We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Quality Airport Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Los Mangos, Radial Francisco J. Orlich, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fantastic Vacations Offer
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Alajuela
Weaverville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
141 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good Quality Airport Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here upon our arrival in Costa Rica. Shuttle Service was good, hotel staff friendly and helpful. The rooms are large and well maintained. They have a small restaurant and bar. Offerings are limited, but the staff is friendly. In general it is a very good hotel if you have to overnight before going somewhere else. I would not stay here for an extended period of time

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    193
    32
    11
    8
See reviews for
141
182
40
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

New in 2012, the hotel has large open rooms with fridge & coffee maker. People are very friendly & helpful. Small bar & restaurant. Nice fitness center with individual TV's. Little pool that sits in shade & not scenic. Next door to Wal-mart for anything forgotten and short walk up busy highway to a small mall. Must take a taxi to get to a good restaurant. A lot of new construction on office buildings around it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

It’s a first time in Costa Rica, for business and stayed a month here. The hotel rooms are spacious and clean. I must say its most Strategy and Convenience hotel than I expected. The surrounding is mentionable, near to Mall, many decent eateries(walking distance), other look-out places in Escazu. There is free shuttle to the Mall(only one way). A Hooter is just next door. And for travelling, it’s very much central route out to most place of interest. The hotel has good travel guide and gives free advice even if we don’t subscribe from them. The staffs were very nice and always willing help with all questions. As guest staying longer than a week, I find amenities like self-laundry and mini-mart useful too. The breakfast was okay and F&B people treat you with much respect. Overall, I enjoyed my stay in Costa Rica and this hotel. Will recommend.

Room Tip: Seek for room that face Multiplaza, so can have a good panaramic view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

If you need an airport hotel because of either an early departure or late arrival this is an excellent choice. Perhaps most importantly the shuttle service was reliable quick, and efficient. The price was also reasonable. I have stayed here twice and would stay again.

The hotel is very new with well maintained and well appointed rooms. I believe this is the closest hotel to the airport.

Staff made an effort to accomdate requests. A problem with an air conditioner was solved within minutes of the front desk being alerted to the problem.

Staff were also very friendly and polite to a customer who I witnessed arrive with a very curt and rude attitude. It is a Courtyard not the Ritz Carlton. You might have to wait 30 seconds to speak to someone at the front desk. I'm not sure I would have bit my tounge if I were in their shoes. Notice to all fellow travelers: as a rule, particularly in Costa Rica, all hotels put a hold on your credit card for incidentals. It should be expected - get over it.

I gave a 4/5 rating because it is not the Ritz Carlton 'nor does is aspire to be. This would not be a good hotel as a base of operations to see Costa Rica or San Jose. Also the restaurant service was slow.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed one night in December. Was very impressed with the entire staff. We visited quite a while with our waiter. Very impressed with his service and his English was good. He told us he was taking English lessons.(I think his name was Daniel). Gave us lots of info on his counrty and his service was wonderful. The hotel is new and very clean. Shuttle service prompt. I would love to come back and stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Loved everything about this hotel! From the reliable complimentary hotel shuttle (every 20 min) to the room, the food, location, EVERYTHING was great!! Ok, the food was a bit overpriced at the restaurant as with any other hotel restaurants, but you can easily walk to Walmart right next door (2 min walk) if you're on a budget! It has a cafeteria there with decent food and a bakery. The hotel restaurant makes food fresh though and it was pretty good. One thing I liked about this hotel is that you always have options with everything. Service was excellent and there really is nothing bad I can say about this hotel. It really is nice and brand new. This is one of the first hotels where the management pictures online really matched and was on par with what you see when you really get there.

Room Tip: A room facing the front of the hotel was great as it let in lots of sunlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
267 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here the night before our return trip home, as we had an early morning flight. We flew up from Puerto Jimenez and had our hotel arrange the free shuttle for us. I heard the lady tell them we were flying SANSA and what time we were landing. She asked how we would recognize them and they said they'd have our names written down. We land at SJO and there's no one there. We wait 30 min and then ask the guy at the desk to call for us. They send us someone, but we waited there 45 min. We asked at the front desk why no one was there, and they had no record of her call and doubted our story that anyone called for us. Not how you want to start your stay. The room is very modern, quiet and comfortable. They have two bottles of water in your room at extortionate prices. There is a Walmart right next door. Go buy a 2L bottle for just under $2. They wanted $5 for a 1.75L bottle. The next morning there was a large queue at checkout and only one lady working. People were visibly becoming annoyed and anxious and we all had one eyeball on the shuttle to the airport. My other half just told her we used nothing and to charge it to the card we held the reservation with. Their inadequate service was a big disappointment.
I would stay here again, but only if I had an early morning flight.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport
2.6 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 31 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 594 reviews
1.6 mi away
Airport Hotel Berlor
Airport Hotel Berlor
#15 of 31 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
4.3 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela

Address: Plaza Los Mangos, Radial Francisco J. Orlich, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela is the closest hotel to the International Juan Santamaria Airport in Costa Rica. From the International Arrival Gate, this LEED-constructed Alajuela hotel is just 5 minutes away towards downtown Alajuela. Our location provides the easiest and most convenient access to all the main tourist attractions in the Central Pacific: Puntarenas and Guanacaste, also National Parks such as Manuel Antonio, Carara, Poas, Braulio Carrillo, Volcan Rincon de la Vieja and much more. Some ideas to plan your Costa Rican Vacation are visiting Arenal Volcano, La Paz Waterfalls and other tourist activities and attractions, all starting at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, don't forget to take advantage of our free Airport Shuttle every 30 minutes. Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela offers all the essential services and amenities you will need to make your trip as successful as can be. Our new Refreshing Service will provide you a new lobby concept, casual food options and variety of beverage selection. We want to please you and make your stay a very special one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.