We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a super introduction to Costa Rica!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Rosa de America

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Rosa de America to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Rosa de America
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 30 hotels in Alajuela
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
“What a super introduction to Costa Rica!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

My wife and I used this hotel as an entry point to Costa Rica. The hotel is conveniently close to the San Jose airport. The grounds of the hotel are secure and very beautiful. While not being luxurious, the rooms are very clean and are in keeping with the Costa Rican experience that we were seeking. The staff is outstanding and was very helpful in starting our self-directed vacation. We were so impressed with the facilities and staff that we also used the hotel as our exit point from Costa Rica. I only wish that we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    240
    111
    33
    8
    2
See reviews for
117
160
41
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Pierce, FL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

This hotel is exactly what you want the night before you leave or the day you arrive in
costa rica-the last few moments of paradise before the chaos and confusion of the airport. Very convenient to airport and last minute fill-ups on your rental car. Convenient to great local restaurants and the zoo. Great bird watching from your front porch in the morning.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

My friend, her 12-year-old daughter, and I stayed here off and on (whenever we traveled through the San Jose area) during a two-week vacation in June/July. Robert and his staff were very helpful to us each time we visited. For example, they often let us use their phone to call other parts of the country, called cabs for us, made recommendations, etc. The hotel has a pet guinea pig whose name means "Piggy Bank" in English (very cute). My friend's daughter liked the guinea pig but especially liked the pool. The water in the showers was hot, the beds were comfortable, and the lights worked. AND we didn't have to go into downtown San Jose at all!

Food: We had a few good dinners at a local eatery called Chery's, and the breakfasts at the hotel (included in the price) were good. Robert sells wine, soft drinks, and a few snacks in the reception area. There's a computer there with Internet access.

I'm used to very modest hotels while my friend and her daughter are used to much more upscale places, but all of us were happy there. I think all of us would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

This hotel was the best. As a solo female traveler, this hotel was a life saver. The owners made me feel so welcome and helped me plan my 3 week trip round Costa Rica. The rooms are brilliant, the breakfasts are lovely, the staff speak perfect English and are the most helpful I have ever encountered. My origianal plan was to spend 4 nights there, but I extended my stay to 8 nights. It is very close to San Jose airport, perfect for tours to all the sights and lovely and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China Grove, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

We spent our first night there and it was easy to find (something not easy to do in San Jose). It was a great starting point on our adventure. The food was good, the neighborhood was OK, and the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

La Rosa de America is a lovely hotel in a quiet garden setting. We found the staff and owners (all english speaking) to be extremely helpful and kind. It was a great place to relax and unwind for a few days before heading out to see the rest of Costa Rica. La Rosa is not just a jumping off point but a great destination if you're looking to enjoy some down time. Many tours and things to do are available if that's your bent. Very clean and well cared for.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

My family and I are very pleased with our stay at La Rosa de America. It was very quiet and we loved the garden atmosphere of the hotel. Carlos and Grisska helped us with everything we needed during our stay, especially that we brought our baby with us, and answered all our questions. They helps us with calling cabs for us to ordering food to keeping our leftover food in the fridge to giving us tips about touring the city. They went beyond their call of duty. The breakfast was excellent - hearty and very nutritious. Our room was always kept clean. The furniture were a tad bit outdated, but suited our needs just fine. At first, I thought that the fan would not be enough in the Costa Rican heat, but turned out to be perfect. The nights were cool enough that ACs were unnecessary. If there was anything we would have liked, it would be hot water in the sink so washing baby bottles would be easy. Hot water would be a good alternative to sterilizing.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Rosa de America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rosa de America

Address: 100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rosa de America 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rosa de America is a friendly and peaceful garden oasis conveniently near the San Jose Costa Rica Airport (SJO). With our emphasis on service, we are the vacation home base of choice for many guests visiting Costa Rica. Our staff have a wealth of information about the country and are happy to share that knowledge! The hotel is located on a gorgeous and carefully maintained property, in the sunniest part of the Central Valley - La Garita. We offer a selection of great accommodation options in rooms located around a large carefully maintained tropical garden and sparkling clean swimming pool. Rooms come in Superior and Standard types with Superior rooms having air conditioning, flat screen TV's, bar fridges and more! La Rosa is is ideally suited to guests arriving from a tiring flight and wanting time to adjust to the country in safe, friendly and beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel La Rosa de America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa De America Hotel
Hotel La Rosa De America Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Rosa de America, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.