We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up to Marriott Standards” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Los Mangos, Radial Francisco J. Orlich, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Up to Marriott Standards”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a typical American Marriott hotel and will not disappoint. The hotel is new, the rooms are clean, the staff is friendly and the service is great. Be prepared to pay for extras, as that is also the Marriott way.

This is an airport hotel, so don't expect the location to be good for anything but going to the airport.

It is right next to a WalMart, so anything you need is next door.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel during your visit to Costa Rica, appreciate you are taking the time to share your experience in our Courtyard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    148
    25
    10
    8
See reviews for
91
139
29
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The hotel was nice and great location. In the morning we needed a taxi to San Jose bus station at around 5.30am, we asked for a taxi and in the morning it was a van that was linked to a tourism operator or the hotel, the journey was 10 minutes and cost $35, later that day we took a taxi (as bus schedule had changed) for 4 hours 15 minutes and the cost was $150 total!

Basically the front desk/hotel do not ring a taxi but like to pick your pocket through their own transport. Awful start to an amazing Costa Rica break, Marriott should have better practices as paying a decent amount to stay there. Will not be returning.

Room Tip: If you need a taxi ask for a red minicab so they don't steal your $$$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback regarding our hotel. I'm certainly disappointed that you experienced this situation with transportation; I would like to apologize for this experience.
Our hotel does not own the service transportation; this is an external company who provide service to our hotel. I will share your comment with Transportation Management Company making sure to identify the driver who provided service and find out what had happened; needles to assure that this behavior will be monitored by us directly to avoid this to happen again.
These types of behaviors are impacting not only our hotel but the Costa Rican Tourism image. I'm also instructing to the transportation company to provide a chart of destinations with prices for guests to know in advance what they have to pay for services.
Once again please do accept my apologies and I do hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future to show you that we seriously took your comment in consideration to improve the service not only the hotel provide but also the services that we receive from third party vendors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR USA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed one night. Flew into San Jose. Needed to layover until our morning flight to Nicoya Penninsula. Perfect location, free shuttle to and from airports, clean, clean, clean, modern feel. Nice bar food in lobby. And really good people working here. This is purely an airport hotel with a corporate feel. No restaurants within walking distance. It's next door to a huge Walmart which can be helpful if you need supplies for the nex stage of your trip though CR.

Room Tip: King bed on upper floor was $129 online rate. With taxes $149 total. Seems like a reasonable value...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our facility, I will share your comment about our staff with them; it will contribute to keep quality of service in high levels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stay in Marriott hotels a lot for work, and am never disappointed. I stayed here for the last night of a 10 day trip of backpacking and staying in cheap hotels. This was luxury! It's close to the airport, so great for those 6am flights. There's a free shuttle to the airport that starts at 5am. There's a Walmart next door, so it was perfect to go get all of our coffee to bring home as souvenirs, and also pick up a few snacks for the room.

The people at this Marriott are so nice. Any time I went down, I was met with a smile and they always accommodated whatever I needed (wake up call, fork, etc.). The property was clean and elegant. There were computers available and a printer to print boarding passes if needed. The rooms were beautiful and the beds were comfy. I'd definitely stay here again after a late flight or the night before an early flight. I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience in our facility. I will make certain to share your comment about the great smile of our people and how positively impact your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here before catching an early flight out of SJO. It is a beautiful, very clean hotel, comfortable rooms.
The location in not great, but we were not expecting much... We wanted to be close to the airport.
There is a very clean, nice Walmart located right beside- perfect to purchase snacks, costa rican coffee, they even have a small cafeteria and bakery).
There is also a small mall with a decent food court (KFC, Subway, Taco Bell, etc), and some stores (but not great).
There is a pool (outdoor), and some tables outside that you can enjoy some sun.
Airport literally 5 mins away. Shuttle runs every 20 mins starting at 4am.
Can pay the Costa Rica exit tax at the hotel (for a small fee of ~4 dollars a person)... We just paid at the airport though.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear guest:
Appreciate you are taking the time to share your experience in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Joisee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Spent our last night at Courtyard before our early morning return flight to US. Hotel is brand new, clean, comfortable, and a surprising value. Staff was very attentive and friendly. The hotel provides service to the airport every 20 minutes. Would recommend to anyone requiring a hotel that is convenient to the airport.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear guest:
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel during your visit to Costa Rica, appreciate you are taking the time to share your experience in our Courtyard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

First of all, there is nothing near this hotel, but a walmart. So don't plan on leaving the hotel unless it's by cab. It's a new hotel so looks may fool you but the bed was sooo uncomfortable. We stayed here one night out of 7 nights we were here in costa rica and what a disappointment. The people here were rude also, we went down for breakfast and were told the "buffet" breakfast was $10 p/p, which included rice, scrambled eggs (probably out of a box) and super greasy bacon. It looked disgusting. when i booked the hotel it said breakfast was included. After some confusion with the staff, they told us were were entitled to the "american breakfast" which included 2/3 items in the buffet--the eggs, bacon, sausage, and hashbrown, it was so greasy, hardly edible, we toasted some bread and had that with jam. Then to top everything off...we had late checkout set for 3pm. The staff called our room once at 11:50---we were hung up on. Then again called us at 12:45 to say, check out was at 12pm, when i said to the lady, we had late check out scheduled she was like oh let me see...then came back to phone and said ohhh your right. Did not apologize, just said ok have a good day then. The first part of our trip we stayed in san jose, closed to everything, restaurants, shopping, nightlife...right out side of our hotel...it was an added bonus.
The pool there is really small...maybe big enough for 5 people. Anyways, do your self a favor and stay elsewhere if you would like to enjoy your time in costa rica and not be stuck in a hotel room staring at 4 walls for 2days.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you very much for your detail feedback, it will contribute to the daily commitment of improvement that our team has to exceed guest’s expectations.
I’m certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been. I would like to apologize on behalf of our staff.
I will make sure to adjust our website to provide accurate information about benefits included in our rates. For breakfast we are implementing a local Breakfast Buffet taking good care of quality of food, our staff is being trained for the next two weeks to verify the quality of our products. Our Front Desk staff will review the procedures for late check outs to avoid this to happen again.
Once again please do accept my apologies and I do hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future to demonstrate that we are working in a daily basis to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela

Address: Plaza Los Mangos, Radial Francisco J. Orlich, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela is the closest hotel to the International Juan Santamaria Airport in Costa Rica. From the International Arrival Gate, the hotel is just 5 minutes away towards downtown Alajuela. Our location provides the easiest and most convenient access to all the main tourist attractions in the Central Pacific: Puntarenas and Guanacaste, also National Parks such as Manuel Antonio, Carara, Poas, Braulio Carrillo, Volcan Rincon de la Vieja and much more. Some ideas to plan your Costa Rican Vacation are visiting Arenal Volcano, La Paz Waterfalls and other tourist activities and attractions, all starting at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, don't forget to take advantage of our free Airport Shuttle every 30 minutes. Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela offers all the essential services and amenities you will need to make your trip as successful as can be. Our new Refreshing Service will provide you a new lobby concept, casual food options and variety of beverage selection. We want to please you and make your stay a very special one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.