We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Los Mangos, Radial Francisco J. Orlich, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Rate Discount
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at the Courtyard the first night and the last two nights of our trip to Costa Rica. It was by far the nicest hotel we stayed at the whole trip.

The hotel is very new. The rooms are clean, the bathrooms are roomy and the staff is wonderful. Our airline lost our luggage and Antonio at the front desk called the airline for us (spoke with them in Spanish as we do not speak Spanish) and was able to have our luggage delivered to us at our next hotel. We also found Diego and Roberto very helpful!

The hotel is located next to a Walmart. It has everything from fresh baked goods to suncreen.

The hotel has a free shuttle to the airport that runs every 20 minutes starting at 4:00am. This allowed us to turn in our rental car the night before and save a days rental fee.

The hotel does have rooms with connecting doors for families, but does not have any roll aways. The hotel also has a laundry facility for guests. The parking is secure. The rooms were very quiet, we did not hear any noise from the room above us or the rooms next to us.

Not too far away is Plaza Real. It has a few restaurants that are great for dinner: La Fabbrica (pizza & pasta) and Los Antojitos (mexican).

I would definitely stay at the hotel again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    119
    23
    8
    5
See reviews for
80
117
26
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My family stayed at this hotel when transitioning from CR back to the US after our recent vacation. This hotel is in a perfect position to get to the airport early using their shuttle. There were a LOT of people waiting on the shuttle the morning we left so the hotel had several of its staff member's driving their cars back and forth to take care of the overflow. Awesome service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Great friendly staff. Very clean and good fitness equipment. Close to SJO airport for early morning flights. Shuttle service runs every 20 minutes starting at 0400. It's a 5 minute taxi ride to the Plaza that has good restaurants if you're not interested in eating at hotel. Hotel restaurants is nice and convenient for salads, club sandwiches, etc. New WalMart is next door.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ithaca
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were vacationing and traveling from the rainforest of La Fortuna - Arenal and then spending time in OSA, when we decided to change up our plans. We actually booked the Courtyard for 3 nights and used it as a home base for daytrips in the nearby San Jose area. An excellent property, very accommodating staff and quite helpful. We were traveling with our older boys and needed to book 2 rooms..we got the upgraded larger rooms and at a very good price. After spending 10 days traveling, free laundry facilities were a welcome perk. It is a very modern facility.. I really liked how the temperature is keyed to your room key and as you leave, you tke it with you thereby saving energy. Overall we were pleased.

Room Tip: Call them directly.. or book through the hotel website directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel rooms are spacious and clean and the room was very quiet; a good way to relax after your trip in CR. There is a Wal-Mart located next store where you can resupply or purchase food from their cafeteria. Other than that, there is not much located within walking distance except a mall with US-fast food chain restaurants. The plus about this hotel is the free washer/dryer machines located on the 2nd floor. You can buy detergant at Walmart.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed there when it had just opened earlier this year and was surprised by how well everything worked. I had been a week on the road and had another one to go, and arriving here was a close to having a comfortable weekend at home as possible. I particularly appreciated the laundry room, the iPhone dock station, the gym, and the small pool area. Internet was excellent, and the distance to the airport (and to Wal Mart) was unbeatable.
I may have been the first person to stay in that room and the bedding and carpet were immaculate, which is a big deal for me. Staff was friendly and helpful. I found the food in the coffee shop a bit on the expensive side, but not necessarily more than other hotels in the area (for an airport hotel, though, it'd make more sense if they kept their prices below more upscale hotels' 20 mins away). I'd stay here over any other SJO airport hotel.

Room Tip: I'd pick a room in the higher floor or the opposite side of the pool, as my room had a great poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Very new just built property, very clean. Room has the new smell and was spacious. Convenient shuttle to the airport. Walmart right next door walkable to get some essentials. Internet was free and service was good. Fitness center was good. Card access to elevator and floors was secure. Parking was free and safe. Airport was literally in walking distance however 2 minutes by shuttle. Breakfast seemed a bit basic but expensive and not included most room rates. Staff were very new and a bit hesitant to offer anything extra or go beyond the rule set by their management – seemed a bit unflexible. Overall a good hotel to spend the night before a flight out of the international airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela

Address: Plaza Los Mangos, Radial Francisco J. Orlich, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela is the closest hotel to the International Juan Santamaria Airport in Costa Rica. From the International Arrival Gate, the hotel is just 5 minutes away towards downtown Alajuela. Our location provides the easiest and most convenient access to all the main tourist attractions in the Central Pacific: Puntarenas and Guanacaste, also National Parks such as Manuel Antonio, Carara, Poas, Braulio Carrillo, Volcan Rincon de la Vieja and much more. Some ideas to plan your Costa Rican Vacation are visiting Arenal Volcano, La Paz Waterfalls and other tourist activities and attractions, all starting at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, don't forget to take advantage of our free Airport Shuttle every 30 minutes. Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela offers all the essential services and amenities you will need to make your trip as successful as can be. Our new Refreshing Service will provide you a new lobby concept, casual food options and variety of beverage selection. We want to please you and make your stay a very special one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.