We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Los Mangos, Radial Francisco J. Orlich, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #8 of 30 hotels in Alajuela
Rye Brook, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Perfect place to stay near the airport. Clean, comfortable and easy—a no-brainer for a one or two night stay when flying in or out of Costa Rica. Front desk staff spoke English which was helpful when we first arrived and had questions about car rentals, phones, etc...

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    99
    19
    8
    4
See reviews for
65
100
23
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel twice now and have no complaints whatsoever. It is less than a year old, is very clean, and the staff are friendly and speak excellent English. As far as the rooms are concerned, they are fairly standard American-style hotel rooms that you would find just about anywhere in the US. If it wasn't for some of the scenery nearby, you'd hardly notice you weren't in the US. This is certainly an excellent option for anyone with a evening arrival at SJO airport and an early departure, as it is but a stones throw away. That said, this is certainly not the place to spend your entire vacation in Costa Rica.

There is also a Walmart next door and I found it interesting to see the Latin American take on an American classic, although I can't say I've been to a US Walmart more than twice in my life. The only problem I have with the place is their restaurant: way overpriced even for places that cater to tourists in Costa Rica. I cannot think of a place in the US that would charge $30 for a sandwich and a quesadilla, so it was a bit of a shock to come across that at a hotel in Costa Rica. There are, however, a number of decent restaurants nearby, including Monteleone in Alajuela which was a decent value for larger portions of better food.

All in all, this is an excellent choice if you need to find a bed close to the airport. If you keep your eye on their website you can get some excellent deals on rooms too!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a new property, located next to the new Wal-Mart in Alajuela, and a 5 minute ride to the airport departure gates. Since it's new, everything about the property is new, very clean, and well maintained. Staff very friendly and helpful. For early departures from San Jose Airport, the location is great.

Room Tip: I was concerned about noise from the airport and Wal-Mart, but even the room in the front are very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here our first night arriving late in the evening and everything went well. We were checked in promptly at a very good rate and the entire hotel was spotless and clean though it should be with the hotel being so new. We also stayed here our last night after five days close to Playa Hermosa. As others have mentioned you are right next to a Walmart to buy snacks and necessities.

We did have an issue in the restaurant and it was cleared up by the manager quickly and efficiently.

Check out both times was smooth, no issues getting back and forth to the airport which is very close by. Do not be afraid we did not hear any noise from the airport due to the takeoff and landing patterns. Shuttle runs every twenty minutes.

Notes:
- Like most airports you clear immigration first, grab any checked baggage and then head to customs. The currency exchanges are a rip off with the rates given up to 25 percent less than what you can get at a bank or ATM. Avoid them at all costs.
- Once you clear customs is where the fun part starts, do not fret... You will exit into an area where taxi drivers and others bombard you with help, just relax and go outside where you find an even bigger group of people. Find the person with the Courtyard Marriott sign, check in with him and within a short period of time an unmarked van will show up and whisk you away the five minute drive to the hotel. Please remember that the vans are unmarked and confirm your destination with the driver, we did tip the driver because he went out of his way to make us feel good.
- You have to use your room keys to get to your floor in the elevator. Just rub the card on the fob and select your floor.
- Same thing when you get to your room, they have the new style readers which just require a rub against the reader.
- The climate control in your room is also controlled by your room key. There is a white reader connected to you AC by the door, place the card in the slot and then adjust your thermostat to your desired temperature. Your room temp will be reset when you leave since you need to take the card with you when you leave, return, etc.

Again a great start/end to our vacation.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weaverville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here upon our arrival in Costa Rica. Shuttle Service was good, hotel staff friendly and helpful. The rooms are large and well maintained. They have a small restaurant and bar. Offerings are limited, but the staff is friendly. In general it is a very good hotel if you have to overnight before going somewhere else. I would not stay here for an extended period of time

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

New in 2012, the hotel has large open rooms with fridge & coffee maker. People are very friendly & helpful. Small bar & restaurant. Nice fitness center with individual TV's. Little pool that sits in shade & not scenic. Next door to Wal-mart for anything forgotten and short walk up busy highway to a small mall. Must take a taxi to get to a good restaurant. A lot of new construction on office buildings around it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

It’s a first time in Costa Rica, for business and stayed a month here. The hotel rooms are spacious and clean. I must say its most Strategy and Convenience hotel than I expected. The surrounding is mentionable, near to Mall, many decent eateries(walking distance), other look-out places in Escazu. There is free shuttle to the Mall(only one way). A Hooter is just next door. And for travelling, it’s very much central route out to most place of interest. The hotel has good travel guide and gives free advice even if we don’t subscribe from them. The staffs were very nice and always willing help with all questions. As guest staying longer than a week, I find amenities like self-laundry and mini-mart useful too. The breakfast was okay and F&B people treat you with much respect. Overall, I enjoyed my stay in Costa Rica and this hotel. Will recommend.

Room Tip: Seek for room that face Multiplaza, so can have a good panaramic view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela

Address: Plaza Los Mangos, Radial Francisco J. Orlich, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela is the closest hotel to the International Juan Santamaria Airport in Costa Rica. From the International Arrival Gate, the hotel is just 5 minutes away towards downtown Alajuela. Our location provides the easiest and most convenient access to all the main tourist attractions in the Central Pacific: Puntarenas and Guanacaste, also National Parks such as Manuel Antonio, Carara, Poas, Braulio Carrillo, Volcan Rincon de la Vieja and much more. Some ideas to plan your Costa Rican Vacation are visiting Arenal Volcano, La Paz Waterfalls and other tourist activities and attractions, all starting at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, don't forget to take advantage of our free Airport Shuttle every 30 minutes. Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela offers all the essential services and amenities you will need to make your trip as successful as can be. Our new Refreshing Service will provide you a new lobby concept, casual food options and variety of beverage selection. We want to please you and make your stay a very special one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.