We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to start off, no frills” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Rosa de America

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Rosa de America to your Saves list
Hotel La Rosa de America
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Sunnyvale, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice place to start off, no frills”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is nice for a one night stay as you come into costa rica/ leave.
The grounds are pretty, and the breakfast is ok. We also had dinner at the on-site restaurant and it was pretty tasty.
The pool seemed nice, though we didn't have time to go in.
The owner was friendly and took a lot of time to point us out on our route when we moved on.

My only problem with the place is that the rooms are small. Travelling with two kids (one of htem in a PakNPlay) and the luggage that they com with - our standard room was very tight.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    119
    36
    8
    2
See reviews for
126
170
41
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basking Ridge
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped here after landing on the first day of our trip. Rooms are very nice and the restaurant was excellent. We lost our luggage and the staff was very helpful in finding out where it was. The grounds and pool are beautiful and meticulously maintained. A bit tricky to find but worth it once you get there. Well worth checking out.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The perfect place to start or end your CR journey if flying into/out of SJO. The owners and staff are excellent at handling correspondence and accommodating requests. We were a family of 7 and our entire family stayed here both at the beginning and end of our journey. On Dec 19, 2014 we had room 8 which was ideal for 2 adults in a queen bed and 2 kids in the bunk beds. My parents had neighbouring room 9, with 2 beds where our third daughter slept. Both rooms were very clean and decorated with a wall mural and traditional wood furniture, perfect tropical rooms. The pool was perfect for the kids to swim after a long plane ride and the restaurant was very convenient with nice food and friendly staff. As the other reviews state, the gardens are really gorgeous and create a perfect, relaxing setting that really welcomes you. My parents stayed again on Jan 7, 2015 and enjoyed another great stay. Today, Jan 8, 2015 our travel plans suddenly changed so I called Robert who remembered me and was able to offer us the last room available then provided perfect driving directions. A huge thank you Robert and staff for moving some furniture around to accommodate the 5 of us in one room as we know this was an inconvenience and not normal practice. This is much appreciated, and now we can all enjoy a quiet, comfortable sleep on our last night in CR. This time we have room 15 which is brand new with a modern bathroom and a flat screen TV. The neighbouring area is on a busy main road but is good for walking to the nearby restaurants, bank and shops. Overall, the hotel arranged 4 airport transfers which were all executed perfectly and reasonably priced. We highly recommend this gem of a hotel to anyone travelling to CR and we will stay again on future trips.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
I note that you are actually from the same city as me! Small world! No problem with the bed moving assistance. We have a number of extra high quality beds for that purpose and most of our cabins can, in a pinch take one extra person.
I am glad that you enjoyed all our services so much and that we could meet your expectations in all your travel needs! We hope to see you again soon at the hotel! Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The sparkling clean pool, meticulously maintained grounds, and excellent complimentary breakfast make this hotel worth a visit. Its close proximity to the airport will give you a soft place to land, either before or after touring Costa Rica. We spoke with several European visitors who were staying a few days just to pleasantly recover from jetlag. The shuttle is not free, but it is reasonably priced. Our room itself was unremarkable -- shabby towels, awkward layout, and a temperamental shower -- but we didn't mind because the hotel landscaping more than made up for what our room was missing. Each and every staff member we encountered was pleasant and helpful. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We thank you for your review. We note that you indicate that your room had poor quality towels and that you had difficulty with the shower. We are tracking this down with our cleaning staff as we have replaced virtually all our towels and bedding at the hotel in the past two months. So if you received an older set, then we want to ensure it does not happen again.
We are glad that you so enjoyed our gardens and breakfast and are happy that you wish to return to us! May we recommend trying one of our brand new superior rooms for your next visit? They are just slightly more expensive but are larger, new and with completely modern furnishings.
Again thank you for your stay. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dryden, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a charming small hotel about a 20 minute cab ride from the airport. The grounds and pool are lovely, and the rooms are small but nicely appointed. Terrific shower! The dinner menu was quite appealing, and we both enjoyed our choices, along with a nice bottle of wine. The complimentary breakfast included some wonderful banana bread, as well as fresh fruit, eggs, and rice & beans. The staff is friendly and helpful. The only drawback is that there is no free shuttle to the airport. I had found this listed when I was searching for airport hotels, and this is the only one that I know of that does not include a free ride. I chose it anyway because the grounds looked so inviting, and in that respect the hotel did not disappoint.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for the very positive review! We are glad that you found your experience so satisfying and that everything was found as advertized.
Though we do offer a partially subsidized private transfer service which is cheaper than local taxis, we do not provide a free shuttle as we wish to keep our room rates as low as possible and many guests do not require the service on all days of their stay at the hotel. We hope this was not a significant inconvenience for you.
We are very proud of the hotel gardens and we are happy that you enjoyed them. We do hope to see you again at the hotel soon! Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Edwin & Damian were excellent hosts and made us feel welcome, comfortable, and safe. We enjoyed hearing Damian's stories of life in Costa Rica. The cook was ill our one night here, but fortunately, there is a restaurant within walking distance (or they will deliver). There is also a nearby convenience store. The rooms are quaint, and breakfast was good. Excellent banana bread/cake! Crockpot eggs, fruits, juices, cereal, and coffee were also available. Nice little gifts for purchase in the lobby.

