We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our needs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Los Mangos, Radial Francisco J. Orlich, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Rate Discount
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
ithaca
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect for our needs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were vacationing and traveling from the rainforest of La Fortuna - Arenal and then spending time in OSA, when we decided to change up our plans. We actually booked the Courtyard for 3 nights and used it as a home base for daytrips in the nearby San Jose area. An excellent property, very accommodating staff and quite helpful. We were traveling with our older boys and needed to book 2 rooms..we got the upgraded larger rooms and at a very good price. After spending 10 days traveling, free laundry facilities were a welcome perk. It is a very modern facility.. I really liked how the temperature is keyed to your room key and as you leave, you tke it with you thereby saving energy. Overall we were pleased.

Room Tip: Call them directly.. or book through the hotel website directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    133
    24
    9
    6
See reviews for
84
126
27
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel rooms are spacious and clean and the room was very quiet; a good way to relax after your trip in CR. There is a Wal-Mart located next store where you can resupply or purchase food from their cafeteria. Other than that, there is not much located within walking distance except a mall with US-fast food chain restaurants. The plus about this hotel is the free washer/dryer machines located on the 2nd floor. You can buy detergant at Walmart.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed there when it had just opened earlier this year and was surprised by how well everything worked. I had been a week on the road and had another one to go, and arriving here was a close to having a comfortable weekend at home as possible. I particularly appreciated the laundry room, the iPhone dock station, the gym, and the small pool area. Internet was excellent, and the distance to the airport (and to Wal Mart) was unbeatable.
I may have been the first person to stay in that room and the bedding and carpet were immaculate, which is a big deal for me. Staff was friendly and helpful. I found the food in the coffee shop a bit on the expensive side, but not necessarily more than other hotels in the area (for an airport hotel, though, it'd make more sense if they kept their prices below more upscale hotels' 20 mins away). I'd stay here over any other SJO airport hotel.

Room Tip: I'd pick a room in the higher floor or the opposite side of the pool, as my room had a great poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Very new just built property, very clean. Room has the new smell and was spacious. Convenient shuttle to the airport. Walmart right next door walkable to get some essentials. Internet was free and service was good. Fitness center was good. Card access to elevator and floors was secure. Parking was free and safe. Airport was literally in walking distance however 2 minutes by shuttle. Breakfast seemed a bit basic but expensive and not included most room rates. Staff were very new and a bit hesitant to offer anything extra or go beyond the rule set by their management – seemed a bit unflexible. Overall a good hotel to spend the night before a flight out of the international airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Recently stayed for 2 nights at this hotel. Not a lot of character to it but brand new. This hotel could be anywhere in the USA for that matter. The Marriott Courtyard Escazu has more of a Costa Rican feel to it if thats what you are looking for. They have an airport shuttle that runs from 4 AM - midnight every 20 minutes. The shuttle takes literally 4 minutes to get to the airport terminal. I had dinner one night and the meal was decent. The hotel is located next door to a Walmart. If you want to bring back Coffee this is place to buy it and not at the airport. They also have a small cafeteria restaurant; the food was cheap and okay.

I would stay here again especially if my flight was arriving late at night or I was departing early the next morning. If you want a Marriott with more of a Costa Rican feel, stay at the one in Escazu.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for the first time after traveling a long day. Check in was quick. The room was spotless, comfortable and quiet. It's located a few minutes from the airport, with a shuttle driver who was waiting for us. We had breakfast, which was okay...nothing fancy. The staff were very helpful, allowing us a later check out at no charge, always saying good morning, and offered to help with our bags. I did feel that that bathroom was a bit too small. But overall, it's a new hotel, with well trained staff, and worked perfect for us as we arrived into San Jose.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed our last night at Costa Rica. The hotel is new, rooms are very spacious with fridge. Pool is small and outside and not heated. Gym is adequate. Breakfast included was continental i.e. toast, fruit and coffee. We saw other customers very upset because they ordered a full breakfast misunderstanding that it was at an extra cost. We were at another hotel in San Jose with a buffet breakfast, very generous and a better room rate so we probably would not stay at this hotel again unless we had a 7 AM flight. Go to Walmart next door, do not drink the overpriced water supplied at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela

Address: Plaza Los Mangos, Radial Francisco J. Orlich, Alajuela 20109, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela is the closest hotel to the International Juan Santamaria Airport in Costa Rica. From the International Arrival Gate, the hotel is just 5 minutes away towards downtown Alajuela. Our location provides the easiest and most convenient access to all the main tourist attractions in the Central Pacific: Puntarenas and Guanacaste, also National Parks such as Manuel Antonio, Carara, Poas, Braulio Carrillo, Volcan Rincon de la Vieja and much more. Some ideas to plan your Costa Rican Vacation are visiting Arenal Volcano, La Paz Waterfalls and other tourist activities and attractions, all starting at Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela, don't forget to take advantage of our free Airport Shuttle every 30 minutes. Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela offers all the essential services and amenities you will need to make your trip as successful as can be. Our new Refreshing Service will provide you a new lobby concept, casual food options and variety of beverage selection. We want to please you and make your stay a very special one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Jose Airport Alajuela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.