make your trip as successful as can be. Our new Refreshing Service will provide you a new lobby concept, casual food options and variety of beverage selection. We want to please you and make your stay a very special one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.