Room Tip: Pack earplugs :) San Jose beat Heredia in a soccer final, so we are hoping those were fireworks goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hello! We will notify the staff indicated about your kind comments! We regret not having the Restaurant open on the night you were here.... only one day closed in all of December but you had the unfortunate luck to be here on that day. If you return to Costa Rica we would very much like to have the chance to serve you in the Restaurant!
Excessive noise is not common in this part of the country but both Christmas time and any football games turn all Costa Rica into fiesta time... and because of the warm climate, that means outdoors. We regret any problems this might have had on your sleep. We try our absolute best to ensure the neighbours are as quiet as is polite for us to ask. Locations closer to the city are much, much nosier on average due to the much higher density of traffic, and people and animals. If noise is a very large issue for your sleep, if you return, we recommend taking a superior room with air conditioning. That way the windows can be closed and the a/c can take care of the rest! Fortunately we rarely get any significant road noise throughout the night.
Thank you again for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and took the time to write the review to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

Our family took our first trip to Costa Rica this November (2014). There were nine of us, and we used the 2 family suites and a triple room. All the rooms were clean and neat; the family suites are spacious. My 79 and 81 year old parents had no difficulty navigating the hotel grounds. The owners were helpful before we arrived with room selection and tour selection. Staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The grounds are beautiful and well cared for. Breakfast was very nice; we ate dinner at the hotel (good food) and at several nearby restaurants during our stay. We had an early tour one morning and the staff arranged a "to go" breakfast for us. They also arranged transportation to and from the airport.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
It was a pleasure to host your extended family! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to help with your tours etc.
Thank you for letting us know about your satisfaction with our Restaurante La Rosa fare. We have recently reorganized the Restaurant and customer input is a valued part of the confirmation process!
We hope you enjoyed your first trip to Costa Rica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Rosa de America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rosa de America

Address: 100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rosa de America 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rosa de America is a friendly and peaceful garden oasis conveniently near the San Jose Costa Rica Airport (SJO). With our emphasis on service, we are the vacation home base of choice for many guests visiting Costa Rica. Our staff have a wealth of information about the country and are happy to share that knowledge! The hotel is located on a gorgeous and carefully maintained property, in the sunniest part of the Central Valley - La Garita. We offer a selection of great accommodation options in rooms located around a large carefully maintained tropical garden and sparkling clean swimming pool. Rooms come in Superior and Standard types with Superior rooms having air conditioning, flat screen TV's, bar fridges and more! La Rosa is is ideally suited to guests arriving from a tiring flight and wanting time to adjust to the country in safe, friendly and beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Rosa de America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa De America Hotel
Hotel La Rosa De America Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Rosa de America, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.