We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is Horrible!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Los Mangos, Radial Francisco J. Orlich, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #9 of 29 hotels in Alajuela
Bronx, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“This place is Horrible!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

First of all, there is nothing near this hotel, but a walmart. So don't plan on leaving the hotel unless it's by cab. It's a new hotel so looks may fool you but the bed was sooo uncomfortable. We stayed here one night out of 7 nights we were here in costa rica and what a disappointment. The people here were rude also, we went down for breakfast and were told the "buffet" breakfast was $10 p/p, which included rice, scrambled eggs (probably out of a box) and super greasy bacon. It looked disgusting. when i booked the hotel it said breakfast was included. After some confusion with the staff, they told us were were entitled to the "american breakfast" which included 2/3 items in the buffet--the eggs, bacon, sausage, and hashbrown, it was so greasy, hardly edible, we toasted some bread and had that with jam. Then to top everything off...we had late checkout set for 3pm. The staff called our room once at 11:50---we were hung up on. Then again called us at 12:45 to say, check out was at 12pm, when i said to the lady, we had late check out scheduled she was like oh let me see...then came back to phone and said ohhh your right. Did not apologize, just said ok have a good day then. The first part of our trip we stayed in san jose, closed to everything, restaurants, shopping, nightlife...right out side of our hotel...it was an added bonus.
The pool there is really small...maybe big enough for 5 people. Anyways, do your self a favor and stay elsewhere if you would like to enjoy your time in costa rica and not be stuck in a hotel room staring at 4 walls for 2days.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you very much for your detail feedback, it will contribute to the daily commitment of improvement that our team has to exceed guest’s expectations.
I’m certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been. I would like to apologize on behalf of our staff.
I will make sure to adjust our website to provide accurate information about benefits included in our rates. For breakfast we are implementing a local Breakfast Buffet taking good care of quality of food, our staff is being trained for the next two weeks to verify the quality of our products. Our Front Desk staff will review the procedures for late check outs to avoid this to happen again.
Once again please do accept my apologies and I do hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future to demonstrate that we are working in a daily basis to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    78
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
52
88
19
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Arrival at this hotel was a breeze for a foreigner in a "foreign" land. I was greeted at the airport by a friendly man holding a Courtyard sign, who had my name on a list. He assured me a shuttle was on its way. The shuttle arrived approximately 20 minutes later. The driver was friendly, and took me directly to the hotel. The check-in was easy and VERY friendly. I received a room on the top floor of the hotel and was quite impressed. The bed was comfortable, shower nice, and bathroom amenities okay. The wi-fi was free and fairly quick. Shuttle runs every 20 minutes between the airport and the hotel, and left with me being the only person on it early in the morning. There is a Wal-Mart literally right next door with low prices and lots of selection. I would return to this hotel without question in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our Courtyard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed here on our arrival night into San Jose. Perfect hotel if your flight is arriving later evening. Free shuttle to and from airport (takes about 5-10 minutes drive). Location of the hotel is great but only for 1 night max. There is not much else around, other than the hotel which has a restaurant, bar and pool area to keep you occupied. There is a Walmart next door to the hotel. The hotel itself is very new, clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms have all the normal amenities of a Marriott, tv, fridge, etc. Our room was facing out the back of the hotel and we had a view of the surrounding countryside. The breakfast was included for 2 out of the 3 people in the room, 3rd person just had to pay but this was known before arriving. The hotel itself is very safe and secure as well as the parking lot. I would stay here again the night before an early flight out or a late flight into San Jose!

Room Tip: The hotel in general is quiet, but our rooms were towards the back of the hotel, so maybe a bit more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela C, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for giving us a feedback of your experience in our hotel. As you mentioned before our hotel is just 5 minutes from the San Jose International Airport. There are several options and attractions for you to visit, the most relevant among others are:

La Paz waterfalls, Poas Volcano biggest crater in the world, Sarchi, Downtown Alajuela is also a great option to visit. From the culinary perspective the area offers access to different restaurants with local and international menus. And that’s just to mention some of them because we are a couple of hours of the amazing white sand beaches. I would like to share with you that the new plaza Mango Park is going to be open by the end of November, with additional restaurants, stores and cafeterias and other venues. I really hope you had a nice stay with us and looking forward to see you soon.

Pura Vida :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Just to be clear, this is not a “vacation” hotel it is an airport business hotel. Over the years of visiting Costa Rica we stay the first night close to the airport and rent a car the next morning before starting out on our trip to where ever. We were meeting up with two other couples all getting in on different days and times, so this was our rendezvous location. You could not ask for a better jumping off place for your trip, and your return the day before you fly back home.

This is a very nice place that lives up to what you would expect from a Marriott property. There is a super Walmart right next door for stocking up on all of your travel previsions. The locals were laughing at us as we were checking out because 90% of what we had in our baskets was booze.

