We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Airport Hotel and Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Rosa de America

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Rosa de America to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Rosa de America
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 30 hotels in Alajuela
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Airport Hotel and Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

Stayed at the Hotel La Rosa de America and its convenient location to the airport was a great first and last night hotel stay. We were avoiding San Jose due to the crime levels there, and this spot was in a quiet location outside of Alajuela.

Staff was positive, helpful, and bent over backwards to help us. Grisska is positively the best.

Also, if you are arriving, there is a Banco Nacional just down the street less than 2 blocks away so you can get the Costa Rican colones quickly upon arrival, and there is a restaurant about a 5 minute walk to the right which offers comidas tipicas which is also a hearty start to a visit in Costa Rica.

The only down side is that the hotel staff really needs to tell people upon check in that they need to be quiet after 10pm and for early morning departures. The rooms have paper-thin walls and the area is so quiet otherwise that people getting up early or coming in late pretty much sound like they are on bullhorns and it is very disruptive to sleeping. Even while in your room, you need to keep your voice down to avoid disturbing the neighbors.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    239
    111
    33
    8
    2
See reviews for
116
160
41
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

We spent the last two days of our Costa Rica vacation at this hotel. We were greeted warmly by Grisska the receptionist who was very helpful in answering all our questions. All the staff we met were very friendly and welcoming. We found the location convenient for driving to Poas, and were able to walk to local restaurants where we had good meals both nights of our stay. The breakfast was great the first day and a bag with breakfast food was left outside our door the second night for our very early morning airport departure. The night staff phoned for a taxi to the airport and it arrived very quickly. We arranged to have our rental car picked up the night before from the hotel which was also no problem. The grounds were beautiful and very well maintained. We appreciated the quad room which had bunk beds for our teenagers, they are much happier with their own beds to sleep in. Pool was great for cooling off in at the end of the day. All in all we enjoyed our stay very much and would have no hesitation in recommending Hotel La Rosa de America to others.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

We liked the grounds (pool and garden), free parking, and comfortable rooms, plus there was a generous towel supply which is not common in the mid-range to budget hotels. The included breakfast was pretty good. The location is not ideal in that it's not really in Alajuela proper - it's to the west a few miles, making it even farther from San Jose than Alajuela. It was a 15-min taxi ride from the airport to the hotel (not covered by the hotel) through heavy traffic although the hotel did arrange it for us. For our rafting trip, we had to take an extremely early taxi ride to the pick-up spot in Alajuela, at our expense. Fortunately, for the return, at night, the tour bus driver took us all the way to the hotel, saving us from finding a taxi driver at night who could find our hotel, as it's not well known (the morning taxi driver had a hard time finding it and was late). The location is handy if you have a car and are going to depart to the west - it's easy to get to the new highway and not much traffic in that direction. It's also handy for heading north to Volcan Poas or beyond. The rafting trip and rental car were arranged through the hotel and both companies were good. The rental car was delivered to and picked up from the hotel - very nice. The neighborhood was rather noisy with barking dogs and partiers and not all of the rooms have safes. However, it seemed pretty secure there with a gate and a night guard. When booking a hotel, keep in mind that some hotels closer to the aiport pay for the airport taxi, so that needs to be factored in.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, February 14, 2011
I am glad that the guest clearly enjoyed their stay at Hotel La Rosa. We put a lot of effort and pride into our secondary services, most of which we do free of charge. Restaurant recommendations, car rental assistance and tourism advice and tour bookings are always given both free of charge and happily as we want all our guests to get as much as possible from their Costa Rica experience!
It seems that our guest, though wanting our hotel closer to Alajuela, actually hit on many of the reasons that we DON'T recommend being any closer to the city! Alajuela is very noisy, dirty, polluted and has hopeless traffic and traffic noise. Crime after sunset is also on the rise. San Jose is worse. We find most people come to Costa Rica, not for the cities but for the beauty of the countryside.
We are located 10-15 min from the Airport, in a less built up region of the Central Valley. Our hotel is located in the beautiful, peaceful town of La Garita. This means FAR fewer nocturnal noises, parties, crime and dogs. We do have a few dogs in the area but they are a problem throughout Costa Rica and in fact most Hotels here have a bunch of their own as well! (we don't )
Our guest mentions traffic in Alajuela as a negative for our hotel. Again, it is precisely for this reason we recommend NOT staying in Alajuela overnight for your first night and last night in Costa Rica. There is absolutely no need to drive through Alajuela to get to Hotel La Rosa. Detailed directions are on our website, but simply, one should come west via the highway.

Again we are happy that this guest enjoyed their stay well enough to recommend our hotel, and we always appreciate comments and suggestions. All our employees are carefully trained to deal with any disturbances at night while continuing to be "good neighbours" with the local community, something very important in a small town! We will continue to ensure our Hotel is as quiet as practicable for a country where most everything happens outdoors!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greentown, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

“Beautiful and Relaxing”

Felecia Rauwerdink
Wed, 9 February 2011


My son and I stayed on this beautiful property for several days as I am considering relocating to the Central Valley area. The owner, Robert, was very helpful in answering several questions I had about relocating and spent a good deal of time talking with me. The staff was very helpful in arranging tours, a car and any other needs we had. Thanks and hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

We chose this hotel soley based on past Trip Advisor reviews along with reviewing the hotel's website content, pictures etc. We were completely satisfied with our stay. The staff were extremely friendly, the grounds were absolutely beautiful, very clean pool and rooms - we couldn't have asked for a better start to our Costa Rican vacation. A hidden gem!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlestown rhode island
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

This is a sweet little place not too far from the airport. It is clean, safe and the folks who run it are friendly and helpful. They were very kind to let us leave our car while we left Costa Rica for a week.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

After a horrific journey through Newark which included me having to cancel this hotel three times, we finally arrived.

The hotel hadn't charged a cancellation fee for the nights we missed and they had arranged our transport from the airport all over again.

When we got there, the night receptionist was all smiles and handshaking 'you made it' he beamed whilst offering beer and water. And it was the same the next day at breakfast, the staff were all beaming and helpful and genuinely pleased that our horrid travel nightmare was over.

I would have had no hesitation in staying in this hotel again (and almost did except that Monteverde and the rest of Costa Rica was so much fun - it was straight to the airport for us!!!).

More than the accommodation and the swimming pool and the grounds, all of which were fantastic, it was more the atmosphere and the genuine helpfulness and kindness of the people at this hotel which made a special place even more special!

Thanks

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Rosa de America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rosa de America

Address: 100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rosa de America 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rosa de America is a friendly and peaceful garden oasis conveniently near the San Jose Costa Rica Airport (SJO). With our emphasis on service, we are the vacation home base of choice for many guests visiting Costa Rica. Our staff have a wealth of information about the country and are happy to share that knowledge! The hotel is located on a gorgeous and carefully maintained property, in the sunniest part of the Central Valley - La Garita. We offer a selection of great accommodation options in rooms located around a large carefully maintained tropical garden and sparkling clean swimming pool. Rooms come in Superior and Standard types with Superior rooms having air conditioning, flat screen TV's, bar fridges and more! La Rosa is is ideally suited to guests arriving from a tiring flight and wanting time to adjust to the country in safe, friendly and beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel La Rosa de America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa De America Hotel
Hotel La Rosa De America Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Rosa de America, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.