We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Rosa de America

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Rosa de America to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Rosa de America
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 30 hotels in Alajuela
Greentown, Indiana
1 review
“Beautiful and Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

“Beautiful and Relaxing”

Felecia Rauwerdink
Wed, 9 February 2011


My son and I stayed on this beautiful property for several days as I am considering relocating to the Central Valley area. The owner, Robert, was very helpful in answering several questions I had about relocating and spent a good deal of time talking with me. The staff was very helpful in arranging tours, a car and any other needs we had. Thanks and hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    235
    111
    33
    8
    2
See reviews for
114
158
40
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

We chose this hotel soley based on past Trip Advisor reviews along with reviewing the hotel's website content, pictures etc. We were completely satisfied with our stay. The staff were extremely friendly, the grounds were absolutely beautiful, very clean pool and rooms - we couldn't have asked for a better start to our Costa Rican vacation. A hidden gem!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlestown rhode island
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

This is a sweet little place not too far from the airport. It is clean, safe and the folks who run it are friendly and helpful. They were very kind to let us leave our car while we left Costa Rica for a week.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

After a horrific journey through Newark which included me having to cancel this hotel three times, we finally arrived.

The hotel hadn't charged a cancellation fee for the nights we missed and they had arranged our transport from the airport all over again.

When we got there, the night receptionist was all smiles and handshaking 'you made it' he beamed whilst offering beer and water. And it was the same the next day at breakfast, the staff were all beaming and helpful and genuinely pleased that our horrid travel nightmare was over.

I would have had no hesitation in staying in this hotel again (and almost did except that Monteverde and the rest of Costa Rica was so much fun - it was straight to the airport for us!!!).

More than the accommodation and the swimming pool and the grounds, all of which were fantastic, it was more the atmosphere and the genuine helpfulness and kindness of the people at this hotel which made a special place even more special!

Thanks

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Airy, MD
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Hotel La Rosa de America was an unexpected delight after a long day of traveling from the US. It felt very peaceful and secluded after driving through noisy San Jose. The grounds with all the plants and flowers was lovely, the rooms comfortable and roomy. Everyone was very friendly, and helpful in answering the questions we had. It was an easy trip out of the city to head up toward the Arenal region the next morning. If we had not already made other plans for the day before our departure, we would have returned here to stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

This hotel was lovely: beautiful garden grounds, simple but nice rooms, friendly staff. We arrived in Costa Rica that afternoon, and so after our flight, we just got a bottle of wine from the hotel and relaxed on our porch. The breakfast (included) was simple and good. And they directed us to a little local bar/restaurant down the road for dinner, which we enjoyed.

The only drawback to this hotel is its location. The area itself isn't bad, but it's VERY noisy, with (we guessed) many packs of dogs that barked loudly throughout the night. Because it was warm, we wanted to leave the windows open but had to shut them just to have a chance at some sleep.

I'd definitely recommend the hotel, but if you're a light sleeper, you might have some trouble.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, January 21, 2011
We would like to thank our guest for taking the time to write into Tripadvisor with so many positive comments about our hotel! We are very happy that they found our service and gardens to be of a high standard. However, the discomfort experienced by our guest due to unacceptable noise levels is unfortunate, especially as this Hotel prides itself on being a very quiet, semi rural hotel for our guests..
As an Airport Hotel, we strive to ensure that all our guests receive the opportunity for a good night's sleep in an area far more peaceful, safe and tranquil then that of our competitors. Normally this is something that we excel at, in part due to our fortunate location, just outside the noisy city of Alajuela.
Unfortunately, on the night this guest stayed with us, a number of unlikely events seemed to occur all on the same evening thus leading to an unacceptable level of noise both within the hotel and in the surrounding area. This situation was compounded by the fact the Hotel was completely full to capacity and that some of the guests were arriving very late due to the extreme weather complications experienced in the New York area. Some of these guests were "releasing pressure" after having been stranded in airports for up to three days. Our night staff chose to focus on the noise disturbance outside the Hotel and once they resolved that problem, they then focused on the arriving guests. Unfortunately, barking dogs are a reality in Costa Rica, and in our area, there are not many, however, once the "Twilight Bark" starts, it can be very hard to stop. Since last week, the staff have been told to talk with the local dog owners and to request that they manage their pets more effectively. Of note, all the dogs in our area are actually owned, and are no danger to locals nor guests.
Again, we would like to offer our apologies to this guest. Though we do not know exactly who you are (sorry but this forum is anonymous to us!) the night you describe is so atypical of our area it stands out clearly for us. Please know that we have already taken steps to try to ensure peaceful nights for all guests and that all our staff are aware as well.
Notwithstanding the above problem, we are very happy that you still enjoyed our Hotel enough to recommend us!
Thank you;
Robert Hick
Owner
Hotel La Rosa de America
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

Planning a tour for the first time in a new country, this airport hotel is simply ideal as offering budget rates with an easy to access location next to the airport. But above all unlimited readiness to support with various travel arrangements and an inexhaustable flexibility for last mintute changes. Rooms simple, clean and comfortable of different sies and bed arrangements.
Simply give them a try and you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Rosa de America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rosa de America

Address: 100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rosa de America 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rosa de America is a friendly and peaceful garden oasis conveniently near the San Jose Costa Rica Airport (SJO). With our emphasis on service, we are the vacation home base of choice for many guests visiting Costa Rica. Our staff have a wealth of information about the country and are happy to share that knowledge! The hotel is located on a gorgeous and carefully maintained property, in the sunniest part of the Central Valley - La Garita. We offer a selection of great accommodation options in rooms located around a large carefully maintained tropical garden and sparkling clean swimming pool. Rooms come in Superior and Standard types with Superior rooms having air conditioning, flat screen TV's, bar fridges and more! La Rosa is is ideally suited to guests arriving from a tiring flight and wanting time to adjust to the country in safe, friendly and beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Rosa de America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa De America Hotel
Hotel La Rosa De America Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Rosa de America, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.