What is exceptional about this location is the staff. The pool was out of service while we were there so they provided very transportation over to the Marriott Hotel so we could use the facilities there. The would drop us off and pick us up from restaurants, the casino, etc.

Karen is a very pretty young lady working the front desk that just bent over backwards to help us with dinner reservations, tour information, etc. She was so sweet and helpful, as well as being VERY patient with us coming to her for everything we needed. When she was not on duty, the rest of the staff was also very helpful and accommodating. This is a very well managed property.

Room Tip: Talk to Karen, she will take good care of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Guests:
I would like to thank you on behalf of our staff for your comments about our location, services and staff are greatly appreciated. I will make certain to share your comment with Karen, it will contribute to her passion to serve, and daily dedication to make our guests feel welcome to this beutifull Country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Shiny and new in all respects, and completely, predictably Marriott-branded. If you've every stayed at a Courtyard, you know exactly what to expect.

Couldn't be closer to the airport.

The food was remarkably good, lots of "typical" Costa Rican dishes, plus pizza and the like. The restaurant staff nicely allowed us to carry our bottle of wine to our room while we were waiting for our food to be delivered.

The desk staff generously allowed me to use their phone---at no charge--to call my airline (and hand around on hold for about 20 minutes, as usual) to figure out a check-in glitch.

One huge caveat: If you need to ask driving directions be very, very sure you get ahold of someone who knows what they're talking about and who is able to provide the CORRECT map. The very nice young woman at the front desk gave me husband erroneous directions to the Dollar Rent a Car office, which turned what should have been a twenty minute round trip into a two-hour, in-the-dark wild ride around Alauela and San Jose. Not fun.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoQ-GMCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear guest:
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I would like to apologize for the error of our staff in providing directions to get to the rental car facility. Our Front Desk Leader has made maps with written directions to the closets rental car offices to provide upon arrival to all our guests, and those will be also shared in our pre arrival comunications as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here the night before our early flight out. When I compared prices for similar airport hotels, they were all more or less the same, but the "extra person" charge (the fourth person, in our case) makes it confusing (we encountered this charge in the other two places we stayed, so it must be a costa rican thing). Anyway, this place stacked up as slightly cheaper than Hampton or HE Express. It is very close to the airport. There is construction on three sides, but we did not hear any noise inside the hotel. The folks at the front desk were very nice. The hotel itself looks brand new. It's very modern and high tech and seems quite luxurious. The room, linens, bathroom were immaculate. There's an iPod dock and a flat screen TV. Free wi-fi in the rooms. There is a big workstation area in the lobby where you can use the computers to print your boarding passes (hint: when there are people waiting, it's not the time to put in your camera's memory card and look at your five hundred vacation pictures!!) However, the room only had a one-cup coffee maker with ONE pack of terrible coffee, which seemed incongruously cheap. I had read in other reviews that there are restaurants nearby, but you couldn't get to them without a cab - traffic in this area is nuts and there is no sidewalk to walk anywhere. There is a restaurant in the lobby; the eating area is soulless and generic, but the food, though pricey, is not bad. They start serving breakfast at six, but we left before then so I don't know how it is (I just know there was no coffee available before six!) There is a Wal-Mart right next door where you can get anything you'd get at a WM in the states, including beer, liquor, and deli food. Note that if you pay your departure tax at the hotel, you pay for the convenience - it was five dollars more per person than if we paid it at the airport. The shuttle starts running at 4am and was ready and waiting when we left the hotel at 5:50am.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troutdale, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We decided to use this hotel as our begin and end night of out 11 day Costa Rica trip. It is close to San Jose Airport and makes an easy in and out point to the country.

Both our stays were comfortable. Maybe because I'm platinum elite with Marriott, maybe because the hotel is great. Regardless, we had nice stay and I would return again if visiting San Jose in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela

Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela Costa Rica
Address: Plaza Los Mangos, Radial Francisco J. Orlich, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela is the closest hotel to the International Juan Santamaria Airport in Costa Rica. From the International Arrival Gate, the hotel is just 5 minutes away towards downtown Alajuela. Our location provides the easiest and most convenient access to all the main tourist attractions in the Central Pacific: Puntarenas and Guanacaste, also National Parks such as Manuel Antonio, Carara, Poas, Braulio Carrillo, Volcan Rincon de la Vieja and much more. Some ideas to plan your Costa Rican Vacation are visiting Arenal Volcano, La Paz Waterfalls and other tourist activities and attractions, all starting at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, don't forget to take advantage of our free Airport Shuttle every 30 minutes. Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela offers all the essential services and amenities you will need to make your trip as successful as can be. Our new Refreshing Service will provide you a new lobby concept, casual food options and variety of beverage selection. We want to please you and make your stay a very special one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Venere, TripOnline SA, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.