We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loyal Marriott Customer, Would NOT stay again.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Los Mangos, Radial Francisco J. Orlich, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Loyal Marriott Customer, Would NOT stay again.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed at the Courtyard for the end of a trip earlier this year. We usually try to stay at any of the Marriott family of hotels because we've come to know what to expect. This was the first time we've been quite disappointed with our experience. Our first room was on the ground level which left folks on the pool deck able to look (and get access) into our room. Luckily, we were moved after a short wait. The restaurant downstairs was out of most food selections hours before closing time (no pizzas, pastas, most of the salads). The staff was less able to communicate with us than any of the other 5 hotels we had stayed at over the past 2 weeks (I don't expect fluent English in a foreign country, but the difference in the Courtyard was staggering). Unfortunately, I had to make a 1-800 call to my airline due to flight changes. Due to the length of call (being on hold) the cost was over $200USD. Hotel wouldn't budge. I understand that is their right, but a few streets down the Hampton offers free US calls (we got moved by the airline and found this out).

Bottom line, I'd recommend another airport hotel for travelers. The only nice thing was the airport shuttle, which is offered by other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 3rd floor or higher to avoid ground level access into your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    139
    24
    9
    8
See reviews for
88
130
28
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

If you arrive at San Jose Airport late in the day and do not feel like travelling more, this is a quite convenient stop. It is only a few minutes from the airport, the rooms are well appointed, the grounds are very prettily done, staff is friendly and efficient and it has a pleasant restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Vista, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel is minutes from the airport, with a good shuttle. It is quite American; not a Costa Rican experience overall but with very friendly and helpful Costa Rican staff and some local touches such as beer and some food items, so it is a good transition from US home locations. Large rooms. Restaurant and small sundries "market" on the premises, and the hotel is just across the street from a huge Walmart if you are stocking up for adventure travel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lowest floors at the back look out at a retaining wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We travel to Costa rica every year and usually have to stay at the airport on the arrival or return to get to Iguana Lodge. I tried the new courtyard and was pleasantly surprised. Nice clean comfortable hotel choice with a cute little cafe restaurant and funnily enough next to walmart.

Room Tip: I liked the front side for light. Away from elevators- they have a nice 2 room suite which works wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at the Courtyard the first night and the last two nights of our trip to Costa Rica. It was by far the nicest hotel we stayed at the whole trip.

The hotel is very new. The rooms are clean, the bathrooms are roomy and the staff is wonderful. Our airline lost our luggage and Antonio at the front desk called the airline for us (spoke with them in Spanish as we do not speak Spanish) and was able to have our luggage delivered to us at our next hotel. We also found Diego and Roberto very helpful!

The hotel is located next to a Walmart. It has everything from fresh baked goods to suncreen.

The hotel has a free shuttle to the airport that runs every 20 minutes starting at 4:00am. This allowed us to turn in our rental car the night before and save a days rental fee.

The hotel does have rooms with connecting doors for families, but does not have any roll aways. The hotel also has a laundry facility for guests. The parking is secure. The rooms were very quiet, we did not hear any noise from the room above us or the rooms next to us.

Not too far away is Plaza Real. It has a few restaurants that are great for dinner: La Fabbrica (pizza & pasta) and Los Antojitos (mexican).

I would definitely stay at the hotel again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My family stayed at this hotel when transitioning from CR back to the US after our recent vacation. This hotel is in a perfect position to get to the airport early using their shuttle. There were a LOT of people waiting on the shuttle the morning we left so the hotel had several of its staff member's driving their cars back and forth to take care of the overflow. Awesome service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Great friendly staff. Very clean and good fitness equipment. Close to SJO airport for early morning flights. Shuttle service runs every 20 minutes starting at 0400. It's a 5 minute taxi ride to the Plaza that has good restaurants if you're not interested in eating at hotel. Hotel restaurants is nice and convenient for salads, club sandwiches, etc. New WalMart is next door.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela

Address: Plaza Los Mangos, Radial Francisco J. Orlich, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela is the closest hotel to the International Juan Santamaria Airport in Costa Rica. From the International Arrival Gate, the hotel is just 5 minutes away towards downtown Alajuela. Our location provides the easiest and most convenient access to all the main tourist attractions in the Central Pacific: Puntarenas and Guanacaste, also National Parks such as Manuel Antonio, Carara, Poas, Braulio Carrillo, Volcan Rincon de la Vieja and much more. Some ideas to plan your Costa Rican Vacation are visiting Arenal Volcano, La Paz Waterfalls and other tourist activities and attractions, all starting at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, don't forget to take advantage of our free Airport Shuttle every 30 minutes. Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela offers all the essential services and amenities you will need to make your trip as successful as can be. Our new Refreshing Service will provide you a new lobby concept, casual food options and variety of beverage selection. We want to please you and make your stay a very special one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.