We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Welcome Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Rosa de America

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Rosa de America to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Rosa de America
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Alajuela
Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Welcome Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a beautifully landscaped and nice, clean hotel close to the airport in San Jose. I believe the cab ride was $15. They have a nice pool and a restaurant serving breakfast which is included and dinner if you desire. The beds were very comfortable and the water was hot. We enjoyed spending 2 nights here even though we were not planning to stay in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    112
    33
    8
    2
See reviews for
118
161
41
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dominical, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is a wonderful place to start and end a vacation in Costa Rica. The staff is very knowledgeable to CR info, friendly and accommodating. The grounds are impeccably kept and the pool is perfect. The onsite restaurant serves a good dinner for a fair price and the "included" breakfast is hearty. The only complaint I could come up with is the coffee was a bit weak... especially the early morning coffee at the rancho before breakfast.... may have just been that days coffee.

Room Tip: Rooms 14 & 15 are the best rooms at the hotel, away from the pool, large and comfortable and at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent all-around, staff communicates very well, local food within walking distance (not to mention the food on site is excellent as well), prices reasonable, and within 15 minutes of the airport. When traveling next time, I will try to spend at least 2 nights here as the pool is relaxing, the grounds very pretty and a relaxing beginning/end to adventure in CR.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you VacayGolfer for your very positive review of La Rosa. Repeat guests are very important to us as, in our opinion customer loyalty must be earned through the staple values of honesty and hard work. We look forward to your return and our opportunity to host you again at the hotel! Many thanks for taking the time to write your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I traveled to Hotel La Rosa de America in July and had an absolutely wonderful stay. The hotel management and staff are attentive and incredibly helpful. The gardens are beautiful and allow you escape the hustle and bustle outside of the grounds, and the coffee that is provided poolside starting at 6 am is great for getting your day started peacefully. Rooms 13 and 14 are brand new and have the most up-to-date fixtures etc. All of the rooms are unique (I was traveling with a group who was staying at the property and was able to view most) and feel comfortable and like home.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel Anna Z! We appreciate the feedback.
We feel that all of La Rosa is unique, not just our rooms!! Some days, we seem to be more unique than others!!! Regardless, we are very driven to ensure that all guests receive more than expected for an airport type hotel and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay so much.
You are correct that rooms 14 and 15 (actually - room 13 somehow is missing..!) are our newest rooms. They were just completed. We will be building three more very similar to these rooms so to allow for guests who want to pay a little more, to have a little more comfort in the rooms.
It is significant for us that we were able to make you feel like you were at home. Thank you for letting us know your experiences!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niantic, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed eight days at the LaRosa, using it as our travel base. We have traveled and stayed at many places, but this was, without hesitation, the most pleasurable. From the wonderfully helpful staff, to the beautifully quiet surroundings, our room was the Superior with AC and was comfortable, roomy, and cared for each day. We ate every night in the La Rosa restaurant, and enjoyed a broad selection of offerings, both tipico and familiar. Each meal was excellent and priced fairly. Waiter and kitchen staff were always available, providing a friendly and informative atmosphere. Office staff suggested and developed tours for us quickly and efficiently. We were very, very pleased with every aspect of the LaRosa, and intend to return there again on our next trip to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: The Superior room with AC was a good bet, although, with such cool nights, the AC wasn't needed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Apologies for taking longer than normal to respond to your kind review of our hotel! It was a pleasure for me personally to get to know you during your stay with us. We very much enjoy hosting our longer term guests who use La Rosa as a travelling base to conduct their holiday from.
Your feedback on our restaurant services is also appreciated. We have worked very hard to ensure fair pricing and quality meals for all of the over one hundred different cultures whom we host yearly! We are glad you enjoyed everything!
We definitely hope to see you back next year! Costa Rica has a lot to see and we can certainly give you more ideas to enjoy!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

During my first trip to Costa Rica, July 2014, I had the opportunity to stay at Hotel La Rosa de America. I received excellent costumer service from all the staff. Specially, from Liliana and Ruben who made me feel home. They were friendly and willing to answer all my question about the hotel and their culture. I enjoy all the amenities of the hotel and the excellent customer service. It was remarkable to see the great team work the employees had.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello Anais E and thank you for your exceptional review of La Rosa! One of our strongest assets is our team of staff and central to our core beliefs is encouraging mutually beneficial teamwork leading to a common goal. We are very appreciative of you recognition of this effort and the team takes great pride in knowing that their work helped you enjoy your stay so much!
Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Pros: perhaps the best garden I've ever seen, nice pool, very clean rooms, updated bathrooms, bar and restaurant onsite for pool-side drinks, convenient to airport, comfy beds, small detached one level cottage rooms, Superior rooms have AC - though you don't really need it.

Cons: restaurant food is just ok, wish there was coffee in the room, breakfast starting at 7am is a little later than other places, next door to a working farm so roosters can be a problem if there are light sleepers in the group.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hick, Owner at Hotel La Rosa de America, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you for your very clear review of our services! We are especially grateful for your comments about our gardens. We work very hard to blend nature and beauty with a simple night's stay near the airport for the majority of our guests.
We are not including coffee in the rooms in part due to the garden hotel aspect of the premises. We very strictly control the ants and other uninvited guests at La Rosa and unfortunately, the addition of creamers and sugar to the rooms are an open invitation for these pests - especially ants to invade. However, we do ensure that fresh coffee is readily available at the pool area starting at about 6:15 in the morning. We also have recently upgraded our coffee service to include for purchase, espressos, lattes, mochas etc in recognition of guest desires to enjoy our excellent Costa Rican coffees!
The property next to us is actually a simple vacant urban lot. Temporarily, it seems to be hosting some local chickens, but we are working with the community to have these removed as soon as we can.
Thank you again for your review and your kind comments about our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Rosa de America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rosa de America

Address: 100 mts Sur y 75 mts Este de La Mandarina | La Garita, Alajuela none, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Alajuela
#3 Business Hotel in Alajuela
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Family Hotel in Alajuela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rosa de America 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rosa de America is a friendly and peaceful garden oasis conveniently near the San Jose Costa Rica Airport (SJO). With our emphasis on service, we are the vacation home base of choice for many guests visiting Costa Rica. Our staff have a wealth of information about the country and are happy to share that knowledge! The hotel is located on a gorgeous and carefully maintained property, in the sunniest part of the Central Valley - La Garita. We offer a selection of great accommodation options in rooms located around a large carefully maintained tropical garden and sparkling clean swimming pool. Rooms come in Superior and Standard types with Superior rooms having air conditioning, flat screen TV's, bar fridges and more! La Rosa is is ideally suited to guests arriving from a tiring flight and wanting time to adjust to the country in safe, friendly and beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel La Rosa de America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa De America Hotel
Hotel La Rosa De America Costa Rica/Alajuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Rosa de America, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.