We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet location with helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Rosa de America

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Rosa de America to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Rosa de America
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Midwest
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice quiet location with helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

We took the Zimar service from the airport and was impressed by their quick and very kind staff...only 10 minutes!

Justin was wonderful as he welcomed us and stayed to speak to us. He was our first introduction to the country and he was very very courteous and helpful.

The room was simple. The beds weren't bad, but maybe, we're just spoiled at home with ours.

The breakfast was delicious and healthy! The only recommendation that I might make is one of our family members really really desired coffee as the first item, but the gentleman serving breakfast seemed to have DESIGNATED routine. The other family member had a similar request, but it was not heard or ignored.

Regarding the set-up of services for us, the staff did a tremendous and kind gesture for us by using the U-Save car rental company. The "free" phones which were supposed to come with the car come with a catch! They charge a minimum amount of cell phone minutes used per day...I can't recall exactly, but I recall $8.00 per day.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    112
    33
    8
    2
See reviews for
118
161
41
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

I spent 3 nights here on the tail end of my recent trip to Costa Rica. The gardens are lovely. The pool was clean, refreshing and attractively situated. Breakfast was pleasant. The staff are very helpful - they arranged transport and tours for me.
The room was immaculate and I was able to get some laundry done - a nice extra.
Internet Access in the lobby - spotty wi-fi service.
Several typical tico food restaurants are within walking distance and an ATM is at the end of the main street. I would certainly stay here again.
Plan on bringing a book to share - they are involved in a program of donating books to local grade schools. And its a good place to leave those paperbacks behind - to make more room in your luggage for the coffee you will want to take home.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris, france
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

We have spent 2 nights in this hotel when arriving to Costa Rica from France. We arrived at about 8pm after a very long flight and appreciated the short distance from the airport (in addition, the hotel is easy to locate and we had clear instructions from the hotel).
the rooms are clean, the hotel is very quiet and the garden and swimming pool clean and beautiful. We also appreciated the team.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

Quiet, clean and perhaps the best maintained B&B that we have found in the 15 years that we have visited Costa Rica. The owners of La Rose de America obviously take pride in their hotel. It is a short drive or cab ride from the airport, off the road, but the signage is clear. The rooms are impecably clean and practically appointed with attention paid to what a traveller needs. Breakfast is included and adequate. We will definitely make this our regular jumping off point.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weedon (Qc) Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

A beautiful place to stay for one night and more. We appreciate the courtesy of the canadians owners, we met only the young wowan but she was very fine. Much more quieter than any place we tried before and we strongly recommand it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

We stayed here our first and last night. It is quiet and clean. Robert and his wife(sorry I didn't get your name) were very helpful. They arranged airport transportation for us and even kept the rental car keys for us so the company could pick up the car. She helped us negotiate our rental contract also.
We were allowed to put beer and wine in the fridge with sodas for sale.
The pool looked nice but we never had a chance to use it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

Hotel La Rosa De America is the perfect place to start and end your stay in Costa Rica. this place is close enough to the airport that you can be there in minutes, yet far enough to be away from the noise. It is kind of hidden in an out of the way street but the taxis have no problem finding it. We like the area because it was safe.
Our Canadian hosts were very helpful with information and the purchasing of bus tickets for us.
What a great pool and beautiful grounds. We spent a day here just relaxing before heading home. The place is really clean and the breakfasts are delicious. There is no restaurant for evening meals but there are a few within a 5 to 10 minute walk.
Yes, we will definitely make this one of our hotels whenever we are in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Rosa de America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rosa de America

Address: 100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rosa de America 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rosa de America is a friendly and peaceful garden oasis conveniently near the San Jose Costa Rica Airport (SJO). With our emphasis on service, we are the vacation home base of choice for many guests visiting Costa Rica. Our staff have a wealth of information about the country and are happy to share that knowledge! The hotel is located on a gorgeous and carefully maintained property, in the sunniest part of the Central Valley - La Garita. We offer a selection of great accommodation options in rooms located around a large carefully maintained tropical garden and sparkling clean swimming pool. Rooms come in Superior and Standard types with Superior rooms having air conditioning, flat screen TV's, bar fridges and more! La Rosa is is ideally suited to guests arriving from a tiring flight and wanting time to adjust to the country in safe, friendly and beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel La Rosa de America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa De America Hotel
Hotel La Rosa De America Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Rosa de America, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.