We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“keeps getting better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Rosa de America

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Rosa de America to your Saves list
Hotel La Rosa de America
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% High Season Discount!
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“keeps getting better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was the second year in a row that we have stayed here (for the first and last nights of our Costa Rica vacation) and we thoroughly enjoyed it once again. The landscaped gardens are beautiful, the pool is clean, cool, and refreshing, the cabins are quaint and comfortable, and the breakfasts and dinners are good. New cabins have been added in the last year and we also noticed that there have been some renovations in some of the older rooms. The dinner menu has expanded since our first stay as well. The staff are very friendly and attentive...they make you feel at home. Gracias. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    126
    38
    9
    3
See reviews for
129
182
43
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane Valley, Washington, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

For the last 5 years, we have stayed here when we have the need to be overnight near the airport...probably 7 times.
This is a precious boutique hotel near the airport, but far enough away to not have any traffic from the highway or airplane noise. It has comfortable beds, clean rooms, beautiful well-kept gardens all around, a good buffet breakfast (not just continental). The staff, in every department, is friendly and accommodating, and you won't be disappointed for the price. If you're expecting 5 star hotel, go somewhere else. We have traveled the world and have been in extremely expensive to modest hotels and we like this little place because of the beauty of the grounds, the cleanliness, the friendliness, and the great price. We hope you like it too! We've been there alone, on business, with friends and with family.

Room Tip: All rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable, with air conditioning, as far as we've seen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Located in the sprawling city of Alajuela, it is a little garden of Eden. It has very well kept grounds and facilities. As many people have already mentioned, a perfect starting point and/or ending point for your vacation in Costa Rica. It's relative closeness to the airport makes it an ideal place.

Not to be4 overlooked are some of the tours they can ar5range for you. We went on the ox cart tour, and thoroughly enjoyed it. We visited the Doka coffee plantation, where e had a great lunch, then on to an all-steel church, beautiful interior, and then on to see the largest ox cart in the world, and lastly to the artisan and artist shop where it was created. This was the best priced tour you will find anywhere, with a very good guide and driver. The other attraction we had time for was the zoo in Alajuela. Just 2km from La rosa, areal gem of a spot, with all the animals you won't see on other tours. There is also a restaurant adjacent to the zoo, Dave's, where we had a very good lunch.

The staff at La rosa was superb, and we enjoyed the restaurant there for 2 meals. It is not a large menu, but very well prepared and presented. Not all dishes were available daily. The included breakfast was very good.

The pool was let's say "refreshing", and the pool area could use a few more "comfortable" lounge chairs.

Walking in the area was not an easy thing to do, as there were little or no sidewalks. There were 2 small restaurants, a convenience store, and a bank within a 3-minute walk.

The rooms at La rosa were small, but neat and clean, basically a motel-style set-up.

If you are flying into or out of San Jose, this is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very good basic accommodation. Extremely convenient for the airport. Helpful reception staff. Early morning calls and take away breakfasts. Good food but struggled with service due to understaffing on the night we ate there.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for a full day and night between arriving in San Jose and flying out to Drake Bay. It's very convenient ($15) from the airport and it's safe and peaceful with a pool and well kept gardens. Don't waste a day in San Jose! Stay here instead! A side note is that their restaurant is currently closed, but there are several within a 5 minute walk.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My friend and I stayed 3 nights.
The owners were there, we praised what they offered for the money. Everything was wonderfull , and pleasant, as was the service.
If you want to feel appreciated, safe, and cared for, look no more!
I will stay there again, they made me feel as though we became friends, no said.
Greg M
New Jersey

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
It was a pleasure to talk with you during your stay with us. Best of luck in your current endeavors! We hope that you had a great overall trip to Costa Rica and that you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we stayed at this hotel last year and were happy to return again in February for a couple of days at the start of our trip. The breakfast area has been extended to provide an outdoor dining area which is very nice, and a few additional rooms have also been added since last year. The pool area is lovely, very well kept gardens add to the relaxed feel and the early morning coffee supplied by the pool is most welcome. We would not stay anywhere else in this area. Very convenient for the airport as well (about 20 mins in a taxi) but no noise from it. We will be back again!

Room Tip: Superior rooms are really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your repeat stay with us! We are always proud to have return and repeat guests. Every year we are making significant improvements to the hotel. We are happy that you noticed! We look forward to your return next year where we hope everything will be as good for you as it has been!
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Rosa de America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rosa de America

Address: 100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rosa de America 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rosa de America is a friendly and peaceful garden oasis conveniently near the San Jose Costa Rica Airport (SJO). With our emphasis on service, we are the vacation home base of choice for many guests visiting Costa Rica. Our staff have a wealth of information about the country and are happy to share that knowledge! The hotel is located on a gorgeous and carefully maintained property, in the sunniest part of the Central Valley - La Garita. We offer a selection of great accommodation options in rooms located around a large carefully maintained tropical garden and sparkling clean swimming pool. Rooms come in Superior and Standard types with Superior rooms having air conditioning, flat screen TV's, bar fridges and more! La Rosa is is ideally suited to guests arriving from a tiring flight and wanting time to adjust to the country in safe, friendly and beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Rosa de America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa De America Hotel
Hotel La Rosa De America Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Rosa de America, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.