We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, quiet and clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Rosa de America

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Rosa de America to your Saves list
Hotel La Rosa de America
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence
Brantford, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Convenient, quiet and clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at this property for one night, at the beginning of a 10-day visit to Costa Rica. The property was easy to find with our GPS. Although it's off what appears to be a pretty main road, you could not hear any outside noise.

Property - The property is gorgeous and meticulously maintained. There are several small cabins located around a circular pathway. There is parking on-site, inside the gated property, which is locked at night.

Rooms - We were in cabin #18, which faced the backside of the pool area. It was just a quick jaunt from the parking lot, around the back way. A/C available, though the temperature is set (it's just an on or off). Wifi worked well. TV had a couple of English channels. The room was spacious with 2 beds, a small loveseat, a desk/table and a large TV. There is also a storage area with shelving (if you're unpacking and staying longer than a night). The wood in the room is GORGEOUS. The bed was VERY comfortable. My husband and I joked about stealing the pillows, you just melted into them. The bathroom was very modern, but lacked any kind of counter space to put your things. There was a small glass shelf, but not really enough to put anything out. The maple leaf tiles in the bathroom were a nice touch, an homage to the owners Canadian roots. Each room had a small patio area. A second chair on the patio would be useful. My husband and I both wanted to sit outside and each had to take turns sitting on the short concrete patio wall.

Facilities - We did not use the pool itself, but it the pool area was beautiful. We did sit out there to eat lunch before we checked out. There's a large covered area, and it appears that there could be table service if the restaurant is open. Speaking of the restaurant, WOW! I'd read some negative reviews here, but we still decided to dine there since we had been up since 4am travelling. I had the chicken casado and my husband had the chifrijo. They were both delicious, and my husband still speaks of the chifrijo. Beer prices were very reasonable, and you are able to take them "to go". Service was great. Breakfast was standard Costa Rican fare, with a large selection of fresh fruits, breads, beans & rice, eggs, cheese, coffee & tea. The food is prepared by a young chef, who clearly takes pride in his food. The only thing we found awkward was that the chef kind of hung around the breakfast area while we ate. He checked a few things and ensured the food was covered, but then just kind of stood around. He also kept peeking over the swing door to the kitchen during our dinner the night before.

I would absolutely recommend this location to anyone beginning or ending their vacation in Costa Rica. It would also be a good base for travel in the area. It was a relatively short drive to Poas. We were very pleased that the hotel kept our luggage in the office while we visited the volcano (rather than leaving it in the car, unattended).

Note to those arriving via standard transmission rental car ... the roads to the hotel are quite hilly at times. It took me a while to get accustomed to the clutch in the rental car and people will be right on your butt. Each time I had to stop at a light I feared rolling back into the car behind me. I would likely spend a bit of time getting used to the clutch before heading to the hotel.

Kudos to La Rosa de America and their staff for a great stay.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be similar in size and style. Cabin 18 was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    128
    41
    9
    3
See reviews for
132
189
43
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

La Rosa de America, outside Alajuela town centre is an oasis with beautiful gardens.

New cabins were added in the last year and we got one of those. The room was comfortable, spacious and well supplied. We didn’t use the pool but the area looked appealing and well kept.

The staff was friendly and attentive, especially Edwin, who waited our table at dinner time. We met the new manager, an energetic nice young lady that was constantly checking that everything was running smoothly.

We had very good breakfasts each morning and the dinner at the restaurant was very good too.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

Great, helpful staff, comfortable if small room but nice patio, great bed and ultra modern bath. Relatively easy access to airport. Would definitely return! Nice breakfast, lovely pool and gardens, Wi-Fi works!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
We appreciate your very positive review of our property! We have worked very hard to ensure our WIFI is of the best quality and have recently upgraded both the service speed to the maximum we can obtain, and also the equipment is now of a very robust industrial standard.
Our superior rooms all have new or refurbished bathrooms - we are glad you enjoyed them! Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

This is the best place to stay. We received top notch service. Staff is outstanding and they make you feel like family. Rooms are beautiful and super clean. We ate at the restaurant 4 times and it was great. I was amazed at how well thought out the gardens are. This gem of a hotel will not disappoint you. Thank you for the great memories.

