We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Rosa de America

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Rosa de America to your Saves list
Hotel La Rosa de America
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% High Season Discount!
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gabriola Island, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommend this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed here after an overnight flight to San Jose. They arranged a taxi to pick us up at the airport and take us directly to the hotel. The taxi driver - Tony Jimenez (thru Easy Transfer) is one of the best drivers you could ever have in Costa Rica. He drove us to Poas Volcano for a tour, to and from Jaco - totally safe and conscientious driver. The hotel's staff were beyond helpful, friendly and gracious. The rooms were clean, well-pointed, spacious. Great breakfasts each morning and a very good restaurant. Everything you need has been thought of. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 3 days ago
It was a pleasure to talk with you during your stay with us. We actually have friends on Gabriola Island! Small world. Thank you for sending such a positive review of our hotel. We hope that your entire trip was as enjoyable as your time with us. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    124
    36
    9
    3
See reviews for
127
178
43
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here on my last night in CR. The hotel is about 15 minutes taxi ride (about $15) from the airport.

The rooms are generous and very clean, the layout extremely well thought out - with plenty of places to hang/store things and really make yourself at home. The rooms are ground level, about 10 seconds walk from the pool and the room/garden area feels very secluded.

The pool is small but big enough to swim lengths and set in beautiful landscaping.

Breakfast is eggs and pinto gallo with a selection of fruit and the lushest banana bread. They could probably have squeezed in an extra table outside - I was conscious not everyone got to sit outside.

One of the reasons i booked was to save myself the hassle of going outside the hotel to look for places to eat in the evening ... by the time my connections got me to the hotel - about 9 - the restaurant was closing up. The staff in the reception area did try to fix me up with a takeaway but that was closed too.

I'd have no hesitation in booking here again - this is the perfect place if you want somewhere tranquil, with greenery, clean and with good facilities

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Repeat guests and guests who recommend our hotel to others without reservation are very important to us! Thank you for your comments. We do apologize for not being able to serve you supper upon your arrival. Many establishments in Costa Rica close at around 9 pm due to the local bus schedules. All our restaurant staff rely on the bus transit system to get to and from home and in most cases the last bus departs shortly after 9 pm in our area.
If you get the chance to return, we would love to host you in our restaurant as well! Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

In short- great value. We stayed here in Feb 15, arriving after a late night flight into San Jose. The hotel sent a cab to meet us at the airport, ($20 plus tip) which is likely a good idea since they are a bit of a hike from the airport. You would definitely not want to try to find this place yourself after dark. We rang a buzzer at the gate and someone came down the lane to meet us shortly thereafter. The property is very attractive and well maintained, and the rooms are well appointed and in good condition. We had requested a room with air conditioning but didn't use it, preferring instead to leave the window open. The breakfast which is included was excellent- eggs, gallo pinto, lots of fruit, cereal, toast, juice, coffee. This would also be a good place for a single traveller.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Great value is one of our most important indicators of success for us. Thank you for letting us know that we are providing this to our guests! It was our pleasure to assist with the transfer from the airport. Everywhere in Costa Rica can be a challenge to find as the streets are not named here. We do supply detailed instructions on our official website however for those without GPS or similar.
Breakfast is very important to us. We are constantly making improvements to this - including the new location on our garden patio! We are happy that you enjoyed it.
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We picked this hotel for our last night in Costa Rica because it's very close to the airport. It was the perfect choice, staff very kind, especially Edwin waiter, and Abner, concierge/guard. The rooms were roomy and beds very comfortable. Our only mistake was not taking bus into town as we learned later there is much to see, many local artists and shops. But again, this hotel is so cute, the grounds beautiful many many flowers trees. Very safe. I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for letting us know about your positive experience with our waiter and night concierge. We will pass on your kind words to them as they will take significant pride in the recognition!
Next time you return, please ask us what things you can do around the hotel! We are most happy to offer suggestions and to provide assistance!
We appreciate your review - thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at La Rosa for 2 nights at the start and finish of our tour of Costa Rica, so on hindsight can say that the rooms are some of the cleanest, comfiest and best furnished of many we stayed in. The rooms are light and airy and when you are living out of a suitcase for weeks, you appreciate the little things, like somewhere to hang or spread out your 'stuff'.
The cabins are set in the most beautiful gardens, and the pool is clean and fresh. The staff is great - very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is typical, rice and beans, scrambled egg etc, but the banana bread is exceptional!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We are so glad you were able to spread out in comfort in our rooms and that you enjoyed our gardens so much. We have put a lot of effort in improving the interiors of all our cabins and part of that improvement was the design and creation of new space enhancing furniture.
Hopefully you had a wonderful trip throughout Costa Rica! We hope to see you again soon in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cybertown
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel has beautiful landscaping. (Picture say more than words.) I was welcomed with the offer of a complementary drink. All of the staff were fantastic and very customer oriented. The room was clean and quite. They have 24-hour Concierge/Guard services.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are off-set which adds to ascetic as well as quickness of the room. All of the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for noticing some of the design details of the hotel. We try to hide many of the details so that guests feel the difference but don't know exactly why! There are virtually no straight lines in La Rosa, with paths, buildings flowerbeds etc all staggered or curved for character! We feel this makes the property more natural feeling and friendly!
We are glad that you so enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

This place is nice for a one night stay as you come into costa rica/ leave.
The grounds are pretty, and the breakfast is ok. We also had dinner at the on-site restaurant and it was pretty tasty.
The pool seemed nice, though we didn't have time to go in.
The owner was friendly and took a lot of time to point us out on our route when we moved on.

My only problem with the place is that the rooms are small. Travelling with two kids (one of htem in a PakNPlay) and the luggage that they com with - our standard room was very tight.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. Our standard rooms are definitely smaller than our equivalent superior rooms. Unfortunately we are not able to alter this situation except in providing two levels of pricing for our guests. We would be very happy to host you again - this time in one of our larger and much newer Superior rooms!
We are glad that you enjoyed our gardens and supper at Restaurante La Rosa. We hope you had a great trip to Costa Rica overall! It was my pleasure to draw you the map from La Rosa to your destination! Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Rosa de America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rosa de America

Address: 100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#8 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rosa de America 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rosa de America is a friendly and peaceful garden oasis conveniently near the San Jose Costa Rica Airport (SJO). With our emphasis on service, we are the vacation home base of choice for many guests visiting Costa Rica. Our staff have a wealth of information about the country and are happy to share that knowledge! The hotel is located on a gorgeous and carefully maintained property, in the sunniest part of the Central Valley - La Garita. We offer a selection of great accommodation options in rooms located around a large carefully maintained tropical garden and sparkling clean swimming pool. Rooms come in Superior and Standard types with Superior rooms having air conditioning, flat screen TV's, bar fridges and more! La Rosa is is ideally suited to guests arriving from a tiring flight and wanting time to adjust to the country in safe, friendly and beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Rosa de America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa De America Hotel
Hotel La Rosa De America Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Rosa de America, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.