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
We are very happy to see that you enjoyed Restaurante La Rosa so much! Thank you for returning four times. We have extensively reorganized our restaurant service and more changes are coming to keep up with our rapidly growing demand.
Equally we are glad that you found our hotel services to your liking. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your enjoyable stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

Gardens lovely and obliging staff but room was outdated with a poor shower. Room for a comfortable chair but no chair in room and an acute lack of chairs to relax in the very pleasant pool area.Both Dinner and Breakfast far below standard.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, April 6, 2015
Thank you for your review and for letting us know about your satisfaction with our staff and overall property. Apologies for the lack of a chair in your room. We are not certain which room you were in but all rooms are supposed to have seating with the exception of our handicapped room. We will be checking the rooms to find out if this was simply a temporary oversight or if there are other rooms missing furniture.
Our furniture at the pool is all very new, extremely high quality teak wood, manufactured from 100% sustainable sources supported by the Hotel directly. As we are growing rapidly, we are negotiating to secure more of this responsibly grown wood and when we are able, we will be adding even more of this furniture to our current layout.
We are saddened that you did not enjoy our meal options. Due to a huge number of different cultures who visit La Rosa (last year over 120 different countries) it is very hard for us to offer in a free buffet everything one may be used to in their own country. Our free buffet includes very high quality Doka Coffee, black and herbal teas, juices, milk, water, selection of cereals, bread, real butter, jam, cheese, 3-5 tropical fruits, banana bread, scrambled eggs and gallo pinto which is a local favorite for breakfast. We are considering to offer additional items - both main dishes and sides. These will be provided, at reasonable additional cost for guests who are hoping for something more specific such as waffles, omelettes, huevos rancheros, etc... We also offer specialty coffees such as espressos, lattes, cappuccinos, mochas etc for a nominal cost.
Our evening restaurant was closed for a period of reorganization at the end of February and beginning of March. We have significantly upgraded our offerings, food quality and will be introducing a new menu at the end of April. We regret that you did not enjoy our current restaurant service but we are working continually on service enhancements.
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments, both positive and negative and we take both very seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

This was the second year in a row that we have stayed here (for the first and last nights of our Costa Rica vacation) and we thoroughly enjoyed it once again. The landscaped gardens are beautiful, the pool is clean, cool, and refreshing, the cabins are quaint and comfortable, and the breakfasts and dinners are good. New cabins have been added in the last year and we also noticed that there have been some renovations in some of the older rooms. The dinner menu has expanded since our first stay as well. The staff are very friendly and attentive...they make you feel at home. Gracias. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, April 6, 2015
Thank you for your repeat stay with us! We value your loyalty very much and we are pleased to have met your expectations a second time! In fact, we note that for this year, your review of our hotel actually has improved over last year. We are glad that you have seen and experienced our many service upgrades since 2013.
We hope that you had a great return trip to Costa Rica and that you will return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

For the last 5 years, we have stayed here when we have the need to be overnight near the airport...probably 7 times.
This is a precious boutique hotel near the airport, but far enough away to not have any traffic from the highway or airplane noise. It has comfortable beds, clean rooms, beautiful well-kept gardens all around, a good buffet breakfast (not just continental). The staff, in every department, is friendly and accommodating, and you won't be disappointed for the price. If you're expecting 5 star hotel, go somewhere else. We have traveled the world and have been in extremely expensive to modest hotels and we like this little place because of the beauty of the grounds, the cleanliness, the friendliness, and the great price. We hope you like it too! We've been there alone, on business, with friends and with family.

Room Tip: All rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable, with air conditioning, as far as we've seen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, April 3, 2015
Thank you very much for your loyalty to Hotel La Rosa. We appreciate our repeat guests and we hope that you have seen a steady improvement in our services over the last five years! We are so happy to know that you find our hotel to your liking.
Hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel La Rosa de America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rosa de America

Address: 100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rosa de America 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rosa de America is a friendly and peaceful garden oasis conveniently near the San Jose Costa Rica Airport (SJO). With our emphasis on service, we are the vacation home base of choice for many guests visiting Costa Rica. Our staff have a wealth of information about the country and are happy to share that knowledge! The hotel is located on a gorgeous and carefully maintained property, in the sunniest part of the Central Valley - La Garita. We offer a selection of great accommodation options in rooms located around a large carefully maintained tropical garden and sparkling clean swimming pool. Rooms come in Superior and Standard types with Superior rooms having air conditioning, flat screen TV's, bar fridges and more! La Rosa is is ideally suited to guests arriving from a tiring flight and wanting time to adjust to the country in safe, friendly and beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel La Rosa de America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa De America Hotel
Hotel La Rosa De America Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Rosa de America, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.